• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2004
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 92
  2. Negative: 2 out of 92

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RossS.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    All sum 41 music is awesome!!!
  2. GregC
    Jan 25, 2005
    4
    After "Does This Look Infected", I have to say that I'm very disappointed. While DTLI wasn't really original sounding, they had some good lyrics and were getting far as a band (and I still think that their first two albums had better songs with a more distinctive sound). But "Chuck" is just.... following the trend... a dieing trend. I guess they could have called this cd After "Does This Look Infected", I have to say that I'm very disappointed. While DTLI wasn't really original sounding, they had some good lyrics and were getting far as a band (and I still think that their first two albums had better songs with a more distinctive sound). But "Chuck" is just.... following the trend... a dieing trend. I guess they could have called this cd "Beating a Dead Horse" because that's all they're doing. I just got the cd and I wish I could return it, because I just wasted almost an hour that could have been used to do some work. So in the end, Sum 41 moved too far away from their good pop-punk/beastie boy sound that made them. Bless them for trying, but for the love of god go back to "All Killer No Filler" and stop this psuedo nu-metal BS. Expand
  3. MitchP
    Sep 14, 2005
    2
    Ok listen i kno many people will get mad at me but u have to face the facts, sum 41 has fallen off. i agree that they are genius MUSICIANS, some of the guitar riffs were pretty amazing, but their lyrics just completely lack fibre and arent really about anything (except all to blame). I think they used up all their good lyrics on their earlier records and are now lookin for generic teen Ok listen i kno many people will get mad at me but u have to face the facts, sum 41 has fallen off. i agree that they are genius MUSICIANS, some of the guitar riffs were pretty amazing, but their lyrics just completely lack fibre and arent really about anything (except all to blame). I think they used up all their good lyrics on their earlier records and are now lookin for generic teen angst lyrics to fill the spaces between the guitar solos. NOT a good cd Expand
  4. beng
    Feb 19, 2005
    10
    yea woo
  5. LexH
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    Loved it. Awesome heavier sound. By far the best Sum 41 cd yet. A lot more awesome guitar riffs and it seems as though the boys have grown up a bit.
  6. carari
    Oct 17, 2004
    9
    REALLY FUCKIN' GOOD
  7. Mark
    Nov 8, 2004
    7
    There are some great tracks, but the slow ones aren't memorable. My beef is that they don't incorporate their influences; they STEAL them. "We're all to blame" = Chop Suey by System of a Down. "Bitter End" = Battery by Metallica. "Some Say" = something by Oasis (don't know the title). There's more, I just can't place them yet (it's only been a day). I There are some great tracks, but the slow ones aren't memorable. My beef is that they don't incorporate their influences; they STEAL them. "We're all to blame" = Chop Suey by System of a Down. "Bitter End" = Battery by Metallica. "Some Say" = something by Oasis (don't know the title). There's more, I just can't place them yet (it's only been a day). I mean I love the fire Sum plays with, and the message, but they really need to get better at using all of their influences to build their own product. That's why this album doesn't flow consistently. BTW, as a metal fan, the guitar is actually really good at times... just wait until they hear some Scandinavian metal. Expand
  8. SebMan
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    I think this is their best CD to date. It's got the best riffs and it is heavier than the other Sum41 CDs. Everyo1 should buy Chuck!
  9. ScottM
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    Great Cd Track 7 is their best song ever writtien
  10. BigJeffrey
    Jan 16, 2005
    9
    Great work by sum 41. Totally new concept. Beautiful results. Noots, No Reason, Welcome to Hell- these are on top of my winamp most played. You should definitely get CHUCK.
  11. EllenR
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Sum 41 is my absolute favourite band and always will be. I KNOW I am the biggest fan of their music. I listen to them for hours every day and I never get sick of them. This, and their CD Does this Look Infected are the best. I can't choose a favourite song.. That would be like choosing between your kids. Sum 41 is the best band, that's all there is to it.
