Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. 70
    The sound is now clearer than on either predecessor; the rapping likewise. And here come Jane's Addiction and the Smashing Pumpkins--this is a slicker, grander record than Significant Other. [Jan 2001, p.112]
  2. It was only natural to suspect that Limp Bizkit would fall on their faces this time by getting serious. But Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water is looser and livelier and just plain better than anything they've ever tried before.
  3. Fred Durst may grab the headlines, but Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water really shows that all the power Limp Bizkit are known for comes from their bandmembers who, you know, actually play instruments. Durst's lyrics are wack when he raps and bad high school poetry when he sings.... Of course, there aren't many people looking for deep thoughts from Durst and Co. -- just lots of big, dumb, angry fun. And on that count, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water delivers.
  4. Durst offers his piggish take-it-or-leave-it stance on relationships ("It's my way or the highway," he gleefully whines on "My Way"), his fantasies of the hip-hop high life ("Livin' It Up"), and his delight with obscenity ("If I say fuck two more times that's 46 fucks in this fucked-up rhyme"). Limp Bizkit's music is just as predictable, complete with scratches, guitar squalls, and mosh-pit crescendos.
  5. If the band supported his sheets of noise, terrifying guitars, monstrous rhythms, or even a hook every now and then, Durst's narcissism may have been palatable, but the group pretty much churns out the same colorless heavy plod for each song.
  6. 30
    There's little in the way of cohesion or artistic forethought here, and some of the tracks are just bad, though nothing is as surpassingly awful as lead single "Rollin'," its shout-outs overly reminiscent of "Bawitdaba."
  7. On the whole, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water feels like an interminable groan, a harried hustle toward obsolescence. Rather than creating a cathartic requiem for, say, the impending dotcom depression, this turgid non-effort doesn't even live up to the mookish reputation refuted with such salacious fervor on "Take a Look Around."

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 58
  2. Negative: 21 out of 58
  1. KimberlyF.
    Aug 15, 2001
    10
    This CD is the best. The critics are so wrong. They just dont have any appreciation for this music. I listen to this CD a lot and I love it
  2. JackP
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    It's really sad that the reviews do not focus on the quality of the music, but other issues. Frankly this is one of the best if not the It's really sad that the reviews do not focus on the quality of the music, but other issues. Frankly this is one of the best if not the best nu metal album I have ever heard. It's hard to describe, but I think it's a very refreshing and dynamic record which does not lack innovation. Simply the best from Limp Bizkit. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Amazing sound, limp bizkits best album. Why the critics dont like it is a total mystery. ive come to the conclusion they're either jealous or deaf.
  4. Apr 28, 2015
    7
    If you bought the album for some poetic rhymes and well-crafted subtle music, of course you'll be disappointed. But if you bought it for LimpIf you bought the album for some poetic rhymes and well-crafted subtle music, of course you'll be disappointed. But if you bought it for Limp Bizkit's signature angry sound, a shi*load of fun and heavy metal guitar riffs, you'll be more than satisfied. Expand
  5. SimonB
    May 14, 2008
    6
    Frankly... It's alright. The album was much like a desperation cry from Limp Bizkit. It worked, if I recall correctly. L B got some Frankly... It's alright. The album was much like a desperation cry from Limp Bizkit. It worked, if I recall correctly. L B got some appreciation back with this one, while losing some fanbase. Taking a turn toward pop while maintaining their rapcore edge, they dabbed into Nu Metal. Teenage angst imaged here a few times, along with the loss of a girlfriend. Some of the songs were very well played out. I like the drummer's groove, but Fred Durst's voice often becomes annoying in all its squealing mannerisms. It's not as bad as people tell you, believe me. I'm often hard on music but Limp Bizkit made something decent here. Some songs are definitely forgettable, the others are worth listens. You'll still wanna avoid letting people know you have this album. Expand
  6. Joe
    Aug 1, 2006
    2
    I can't believe I liked this band when I was in middle school. Okay, musically I suppose they're tolerable, and the guest I can't believe I liked this band when I was in middle school. Okay, musically I suppose they're tolerable, and the guest appearances from the likes of Xzibit, Method Man, DMX, Redman, STP's Scott Weiland, and even Ben Stiller provide bright spots. The cameos save this album from the dreaded goose egg, which is VERY bad news for the band. Especially Fred Durst, whose lyrics reach an all-time low here (and they were never that good to begin with). He doesn't like when people talk shit about him (several songs are centered around this concept), he really wants to live the rock-star lifestyle ("Livin' It Up"), women just don't seem to understand him ("It'll Be OK," "Boiler," possibly "The One"), and then there are some songs that don't seem to be about anything at all (both versions of "Rollin'," "My Generation"). I have this feeling that if Fred Durst were kicked out of the band and they just did a Santana-esque album of collaborations with actual competent MCs, they'd be much better. I'm so glad my copy of this record is a burned CD. Expand
  7. JeremyA.
    Dec 10, 2001
    0
    One of the worst albums I have EVER heard. If I could give it a negative rating, I would.

See all 58 User Reviews