Circus

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Dec 2, 2008
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 482 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 482

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 9, 2017
    10
    Com certeza Circus é um álbum marcante na carreira de Spears. Marca uma nova etapa na sua vida, e mostra que amadureceu, de canções profundos á canções dance, como o sucesso 'Womanizer'
  2. Jan 28, 2017
    10
    O melhor album de Britney com certeza, faixas com Out From Under, Shattered Glass, Blur, Lance and Lather tinham muito potencial pra ser single, esse album é sim melhor que seu antecessor "Blackout"
  3. Dec 10, 2016
    7
    Hiring producers Bloodshy & Avant, Max Martin and Danja - who've all helped Britney create her greatest past works - was a very clever idea indeed. OK, so it lacks the style and power of 'Blackout', but it reconnects Britney with her youth, her fun. 'Blackout' quietly demanded attention, were as Circus asks for it outright.
    She's not there yet, but she's certainly on the return to her pop throne.
  4. Oct 20, 2016
    9
    One of her best albums ever! Close enough to the old and classic pop sound. Britney got everything right in it, from the cover to the singles choice. Definitely a great piece of work!
  5. Sep 11, 2016
    9
    this(and glory)is the best album of my diva and queen britney spears i am a bigggggggggggg fan of her and this is the most strong but is really underrated album of her, that shows songs like circus,unusual you etc... that show britney vocal skills and a pop star skills like womanizer that is her 2 big hit of all time, this album is really underrated album and deserves much more
  6. Sep 10, 2016
    7
    This album has some great moments, but a great part of the unknown songs for most of people is just there for filling the blanks. I, personally, highlight Out From Under as a very personal track which really spoke to me about what Britney has been through in the past 2 years.
  7. Aug 26, 2016
    10
    Realmente grande, um album que seguiu a reta o nome do mesmo, todas as musicas são muito bem elaboradas, nem todas, mas muitas estão excelentes, o destaque para unusual You, Out From Under, Shatered Glasses e If U Seek Amy que são as perolas do album.
  8. Jul 15, 2016
    8
    "Circus" provides more lighthearted moments than "Blackout," and it has those sassy, sexy, sultry moments, too. I love the fun, upbeat tracks, such as "Circus," If You Seek Amy," and "Phonography," and I love the softer, vulnerable ballads, such as "Out From Under," "My Baby," and "Unusual You," and I love the songs that mix things up: "Shattered Glass" and "Quicksand."
  9. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    amazing album the best album of 2008 she did her thing on this album it was really her comeback album she nailed it with Circus and Blur and the album is timeless.
  10. Mar 10, 2016
    9
    Um dos melhores albuns que eu já ouvi da Ms. Spears, muitos que dizem que ela morreu em 2004, mas esse album provou como uma verdadeira rainha retorna
  11. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    Best album jjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjjj
  12. Feb 1, 2016
    10
    Britney's most flawless venture into the realm of pure pop in almost a decade (having worked with hip hop and dance on the two records prior to this) didn't disappoint. Full of sexy, high power jams that become instant classics on the first listen - this album has every track worthy of being a hit and accentuates her powerful dominatrix side as well as some of her most meaningful balladsBritney's most flawless venture into the realm of pure pop in almost a decade (having worked with hip hop and dance on the two records prior to this) didn't disappoint. Full of sexy, high power jams that become instant classics on the first listen - this album has every track worthy of being a hit and accentuates her powerful dominatrix side as well as some of her most meaningful ballads of her career. Expand
  13. Jan 30, 2016
    7
    Album fourre-tout, pot-pourri de la pop où l'excellent (Mannequin, Circus, Out From Under) côtoie le moins bon (Blur, Mmm Papi, My Baby). Album du retour, bien mené par le premier single Womanizer.
  14. Jan 25, 2016
    10
    Circus is by far the best Britney Spears album there is to date. You have hit songs like womanizer, circus, kill the lights and radar. Britney's other songs are great too. 10/10
  15. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best comeback ever.................................... Amazing!!!!!!!!!!
    BS i love you baby XOXOXOXOXOXOXXOXOXOXOXOXXO.
    Circus Womanizer, Unusual You, Blur, Amnesia, Quicksand, If u seek amy, Phonography and out from under and shattered glass and Lace n leather the best.
    Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2015
    8
    It's a good album but it looks like it's divided in two parts, because from the middle to the end has really weak tracks that take away the strength of the album. However, it has hits, and good hits, since Circus and If U Seek Amy have a perfect production and an excellent performance.
  17. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    Esse é o álbum da "volta por cima" de Britney. Depois de raspar a cabeça, beber, fumar, e ir para a clínica de reabilitação, e todos acharem que sua carreira estava acabada, voltou com tudo com o single Womanizer e o álbum Circus, um album pop muito bom e divertido. Acertou em cheio! As melhores faixas são "Circus" "Blur" e "Unusual You".
  18. May 14, 2014
    9
    This album is FANTASTIC. It's funny like no other she has ever released and every track stands out in it's own way. Unusual you was, for me, the best track on the album and one of the best of her entire carreer(too bad it wasn't released as a single :( ), and the others follow up to this.
  19. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    melhor album pop melhor album pop melhor album pop melhor album pop melhor album pop melhor album pop melhor album pop amoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
  20. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    Definitely one of Britney's most underrated albums. People compare it too much to Blackout (her most overrated album), I personally enjoy it a lot more than Blackout, we actually get to listen to her real voice and there is more musical variety (electronic songs, dance songs, ballads, etc.). I'd say it's my second favorite Britney album, after In The Zone.
  21. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Womiazer, Circus, Kill The Lights, If U Seek Amy, Unusual You, Papi, Lace And Leather!
    Damn Perfect!
  22. Mar 4, 2013
    9
    if not her best then one of her best albums ever.!!! Songs like ''Circus'' Womanizer'' ''If U Seek Amy'' ''Mannequin'' ''Shattered Glass'' make you wanna dance..but on the other hand, ballads like ''Out from under'' ''My Baby'' or Unusual You'' are so so beautiful...
  23. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Britney at her best returns and has made a helluva comeback with Womaniser and Circus... A must listen Although tracks like Blur and My Baby are slightly away from the direction of the album, it glues together perfectly with peppy tracks like If U Seek Amy and Mmm Papi :-P
  24. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Britney's second best cd released thus far. Good production and well put together. The album transitions very well as each song flow right into the next. It also contains her best ballad (Out From Under) since "Everytime". Though "Circus" and "Mannequin" are the best tracks on the cd.
  25. May 29, 2012
    10
    Simply 100% Perfect Album And Singles
    This Is The 1st Britney Album That Should Get A Perfect 10/10!
    Great Album!
  26. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    How to make a great album?? Ask to Britney Spears! After her dark period Britney gets back with a simply fantastic album, "Circus". Funny and engaging, when you listen this album you feel like in another world, like in a "Circus", because you feel a lot of feelings in the same moment and so you are confused but also charmed. Best Songs? "Womanizer", "If U Seek Amy", "Kill the Lights" andHow to make a great album?? Ask to Britney Spears! After her dark period Britney gets back with a simply fantastic album, "Circus". Funny and engaging, when you listen this album you feel like in another world, like in a "Circus", because you feel a lot of feelings in the same moment and so you are confused but also charmed. Best Songs? "Womanizer", "If U Seek Amy", "Kill the Lights" and "Out From Under".... Great Job, Princess! ( sorry for my English ) Expand
  27. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Circus is great album, not her best but still good enough for 10!
  28. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    I have only two words - oh yes !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  29. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    Overall Circus In My Opinion Is Fine!
    The Best Tracks Are: Circus, Womanizer, Out from Under, If U Seek Amy, Unusual You, And Lace And Leather... I Hate KILL THE LIGHTS!
  30. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    not her best, but certainly not a bad album. clearly put together just as she was recovering from the downward spiral her life was on in 2007. even so, this album is too 'clean' and lacks the gritty feeling that 'Blackout' had. some forgettable songs, but still a solid pop album. 'Shattered Glass', 'Mannequin', and "Kill The Lights" are stand-out tracks.
  31. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    Maybe not the right follow up to Blackout and to be honest Circus went too easy about the sounds (Blackout is darker) but at least this is a great album. Womanizer is the best single on the album! Circus, Kill The Lights, If U Seek Amy, Unusual You and Blur are great tracks too! Out from Under and My Baby are sweet ballads.
  32. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    A collection of soft, circus-themed songs that after a while may sound dull but will always be anthems ("Womanizer", "If U Seek Amy"). Loving "Mmm Papi" and "Lace and Leather" aswell.
  33. Aug 7, 2011
    7
    The ultimate comeback album? For the most part yes. This record offers far more than any of her previous records, track after track you can almost smell the production and care that's been undertaken, it's almost a powerful album in parts that see's Britney return to pop form, leaving her so called "urban" past behind her. The only parts of the album that lack come from Britney herself, orThe ultimate comeback album? For the most part yes. This record offers far more than any of her previous records, track after track you can almost smell the production and care that's been undertaken, it's almost a powerful album in parts that see's Britney return to pop form, leaving her so called "urban" past behind her. The only parts of the album that lack come from Britney herself, or rather lack of Britney. A face can fit and a legacy can go on, but by studio album number six there's only so little the actual artist can be involved in the writing and production and voice for that matter without staring to offend her fans and critics. Expand
  34. Jun 22, 2011
    7
    POSITIVE - The album is actually very good. I wasn't sure what to expect as initially the album appeared rushed, it just sort of appeared. But the album as a whole i personally think is her best to date. Starting with 'Womanizer' as the open track i crossed my fingers that the following tracks would match the success in production and sound, and i must say they did. It's sounds veryPOSITIVE - The album is actually very good. I wasn't sure what to expect as initially the album appeared rushed, it just sort of appeared. But the album as a whole i personally think is her best to date. Starting with 'Womanizer' as the open track i crossed my fingers that the following tracks would match the success in production and sound, and i must say they did. It's sounds very clean, very polished. Certain tracks such as 'Unusual You' were unexpected and a breathe of fresh air. 70% of this album is pretty much as good as pop music can get.
    NEGATIVE - Certain tracks are obviously filler tracks 'Mmm Papi', 'My Baby' and 'Mannequin' fall flat compared to rest of the album. I was slighty confused how these tracks were on the full version and better and even more exciting tracks such as 'Phoneography' and 'Amnesia' were bonus tracks. The album at times also has a typical it will do feel about it, 'Lace and Leather' for example, although one of my favourite tracks, it just could have been so much more. OVERALL - A very good album that is certainly worth purchasing, if your a Britney fan or not. Not quite 100%, but by far an achievment in the Britney catalogue.
    Expand
  35. May 24, 2011
    8
    Womanizer, If You Seek Amy , Unusual You and Kill The Lights almost block out the vile My Baby and Mmm Papi which would have been better replaced with the bonus tracks. Radar is a great song. But by the time it was released as a single (June 2009) Britney lovers had already got the message when we heard it a year and a half earlier.
  36. Mar 25, 2011
    7
    Is a good album, but much less Blackout.Le best songs are: Womanizer, Circus, Out From Under, My Baby, Mmm Papi and Shattered Glass. We expected more from this album, after the excellent Blackout.
  37. Sep 4, 2010
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Britney is back, his album deserves note 10,
    The two ballads, "Out From Under" and "My Baby" are perfect! The album is mature and the songs are the best!
    Expand
  38. SantixRdeCh
    Jun 11, 2010
    8
    I loved some of the songs. It's nice.
  39. KennethP
    Jan 31, 2010
    7
    Classic... Britney deserves to be the ringleader But be honest some of the songs is not danceable.
  40. StellaL
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    It's very addicting and danceable...circus, womanizer, If U Seek Amy are the best tracks, but there are many more that are worth listening to. If you love dancepop, then this is an album to have. Not one of Britney's best, but it's one of the most played on my itunes. Good job, Brit!
  41. BillyI
    Jun 7, 2009
    10
    Well Ms Spears you are certainly back and this albums proves it. You are really the comeback queen with this amazing new album full of pop-dance tracks each could be a single. Your best work to date without a dout. A+++
  42. JoshuaS
    Apr 25, 2009
    10
    One of her best albums yet. A range of moods shown on this album. Although auto tuner is used on some songs, her voice still sounds natural and fairly powerful on most of them. She's (almost) back to her best. Good job Brit!
  43. DaleO
    Apr 25, 2009
    8
    This was a solid effort by Britney and her team, and the album does hold together very well. The album is full of catchy anthems which are guaranteed hits no doubt, but the album does have one or two tracks that seem to drag on a bit. A problem that wasn't seen on her sleek & sexy predecessor Blackout.
  44. RichieF
    Mar 29, 2009
    10
    This is Britney Spears's actual come-back album. With brilliant hooks and a master production, you cannot go wrong with this album. She has gained a new fan in me by creating this masterpiece! Standout tracks include the beautifully wonderful "Unusual You" and the hook infused "Kill the Lights!"
  45. J.M
    Mar 24, 2009
    10
    In my opinion her best album to date. There are no pointless songs that were tossed in just to fill the slots, every song has a purpose to make this a brilliant album.
  46. anonymousN.
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    Britney's personal life may be a circus of its own, but with this Circus, she proves once again that she can shove aside the paparazzi and the rumors for long enough to make a successful, poppy, and infectious dance album. Best tracks are Circus, If U Seek Amy, Womanizer, Shattered Glass, and Kill The Lights.
  47. JavierM
    Feb 23, 2009
    10
    Great cd!!! It's the come back perfec for an artist like Britney!!! I love the songs "If you seek Amy" y "Mmmm papi". Pure pop!!. Britney's the best!!!
  48. efgsgfsgs
    Feb 19, 2009
    7
    For a pop album it has several great tracks, several good tracks, and the rest sounds like filler. Its not bad, not great. If she wrote more songs it could only help.
  49. SophieL.
    Jan 11, 2009
    10
    Love this album - a few of the tracks are slightly dry in the middle (unusual you, blur and mmm papi) but generally another Britney classic. Tracks such as womanizer, circus and if u seek amy show Britney at her best. A different sound from her "crazy" and "baby one more time eras", more electro-pop than bubblegum, but no less enjoyable.
  50. JamesB.
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    I love it. Amazing!
  51. JuanF.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    Easy, breezy, fun, pure pop.
  52. christianp.
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    I think this is a cool album...ang my fave from this album is If you seek amy(say it fast).
  53. JoshPinder
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    Britney is at the top of her game with this fabulous Circus album, it's a mesmerising powerhouse of an album that more than earns being titled the greatest album of 2008. Womanizer,Circus,Out From Under,Kill The Lights,if You Seek Amy,Shattered Glass,Unusual You,Mmm Papi,Mannequin,Lace & Leather,My Baby,Rock Me In,Phonography and Amnesia are nothing but fantastic...all of which Britney is at the top of her game with this fabulous Circus album, it's a mesmerising powerhouse of an album that more than earns being titled the greatest album of 2008. Womanizer,Circus,Out From Under,Kill The Lights,if You Seek Amy,Shattered Glass,Unusual You,Mmm Papi,Mannequin,Lace & Leather,My Baby,Rock Me In,Phonography and Amnesia are nothing but fantastic...all of which should be released as singles for sure. Expand
  54. SeanC.
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    Great album! Unusual You is the stand out track here!
  55. TiaS.
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This is Britney Spears' absolute best album. With songs like ''Unusual You'', ''If U Seek Amy'', ''Womanizer'', ''Circus'', and ''Kill The Lights'' it's no wonder as to why this album went straight to #1 on the Billboard.
