Christ Illusion Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the first studio output for the original lineup of the metal band since 1990's Seasons In The Abyss.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Not since the maniac thrash of 1986's genre-eclipsing Reign in Blood have these SoCal wastrels managed music that sounds so frighteningly out of control and yet wholly, idealistically pure of intent.
  2. 80
    Guitarist Kerry King physicalizes Araya’s emotional investment; his mad, crunched-up playing is anxiety rendered in sound.
  3. This is the most brutal metal record to see a release in 2006.
  4. The question with Christ Illusion, as with any post-Seasons album, is simple: could these songs make it into Slayer's live set? The answer is yes, and more than the usual one or two.
  5. 70
    Innovative it's not. [Oct 2006, p.112]
  6. Their most rigorously conceived and focused [album] for years.
  7. "Christ Illusion" for the most part consists of leaden, grinding sludge devoid of any urgency or malevolence.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Feb 8, 2014
    This marvelous album is the biggest comeback after World Painted Blood. It gave the signals of World Painted Blood. Christ Illusion includes amazing songs such as Flesh Storm, Cult, Supremist and Catalyst. 9 out of 10 for this comeback. Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    Although this album may seem to be unfocused rage at first, you will find that "Christ Illusion" is an insightful look into such subjects, such as the 9/11 crisis and religious excuses for violence and destruction. From the start of "Flesh Storm", to the others such as "Eyes of the Insane", and "Jihad", the album is like making a shake in the blender with monster, red bull, and coffee all mixed together. That is the overall feel of the album, until we get to the songs "Consfearacy", "Catatonic", and "Black Serenade". But "Cult' brings the album back into its blender feel again. Overall, this is a good album by itself, but it doesn't achieve everything that a Slayer album should be able to achieve, with its lack of guitar solos. However, Araya's vocals are excellent in this album. Give "Christ Illusion a good listen, you will be satisfied well enough. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews