Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water Image
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Top Track

Rollin'
Alright partner Keep on rollin' baby You know what time it is Throw your hands up Ladies and gentlement Chocolate Starfish Keep on rolling... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Spin
    70
    The sound is now clearer than on either predecessor; the rapping likewise. And here come Jane's Addiction and the Smashing Pumpkins--this is a slicker, grander record than Significant Other. [Jan 2001, p.112]
  2. It was only natural to suspect that Limp Bizkit would fall on their faces this time by getting serious. But Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water is looser and livelier and just plain better than anything they've ever tried before.
  3. Fred Durst may grab the headlines, but Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water really shows that all the power Limp Bizkit are known for comes from their bandmembers who, you know, actually play instruments. Durst's lyrics are wack when he raps and bad high school poetry when he sings.... Of course, there aren't many people looking for deep thoughts from Durst and Co. -- just lots of big, dumb, angry fun. And on that count, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water delivers.
  4. Durst offers his piggish take-it-or-leave-it stance on relationships ("It's my way or the highway," he gleefully whines on "My Way"), his fantasies of the hip-hop high life ("Livin' It Up"), and his delight with obscenity ("If I say fuck two more times that's 46 fucks in this fucked-up rhyme"). Limp Bizkit's music is just as predictable, complete with scratches, guitar squalls, and mosh-pit crescendos.
  5. If the band supported his sheets of noise, terrifying guitars, monstrous rhythms, or even a hook every now and then, Durst's narcissism may have been palatable, but the group pretty much churns out the same colorless heavy plod for each song.
  6. 30
    There's little in the way of cohesion or artistic forethought here, and some of the tracks are just bad, though nothing is as surpassingly awful as lead single "Rollin'," its shout-outs overly reminiscent of "Bawitdaba."
  7. On the whole, Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavored Water feels like an interminable groan, a harried hustle toward obsolescence. Rather than creating a cathartic requiem for, say, the impending dotcom depression, this turgid non-effort doesn't even live up to the mookish reputation refuted with such salacious fervor on "Take a Look Around."

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 61
  2. Negative: 21 out of 61
  1. JoshB.
    Aug 22, 2001
    10
    This album is of the hook. Don't listen to any critics Limps #1!!!
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This album is my childhood!! One of the best albums ive ever heard. Doesnt deserve any negative reviews. Itll be okay, the one, my generation,This album is my childhood!! One of the best albums ive ever heard. Doesnt deserve any negative reviews. Itll be okay, the one, my generation, full nelson, my way, boiler, and take a look around are my favorite songs on the album!!! Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Amazing sound, limp bizkits best album. Why the critics dont like it is a total mystery. ive come to the conclusion they're either jealous or deaf.
  4. Dec 2, 2016
    7
    This album is by far one of the most over rated albums by one of the most underrated bands. songs like My Way, Take a Look Around and Roll'inThis album is by far one of the most over rated albums by one of the most underrated bands. songs like My Way, Take a Look Around and Roll'in (Air Raid Vehicle) are good. but some of the other songs like Full Nelson and Hot Dog are repetitive and boring. When Wes Borland is playing guitar it seems like he was born to play guitar. John Otto is one my favorite nu-metal drummers of all time. his ability to keep up with anything Wes throws at him. And his amazing use of symbols on this album show that he could play forever. Sam Rivers is an awesome bassist and can accompany Wes's riffs with an amazing bass line. but here is where it gets ugly. Fred Durst on this album is terrible. It is obvious that this album is trying to poke fun at emo music and Nine Inch Nails, but Fred cant pull that off. Songs with good vocals are in a small handful on this 15 track album. Songs like The One, It'll Be Okay, Boiler and My Way. Though this album is not bad it is not their best album. Expand
  5. StevenR.
    Jan 19, 2009
    6
    Yes, its stupid rock. Yes, it is not a masterpiece. Yes, if we want to be truly critical, a 6/10 is too much. But for all its worth, this is Yes, its stupid rock. Yes, it is not a masterpiece. Yes, if we want to be truly critical, a 6/10 is too much. But for all its worth, this is just plainly the soundtrack to a frat party. The lyrics revolve mostly around typical "Nobody gets me, I dont like when you talk crap about me" (its Durst, what d'you expect?). Its narcissist, and VERY annoying. Still, if you can get past that, it can be pretty fun- At times. See, most songs work, but others are just plain annoying (thanks again to Durst's terrible lyrics). And the album cusses too much. Regularly that would not be a problem, but seriously, the opening track says the "f-word" 46 times! At the end, the cuss words sound not like the words of an angry young man, but just like another "the" in a sentence. At times, it feels just like a way for Durst to vent out all his anger...unfortunately...that is not very fun. What does work especially well is "My Generation" which turns the table, and Durst acknowledges his rowdy fans. If it were like this, this would be the Soundtrack of a rebellious generation. But Durst has 0 lyrical focus. All in all, the band (excepting Durst) is competent, if not revolutionary [Wes Bourland is very good]. But Durst just hinders them. If only the guy would stop whining, this could have been a better (much better) album. Oh, and Durst sounds squeeky when he sings and idiotic when he raps, so its a lose-lose scenario. From all this, you probably gather that this albums sucks thanks to Durst, so why the 6/10? The reason is that they AT LEAST try to expand their sonic pallet, and even if they do fail, they at least try. They are trying to progress and add flourishes to their sound. So that is always worth an extra point or two. Truly critical score: 4/10 Expand
  6. ChrisH
    Jan 12, 2007
    2
    I was actually wrote a music column at a paper when this record came out. I can't remember what I wrote then, but I'm sure it was I was actually wrote a music column at a paper when this record came out. I can't remember what I wrote then, but I'm sure it was something along the lines of "mindless" and "juvenile." I still have this album somehere; it may be the worst album I own. Expand
  7. JeremyA.
    Dec 10, 2001
    0
    One of the worst albums I have EVER heard. If I could give it a negative rating, I would.

See all 61 User Reviews