  56. HuanC.
    Dec 26, 2008
    9
    This is definitely not perfect as no album ever will be perfect but as pop music comes along this is the best offer our not-so-great-vocally Britney Spears can dish out on the table for us to enjoy. Just like a buffet, with sweets, meals and light appetizers to entertain us consistenly is what 'Circus' offered and it definitely done justice to her comeback carreer!!! As her one This is definitely not perfect as no album ever will be perfect but as pop music comes along this is the best offer our not-so-great-vocally Britney Spears can dish out on the table for us to enjoy. Just like a buffet, with sweets, meals and light appetizers to entertain us consistenly is what 'Circus' offered and it definitely done justice to her comeback carreer!!! As her one of the biggest fan in Malaysia I say Britney...you'll be the best pop iconic music till forever. Expand
  57. MkayK.
    Dec 26, 2008
    7
    'Circus' is a well-rounded album, overall. Certain tracks stand about above many other. Namely the first 7 tracks on the album. Songs like 'My Baby' are disappointingly chosen over an excess of bonus tracks which didn't make it onto the album. The addition of 'Radar' from Blackout is also disappointing. Although with that, the album returns to earlier 'Circus' is a well-rounded album, overall. Certain tracks stand about above many other. Namely the first 7 tracks on the album. Songs like 'My Baby' are disappointingly chosen over an excess of bonus tracks which didn't make it onto the album. The addition of 'Radar' from Blackout is also disappointing. Although with that, the album returns to earlier Britney and still steers close to the electro beats of Blackout. Expand
  58. TonyZ.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    It's the best album ever, all songs are great! Overall success!
  59. OgiO.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Sets Brit back at the top of the industry.
  60. hectorm.
    Dec 15, 2008
    10
    Wow this album is awesome circus, if you seek amy, shattered glass, lace and leather... OMG i love all circus songs! good job britney
  61. JohnC.
    Dec 14, 2008
    10
    I love this album full of hits like Unusual you, Out from under, If u seek Amy, Circus, Womanizer, Kill the lights, Shattered Glass and Mannequin. Even the timeless Radar and other bonus songs like Phonography and Rock me in has hit written all over them.
  62. reineirm
    Dec 11, 2008
    9
    This is a pop gem!!! very modern, she knows what she is doing, both american and european flavors.
  63. TT
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    Fresh, catchy, crisp.
  64. AdamJ.
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    Circus is an addicting and adventurous tale of pop perfection. Welcome back Britney!
  65. LittleMr.Obsessive
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    "Circus" is the perfect album comeback album for Britney! It has great ballads like "Out From Under" and dirty-dancing songs like "Phonography". Other great songs like "If U Seek Amy" and "Kill the Lights" get stuvk on you head and you won't stop dancing, other songs like "Mmm..Papi" are Hawaiian Filled tunes! Grae job, Brit!
  66. gerrys.
    Dec 7, 2008
    10
    The best pop electro album of 2008.
  67. SteffenS.
    Dec 6, 2008
    9
    As far as pop-albums go, this is an insanely pleasant album to listen to. Will it last long? No, but is pure pleasure and fun. Why not a full 10 point score? Because "Blackout" was even just a notch more complex.
  68. AjayD
    Dec 5, 2008
    8
    it's a Great Pop Album! She really knows how to put some decent pop music together. Its more pop sounding then blackout with number of songs that can become hit singles. There are some cool ballads as well, that really show her singing ability! I recommend it to all pop fans!
  69. Lucia
    Dec 5, 2008
    7
    Great Job! the best song: Blur!
  70. alfonsoz
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Wtf this is her best album ever. blackout wasn't as good as this one. I don't know what's up with the critics but they sure don't know anything about pop music for giving it a bad score. thisis truly amazing.
  71. GlendaT.
    Dec 5, 2008
    9
    I love it!!!!
  72. MandiC
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    Great album-listen to it non stop! Go Britney!