  12. Anonymous
    Oct 9, 2005
    6
    This would be a great punk album... except punks are meant to be individuals. Here, Sum 41 have shamelessly ripped guitar riffs and samples, note for note, from Papa Roach, Linkin Park, The Offspring and Metallica. "There's No Solution" is the most heinous offender, it is basically "Crawling" by LP, but with different lyrics. Speaking of lyrics, ever since Infected, they've This would be a great punk album... except punks are meant to be individuals. Here, Sum 41 have shamelessly ripped guitar riffs and samples, note for note, from Papa Roach, Linkin Park, The Offspring and Metallica. "There's No Solution" is the most heinous offender, it is basically "Crawling" by LP, but with different lyrics. Speaking of lyrics, ever since Infected, they've really been focusing on the 3 Hs- hypocrites, hell, and "How did it come to this?"- and it's really starting to drag. The real standout is "All To Blame", which is not only original, but punk in lyrics and sound. It's a shame that the rest of the album, while sounding good, had to be the worst example of pop plagiarism in decades. Expand
  13. ChrisM
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    This is the best album yet. ROK ON!!!!!!!!!!!!
  14. FlaversB
    Mar 1, 2005
    8
    chuck is by far my favourate album by sum 41 yet and the new concept is also an improvement but in their next album they should focus allot more on the "all killer no filler" tune
  15. Typhis
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    i disagree, i think this album is better than all killer no filler, imo its their best yet.
  16. verng
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    Great! Kick Ass!
  17. pistachio
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    this is the best CD that sum 41 have created. I can't stop listening to it.
  18. JexS
    Dec 3, 2004
    10
    This album is unbelievable. I think i m the most diehard SUM 41 fan ever, and this album hits the spot. I dont have a clue what you guys are talking about the song Some Say. That song is my favourite, and i love it sooo much because it reminds me of how melodic and soft Oasis are.
  19. AllieF
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    SUM 41 ROX! Chuck is the best album ever! They grew up alot, and are singing about controversial issues like war. Their song no reason kicks ass and their songs are awsome!!!
  20. CaitB
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    This was the best CD of Sum 41 ever. I wonder how they can top that? I guess will find out soon in a few years.
  21. LoeyW
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    This album totally rocks, it's much better than the albums before, which I didn't liked except for a few songs.. Now I like the most! Cool!
  22. RawGarlic
    Apr 3, 2005
    6
    Not The Best Album Of Sum 41s my fav: Infected. They are still experimenting there style.
  23. CaitlinG
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Ok, first of all Sum 41 is the best thing that's ever happened to music and this album ROCKS! Some people are saying that they should stick to their old music but why do the same thing when you can try something different and rock at it? All the albums are sweet and i like every song on this album, is a booyes!
  24. BobbyD
    Aug 15, 2005
    9
    It seems many people (professional critics particularly) do not understand what makes something good. The bottom line with the album 'chuck' is that it is brilliant. What the band has done in the past has no bearing on this collection of musical notes. This album is it's own work of art, and it is precisely that. This band has proven itself worthy by it's past works, It seems many people (professional critics particularly) do not understand what makes something good. The bottom line with the album 'chuck' is that it is brilliant. What the band has done in the past has no bearing on this collection of musical notes. This album is it's own work of art, and it is precisely that. This band has proven itself worthy by it's past works, but 'Chuck' stands out and stands alone. Brilliant, simply brilliant. Expand
  25. ChrisP
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    I don't see this as Nu metal at all really. You can sense they are Metallica fans through the sound of there guitar on some songs. Granted some chords are punky, but still. They have improved in my mind of destroying the shackles of pop punk. They still have melodic tunes, with heavy overtones but it works well with this album. I was really not impressed with All killer no Filler, it I don't see this as Nu metal at all really. You can sense they are Metallica fans through the sound of there guitar on some songs. Granted some chords are punky, but still. They have improved in my mind of destroying the shackles of pop punk. They still have melodic tunes, with heavy overtones but it works well with this album. I was really not impressed with All killer no Filler, it was very teenage woe sounding. This album shows that the band has matured in ways that most haven't like Blink 182 and Simple plan. I compare them more to alternative music than pop/punk. Sure some songs sound similar but it is refreshing to hear a band do something different every album rather than replaying the same old crap. I.E. Eminem, LP, Blink, Offspring, Simple Plan. Also they aren't molding into the Used genre either. They stand out alone as 4 canadians playing music to get up and shout the lyrics to. Expand
