• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Circuital Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nearly three years since its last release, the Kentucky psychedelic-indie band offer up its sixth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. May 27, 2011
    88
    Carry on, ye bearded gods.
  2. Much closer to Z than Evil Urges, My Morning Jacket proves that a leap back can sometimes be a step in the right direction, even if we end up "right back in the same place that we started out."
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    My Morning Jacket should be celebrated as a band that tirelessly deliver value for money--there's enough in here to keep you listening for months on end, and loving every minute of it.
  4. Jun 9, 2011
    78
    Ultimately, Circuital charts My Morning Jacket's return home with success now firmly under their belts, proving they've lost none of their Southern-jammed charm while perched atop the second act of an already sky-high career.
  5. Jun 6, 2011
    71
    It's a solid, un-embarrassing, simple-minded record that will do nothing to My Morning Jacket's reputation as one of the greatest American rock bands every American can, and will, get behind. Here's to riskier futures.
  6. May 31, 2011
    70
    Perhaps it's because the Kentucky rockers went home to record, or because they recorded live as a band; but whatever the reason, the result is eminently listenable.
  7. Jun 2, 2011
    30
    Circuital makes it clear that we are dealing with My Morning Jacket post-metamorphosis. From a provocative indie/country/blues band with exceptional vocals, witty lyrics, and a stellar band, MMJ has found prime real estate on the premise of becoming a commercial parody of themselves.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Review on Circuital here from Examiner Online...
    http://www.examiner.com/music-review-in-atlanta/my-morning-jacket-s-circuital-a-return-to-form-review
  2. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Their greatest effort since the majestic "At Dawn". Victory Dance is one of the most exciting, moving intros to an album I've everAmazing! Their greatest effort since the majestic "At Dawn". Victory Dance is one of the most exciting, moving intros to an album I've ever heard. Circuital and Outta My System are my other two favorites. Turn the lights low, put the head phones on and go for a wonderful 45 min. journey. Expand
  3. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    My Morning Jacket have come a long way. There masterpiece album "Z" still remains a milestone in music and The album after that, "Evil Urges"My Morning Jacket have come a long way. There masterpiece album "Z" still remains a milestone in music and The album after that, "Evil Urges" is a great album. Circuital is no "Z", but it is a very well produced record. They go back to there psychedelic roots from "Z" and it sounds better than ever. Jim Jame's voice has never sounded so hypnotic and absorbing. A lot of atmosphere in this album that creates a good tone throughout the whole record. Victory Dance is the stand out track on this record. All In All, Circuital is a wonderful album and among the best that have come out this year. A- Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    To my ears, this sounds more like the proper follow up to "Z" after the detour of Evil Urges. For all the varieties of sounds and styles, itTo my ears, this sounds more like the proper follow up to "Z" after the detour of Evil Urges. For all the varieties of sounds and styles, it certainly makes for a more cohesive listen than the previous release. Expand
  5. j30
    Jul 20, 2011
    8
    Solid album from an evolving solid band. This might be their most focused record to date. I love the feeling I get when I listen to it. ItSolid album from an evolving solid band. This might be their most focused record to date. I love the feeling I get when I listen to it. It makes you wish it were the late 60's or early 70's. However I do miss the music experimentation. You know the constant guessing game you have with them on what the next track is going to sound like (Z and Evil Urges). Overall it's probably my favorite album that I've heard from them. I look forward to seeing how the album translates into a live show. Key Tracks: Wonderful, Out of My System, and The Day is Coming. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2011
    7
    Good, a solid album but not as good as "Evil urges" (which wasn't even that great in the first place) and doesn;t come close to theGood, a solid album but not as good as "Evil urges" (which wasn't even that great in the first place) and doesn;t come close to the ambitiousness of "Z" or the quality of "It still moves" It sounds great, but they could have made something better. Collapse
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    6
    My Morning Jacket are a frustrating band - sometimes brilliant but more often that not ho-hum. Circuital is a hit and miss album with theMy Morning Jacket are a frustrating band - sometimes brilliant but more often that not ho-hum. Circuital is a hit and miss album with the title track essentially the only real stand-out track; you can literally hear the wafters lifting when it is played live. It does contain some vocal histrionics, Jim James works hard to get the lines "In some bloody battle, Over belief systems" to work and just about pulls it off.
    Aside from Circuital, Movin' Away is a decent track as well but the rest of the album is a disappointment. MMJ have failed in my opinion to deliver on their promise and are well behind their contemporaries like The National or Wilco in delivering a truly knock-out collection of songs. 6 out of 10 from me.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.