  73. ChrisV
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    I think this cd is really good.. i used to be a hard fan of britney a long time ago.. and i think shes taking the good way again.. pop music to the max... and great rythm.. excellent job!!!
  74. bobbob
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Her best album yet by far!
  75. toma.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent Album, fantastic tunes and suprisingly addictive!!
  76. CarrieC
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    I find that her new album is just as good, if not better than 'Blackout'. I feel like all of these so-called music critics who have given this album poor ratings merely do not care for Britney, Pop music, or both and therefore they have a bias opinion. Any fan of Britney will absolutely love this album. So just ignore all of the haters, because what they think really I find that her new album is just as good, if not better than 'Blackout'. I feel like all of these so-called music critics who have given this album poor ratings merely do not care for Britney, Pop music, or both and therefore they have a bias opinion. Any fan of Britney will absolutely love this album. So just ignore all of the haters, because what they think really doesn't matter anyways. Expand
  77. MattK.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent production and the normal catchy songs you would expect from any Britney album. 10/10 Superb.
  78. feliciaw.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    I've never liked Britney Spears...But I see that she is trying and is working on a better life for herself and her children...I just picked her cd up to get a taste....YUMMMM....the cd CIRCUS is steller!!!!
  79. aaronhardy
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Go out and buy this cd or you will regret it the pop queen is back on top!!!!!
  80. chrisw.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Best cd ever...im a mother of 7...plus 3 foster children....Britney has been thru a lot and I give credit to anyone who is trying to rebuild their lives!!! PLUS...the cd is just fierce...go out and get a copy of your own!!!!
  81. elined.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    BEST ALBUM EVER, great comeback!!!!
  82. Michael
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Wonderful comeback album. Her last three albums have been pop perfection!
  83. EdwardM.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    This Album rocksss. she's finaly back with her best album yet to date. i love her
  84. madic.
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    I love britney. love love love her.
  85. AdamM.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Love B. Love the album.
  86. A.j.P.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    This album(Circus) is by far Britneys' BEST WORK. She has shown the world that recovery is possible along with time and dedication. She is back on track and music and dancing is her element. She also is able to see her children and rebuilding a relationship with them. We should all be happy that she picked herself back up with help from dad and the families support!! I wish you well This album(Circus) is by far Britneys' BEST WORK. She has shown the world that recovery is possible along with time and dedication. She is back on track and music and dancing is her element. She also is able to see her children and rebuilding a relationship with them. We should all be happy that she picked herself back up with help from dad and the families support!! I wish you well Britney and everyone shuld buy your album!!! Expand
  87. DrewN.
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    Although Blackout set the bar incredibly high for a "comeback", Britney's managed to put together a great set of pop songs. A bit warmer than Blackout, with more poppy songs, Circus is fun and full of Britney attitude. Highlights: Unusual You, Circus, Shattered Glass, Kill The Lights.
  88. DonB.
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    I can't imagine wanting much more on what is mostly, but not entirely a dance-pop project. Blackout was a more focused project for a niche market and I think Circus will be embraced more by the masses. The entire cd doesn't sound the same and she mixed things up a bit.
