• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2004
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. But whether they're being snotty or serious, there is a constant thread at work: those catchy melodies.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    It may sound heinous on paper, but trust us, the first single, "We're All To Blame," is far better than it has a right to be. [8 Oct 2004, p.112]
  3. From its aggressive metal and hardcore overtones to lyrics that rail against societal ignorance and a world gone wrong, Chuck is a few steps ahead of the smirking, jocular anthems that populated Sum 41's previous output.
  4. Rolling Stone
    70
    Chuck's heavy melodies find a balance between ADD guitar wank and next year's prom-night hit. [28 Oct 2004, p.102]
  5. Sum 41's most mature album to date.
  6. Blender
    60
    The ceaselessly blistering tone does get overbearing. [Nov 2004, p.145]
  7. Alternative Press
    60
    Unfortunately, the band overcompensate for all the testosterone with modern-rock romps like "Some Say" and with bland ballads like "Slipping Away." [Dec 2004, p.142]
  8. Crucially, if you stick with a formula, the least you can do is improve it. Unfortunately "Chuck" doesn’t and there’s nothing that’s even remotely equal to "Fat Lip" or "All Messed Up".
  9. New Musical Express (NME)
    50
    [Their] penchant for pastiche has evolved... into full-blown plagiarism. [9 Oct 2004, p.57]
  10. The spiky quartet furnish their usual shouty vocals with grinding riffola and twiddly guitar solos, just as the rest of the post-Linkin Park world are realising nu metal wasn't such a good idea.
  11. Q Magazine
    40
    Too melodic for metal fans and too heavy for the pop-punk kids who made them famous. [Nov 2004, p.127]
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 92
  2. Negative: 2 out of 92
  1. RossS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    All sum 41 music is awesome!!!
  2. May 25, 2017
    9
    This is Sum 41's masterpiece, it's a sort of "mix" between "Does this look infected?" and Alternative Metal's style, it's really interesting,This is Sum 41's masterpiece, it's a sort of "mix" between "Does this look infected?" and Alternative Metal's style, it's really interesting, there are some songs who are very catchy such as Some Say and Pieces and others who are more aggressive (The Bitter End and Welcome To Hell), while songs like We're All To Blame and 88 prove that this band is mature and I'm Not The One and There's No Solution have clear references to Linkin Park and I appreciate it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2016
    10
    In my opinion, if an album has both slow and fast songs that I enjoy, it is a definite win. If I enjoy all the songs however, then it is evenIn my opinion, if an album has both slow and fast songs that I enjoy, it is a definite win. If I enjoy all the songs however, then it is even better. To this day, Chuck and American Idiot are the only two albums I have CDs for. So, I would highly recommend this, especially 88, Welcome To Hell, and No Solution. Full Review »