  26. MaxR
    Apr 5, 2006
    9
    When you judge Sum 41 you have to put it in to perspective. Saying that they are un-original, copying guitar riffs, or plagairizing is irrelevant. You must realize this before you degrade them. So one of their lines came out sounding like it was ripped from another band. I must ask, so what? All bands materialize their form through influence, and that's what keeps a solid popular When you judge Sum 41 you have to put it in to perspective. Saying that they are un-original, copying guitar riffs, or plagairizing is irrelevant. You must realize this before you degrade them. So one of their lines came out sounding like it was ripped from another band. I must ask, so what? All bands materialize their form through influence, and that's what keeps a solid popular theme of music alive. If they aren't allowed to be somewhat like any other band...what are they supposed to do? As far as I know, the word "Original and new" doesn't exist in this genre anymore or any other music for that matter until some new kind of music is created. Every band is essentially composed of musicians that have been tainted by the success of other musicians, so the idea of one band suddenly sounding like another is inevitable. It really is a non-issue. Back to Sum 41, I must say that I have grown to be very fond of their music despite the fact that I have absolutely no past experience with band obsessions. I listened to their albums backwards in reverse timeline, from Chuck to Half hour of Power. Chuck is no doubt their best album to date. Through-out all of their music you can sense that they are "growing up". From "All killer" to "chuck!" there is a huge maturity gap that they have crossed and it takes a real music lover to notice and appreciate that. To be blatant, their music went from up-beat/Pop-rock such as Blink 182(that they display in all killer no filler) to a hardcore, emo sort of metal/rock(which they showed in chuck!). With "Does this look infected?" in the middle, seeming very much like their crossing point. Don't put Sum 41 on the big scale yet, because it's true. They are still finding their "thing", their style, their band's personality. But at the very least it would be a crime to say that they are not close to figuring out what they do best. Chuck to me is a 9 because they are finally finding themselves, and they are preaching it through the right kind of music. The only reason I wouldn't give it a 10 is because Sum 41's style and music has been all but consistent. But that is normal and with Chuck it is very clear that they are on to something, and I can't wait to see what they will discover about themselves next. Expand
  27. IgnacioB
    Sep 12, 2006
    9
    I'm a fan from Sum 41 and I listen them from Half Hour of Power. Chuck show us a well-mixed crossover of all of the Sum 41 styles from the early Pop-Punk to their Alternative Rock and Metal, this is probably the best record of Sum 41 ever. Since this record they are not anymore something like "the shadow of blink" or "the younger brothers of Green Day" but they now shown a new I'm a fan from Sum 41 and I listen them from Half Hour of Power. Chuck show us a well-mixed crossover of all of the Sum 41 styles from the early Pop-Punk to their Alternative Rock and Metal, this is probably the best record of Sum 41 ever. Since this record they are not anymore something like "the shadow of blink" or "the younger brothers of Green Day" but they now shown a new signature style that give Sum 41 more identity and differs them a little more from similar bands. The bests songs of the rescord are "No Reason", "We're All To Blame", "Angels With Dirty Faces" and "Welcome To Hell" because in them they mixed every of the genres of the album. Another good songs are the alternative rock style "Pieces" and the classic metal inspired "The Bitter End". Expand
  28. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    6
    The album was okay, but I expected more from the Ajax boys.
  29. EliMCcart
    Nov 12, 2004
    8
    this album is a great album but i still liked does this look infected better
  30. john
    Nov 28, 2004
    10
    i thought that this was an awesome cd. i love the guitar , and i think that this is the best cd yet by them
  31. JeffS
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    This is probably my favorite sum 41 cd. Its got a ton of awsome songs and even a couple slower ones, good balence. They even got farther away from their old pop punky side.
  32. KaitlinC
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    This album is amazing! i have been a sum 41 fan from the start! The biys just kee getting better and better! they are always changing for the best! my fave songs are pieces, 88 and were all to blame! Amazing cd ! everyone must buy it!
  33. [Anonymous]
    Oct 16, 2004
    9
    much more mature, a kind of blink-against the-oasis mix of bands. interesting
  34. MathieuL
    Oct 21, 2004
    8
    A grest album, too short but does this look infected was better
  35. ManStar
    Dec 18, 2004
    10
    Awesome CD!!
  36. Adam
    Dec 2, 2004
    8
    At first i didnt like Chuck but it is impressive. I think this is a good step for Sum 41 and I hope this album starts to see more. The songs are simple and the choruses kinda sound the same but this is a fun CD still and a well made one
  37. KatC.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    It was really awsome, I love the song we're all to blame!It rockz!