  89. tOnnYa.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing album. womanizer = 10/10 at first i thought it was a cool song, but the more i listen to it, the more i like it Circus= 10/10 The production sounds like POM2, but it's just as fun as Slave... Out From Under= 9/10 lovely ballad, her vocals are great, but i'm not that into slow music kill the Lights= 10/10 Amazing track, clever lyrics, the New queen is HERE Shattered An amazing album. womanizer = 10/10 at first i thought it was a cool song, but the more i listen to it, the more i like it Circus= 10/10 The production sounds like POM2, but it's just as fun as Slave... Out From Under= 9/10 lovely ballad, her vocals are great, but i'm not that into slow music kill the Lights= 10/10 Amazing track, clever lyrics, the New queen is HERE Shattered Glass = 10/10 Good ol Pop!!!! If You Seek Amy=10/10 Amazing track, the best Track on Circus, Love it, Clever, and fun Unusual You= 10/10 A True Gem Blur= 9.5/10 In the style of "Early morning" with a Very Timbaland Kinda Beat. Mannequin=10/10 a new Experience, amazing track Mmm Papi=8/10 Fun track, silly yet catchy Lace and Leather=9/10 Very Late 70's-early 80's, Guitar solo, cool... My Baby=10/10 not really feeling the track, but the lyrics are beautiful, she really loves her babies Radar= 10/10 Fun amazing track, It's super cool P.S. i know haters will come and give Brit a 0 rating, saying she's talented and the usual stuff, i've read it all, anyway she worked hard, if you don't like it, give it at least 4 cause she really worked hard. Expand
  90. LeahC.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I love this CD! I just rushed to Target and bought the Deluxe Edition! Britney is and always will be amazing. I am so happy that she is focused and successful. I love you Britney!
  91. ElizabethH.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this album, definitely one of the best she's ever created and its one hell of a comeback.
  92. ChrisG.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    CIRCUS Is The Best Album 2 Date 4rm Miss BRITNEY SPEARS Exactly What Whe Need Out In The Music World All That beyonce and christina All Boring Not Interesting At All .We Needed BRITNEY Back and She Dam Sure Is Back . . . . BRITNEY'S CIRCUS Is BRILLIANT and Its a 10 out 10. . . Go BRIT!
  93. LJLJ
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    It's so good she sounds way better on this album than any other, and the songs are great. "Just don't call it a comeback"
  94. EvanW.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Great Album! Can't wait for tour!
  95. KevinR.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Great CD. Blackoput is much more original, but she sounds much better on Circus which is nice. It's more self-conscious of a CD, but there are some great moments: Unusual You, If You Seek Amy, Blur, and Out From Under is her best ballad since Everytime. GO BRITNEY!
  96. LoganC.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Honestly, this CD is pretty good, but not as good as blackout...very different, but good. She knows how to make some great hits and there's a song for every mood. It's nice to see her back above waters and alive again. Hopefully her tour will surprise us all! I luv this girl!
  97. RodrigoM.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    It loos like a Blackout 2 , but a lot better!
  98. TL.
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    Great Album...much better than Blackout. Only a couple songs I was not feelin', but overall I think she's back in true form. Circus, the song, is awesome!
  99. VinhP.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Catchy, Bouncy, Noisy, Nasty, Sexy, and Tasty.
  100. AW
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    This album seems to get Britney back to the path she was on, musically at least, before Blackout. Blackout, for me, was one of her best albums ever, if not her best album of all time, an album I could listen to the entire way through (except for that "Why Should I Be Sad" which was sort of out of place). This one is the same, with the one sort of "off" song being "Mmm Papi," which is just This album seems to get Britney back to the path she was on, musically at least, before Blackout. Blackout, for me, was one of her best albums ever, if not her best album of all time, an album I could listen to the entire way through (except for that "Why Should I Be Sad" which was sort of out of place). This one is the same, with the one sort of "off" song being "Mmm Papi," which is just a little too out there, but maybe it will grow on me. Otherwise, "Circus," "Kill The Lights," "If U Seek Amy," "Shattered Glass" are all amazing dance tracks, while "Out from Under" and "Unusual You" provide two of her best ballads ever (best since "Everytime," for sure). Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Halfway through, Circus shifts from defiant booty calls to subtler material; suddenly, it's a first-rate electro-pop album.
  2. Obviously all is still not perfect in Britney's world, but Circus still does more than enough to remind us of why she's one of the world's most iconic pop stars.
  3. Her voice--treated and autotuned to within an inch of its life throughout--still sounds like that of the Mouseketeer who brought us '...Baby One More Time’, with every breathy “Mmmm… yeah!” and all the oh-so-naughty lyrics, such as the ones above, sounding forced and unconvincing. Of course, on a large number of the tracks here she has the solidly cool-sounding (no doubt expensive) backdrop of futur’n’b pop.