Circuital - My Morning Jacket
Circuital Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Nearly three years since its last release, the Kentucky psychedelic-indie band offer up its sixth album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. May 27, 2011
    88
    Carry on, ye bearded gods.
  2. Much closer to Z than Evil Urges, My Morning Jacket proves that a leap back can sometimes be a step in the right direction, even if we end up "right back in the same place that we started out."
  3. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    My Morning Jacket should be celebrated as a band that tirelessly deliver value for money--there's enough in here to keep you listening for months on end, and loving every minute of it.
  4. Jun 9, 2011
    78
    Ultimately, Circuital charts My Morning Jacket's return home with success now firmly under their belts, proving they've lost none of their Southern-jammed charm while perched atop the second act of an already sky-high career.
  5. Jun 6, 2011
    71
    It's a solid, un-embarrassing, simple-minded record that will do nothing to My Morning Jacket's reputation as one of the greatest American rock bands every American can, and will, get behind. Here's to riskier futures.
  6. May 31, 2011
    70
    Perhaps it's because the Kentucky rockers went home to record, or because they recorded live as a band; but whatever the reason, the result is eminently listenable.
  7. Jun 2, 2011
    30
    Circuital makes it clear that we are dealing with My Morning Jacket post-metamorphosis. From a provocative indie/country/blues band with exceptional vocals, witty lyrics, and a stellar band, MMJ has found prime real estate on the premise of becoming a commercial parody of themselves.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Amazing! Their greatest effort since the majestic "At Dawn". Victory Dance is one of the most exciting, moving intros to an album I've ever heard. Circuital and Outta My System are my other two favorites. Turn the lights low, put the head phones on and go for a wonderful 45 min. journey. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Review on Circuital here from Examiner Online...
    http://www.examiner.com/music-review-in-atlanta/my-morning-jacket-s-circuital-a-return-to-form-review
  3. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    An phenomenal record from start to finish. Their best work since It Still Moves, with Jim James sounding more soulful than ever before. It gave me chills. Collapse
  4. Jun 1, 2011
    9
    My Morning Jacket have come a long way. There masterpiece album "Z" still remains a milestone in music and The album after that, "Evil Urges" is a great album. Circuital is no "Z", but it is a very well produced record. They go back to there psychedelic roots from "Z" and it sounds better than ever. Jim Jame's voice has never sounded so hypnotic and absorbing. A lot of atmosphere in this album that creates a good tone throughout the whole record. Victory Dance is the stand out track on this record. All In All, Circuital is a wonderful album and among the best that have come out this year. A- Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    MMJ delivers again with a more focused album than their last time out. From the first second of this album I was hooked and it gets better and better up until 'Holding on the Black Metal' which is one of the weirdest/best songs I have heard recently. The album kind of peters out after that, but is still fantastic nevertheless. Great album by one of the best bands in the business. Respect. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    Another awesome album from an awesome band. It maintains the mellow vibe that My Morning Jacket does best and builds upon it. Most songs on this album are great, with the real jewel of this album being "The Day is Coming". While not their best, Circuital is definitely a stellar album, even by My Morning Jacket's high standards. Expand
  7. Jun 22, 2011
    6
    My Morning Jacket are a frustrating band - sometimes brilliant but more often that not ho-hum. Circuital is a hit and miss album with the title track essentially the only real stand-out track; you can literally hear the wafters lifting when it is played live. It does contain some vocal histrionics, Jim James works hard to get the lines "In some bloody battle, Over belief systems" to work and just about pulls it off.
    Aside from Circuital, Movin' Away is a decent track as well but the rest of the album is a disappointment. MMJ have failed in my opinion to deliver on their promise and are well behind their contemporaries like The National or Wilco in delivering a truly knock-out collection of songs. 6 out of 10 from me.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums

    Summer Music Preview: 25 Key Upcoming Albums Image
    Published: May 10, 2011
    We've selected 25 of the biggest albums arriving between now and September, including new discs from Death Cab for Cutie, Lady Gaga, My Morning Jacket, Lil Wayne, Jane's Addiction, and more. Plus, listen to full tracks from each album.