  38. WillieF
    Oct 27, 2004
    10
    Minus the Oasis song.. this album is flawless
  39. sandrad
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    I do think Sum 41 is the best band in the whole Universe. I think their last CD, Chuck, is great, and also lots of people I know think they're great. They're trying to do their music, but they are still young. People that don't like them should leave 'em and stop fucking them, 'cause there is also lots of people that thinks they're great, and the prove is I do think Sum 41 is the best band in the whole Universe. I think their last CD, Chuck, is great, and also lots of people I know think they're great. They're trying to do their music, but they are still young. People that don't like them should leave 'em and stop fucking them, 'cause there is also lots of people that thinks they're great, and the prove is people goes to their concerts. I can't stop listening to them, it's samply great. All their CD's are great. So, people, if you don't like'em, FUCK YOU!!! Expand
  40. AndrewC
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    cool
  41. ZiftK
    Apr 26, 2007
    8
    Probably my favorite group of this generation, and a great CD for any Sum 41 fan.
  42. DIPPADAMS
    Jul 13, 2007
    8
    The first melodies are good, but the rest of th
  43. JArch
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    Excellent CD, with a substantially different siund to the previous albums. A heavier more mature sound from a group that has claerly undergone change. Most noticeably different are the lyrics, which are no longer just teen ramblings, but based upon their experiences they had prior to the album recording, when they were in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
  44. TonyB
    Nov 14, 2004
    6
    This Cd is ALRIGHT, it is really nothing to get all worked up about. I love Sum41 but i would say that this is their worst album to date. Alot of the songs sound the same, sometimes i can not tell if there is a change in the song. They all go heavy then soft, heavy then soft. They also sound alot like some other songs, such as "We're all to blame" sounds like "Chop suey" by system of This Cd is ALRIGHT, it is really nothing to get all worked up about. I love Sum41 but i would say that this is their worst album to date. Alot of the songs sound the same, sometimes i can not tell if there is a change in the song. They all go heavy then soft, heavy then soft. They also sound alot like some other songs, such as "We're all to blame" sounds like "Chop suey" by system of a down. Which by the way is a much better song. Expand
  45. JustinS
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    Chuck is easily the best album relese of the year and is possibly the best album of te bew decade! Were all to blame rocks. So does the equilly impressive Pieces. The band shows maturity. I recconebd everyone pick up this album!
  46. Steve-OA
    Nov 18, 2004
    9
    Excellent album. Sum 41 sure have grown up, man. This is, has, and always will be one of my favorite current rock bands(Including GREEN DAY, Papa Roach, and, dare I say it, Good Charlotte). It may not be their best, but it is still damn good poetic justice to the head bangers out there.
  47. imrank
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    great songs luv NO. 15 wicked track up there wit fat lip and the hell song
  48. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    Although half of the riffs are ripped directly from Metallica's catalogue, (especially "The Bitter End") this is Sum 41's tightest and best work. If you like rock, or you're new to Sum 41, this is their definitive album, going out in a blaze of glory before their guitarist quit and they sold out.
  49. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    So far, this is the best album that I ever heard in Sum 41. They also have grown to be more mature. Meaningful songs, great catchy guitar riffs and etc.
  50. Mar 22, 2016
    10
    In my opinion, if an album has both slow and fast songs that I enjoy, it is a definite win. If I enjoy all the songs however, then it is even better. To this day, Chuck and American Idiot are the only two albums I have CDs for. So, I would highly recommend this, especially 88, Welcome To Hell, and No Solution.
  51. May 25, 2017
    9
    This is Sum 41's masterpiece, it's a sort of "mix" between "Does this look infected?" and Alternative Metal's style, it's really interesting, there are some songs who are very catchy such as Some Say and Pieces and others who are more aggressive (The Bitter End and Welcome To Hell), while songs like We're All To Blame and 88 prove that this band is mature and I'm Not The One and There's NoThis is Sum 41's masterpiece, it's a sort of "mix" between "Does this look infected?" and Alternative Metal's style, it's really interesting, there are some songs who are very catchy such as Some Say and Pieces and others who are more aggressive (The Bitter End and Welcome To Hell), while songs like We're All To Blame and 88 prove that this band is mature and I'm Not The One and There's No Solution have clear references to Linkin Park and I appreciate it. Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Blender
    60
    The ceaselessly blistering tone does get overbearing. [Nov 2004, p.145]
  2. The spiky quartet furnish their usual shouty vocals with grinding riffola and twiddly guitar solos, just as the rest of the post-Linkin Park world are realising nu metal wasn't such a good idea.
  3. But whether they're being snotty or serious, there is a constant thread at work: those catchy melodies.