City Beach

  • Record Label: Militia
  • Release Date: Feb 20, 2007
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RaymondR
    Mar 3, 2007
    9
    Being someone who grew up in Manhattan's Lower East Side the same time Jill was, I can hear & recognize all the musical influences informing her sound. I'm SOOOO GLAD that's she's still wrapping the tastefully passionate fingertips of her songs around our needful ears-you rock, Jill!
  2. MarkW
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    perfect album! beautiful !
  3. LolaN.
    May 9, 2007
    10
    Any critic that says Jill Cunniff or city beach is bad is absolutely insane!! Her album is one of the most down-to- Earth albums I've ever heard, and it's VERY original!!
  4. GinaK
    Sep 5, 2007
    10
    Perfect album. Sweet and lovely.
  5. MattD.
    Feb 22, 2007
    9
    This is an innovative, diverse CD that can get you through the cold of the rest of the winter. I can't believe some critics are getting on her lyrics. I think her lyrics are quite witty.
  6. May 25, 2013
    1
    Simple music, simple lyrics, indie music? no, i don't think so, maybe pop easy listening, come on... I don't recommend this album. How is it possible to rank it with a 10????
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Where Jackson occasionally seemed as if they were in a rush to jam as many styles into their sound as possible, Cunniff digs deeper into her idiosyncrasies, creating music that feels unhurried and flows easily.
  2. Alternative Press
    40
    Too many songs rely on sappy love-song cliches, bland arrangements or saccharine lyrics. [Mar 2007, p.135]
  3. Billboard
    70
    A delightfully breezy and refreshingly hopeful chill-out solo disc. [24 Feb 2007]