User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 349 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 349

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. peterw
    Aug 8, 2007
    3
    great music but cursed by the familiar indie music problem - an appauling singer. i dont usually mind if soemone cant sing but this guy seems to want to rub your nose in it until you tear to CD in half. if they could get a singer less influenced by, i dunno, that pretentious twat from pere ubu, they could be on a winner. as it stands id give it 8 for d music and zero for d vocals.
  2. cleopatraj
    Sep 28, 2005
    3
    Amen Jefferson L!
  3. JasonC
    Jul 14, 2005
    3
    umm... kinda boring... generic indie hooplah... dont see what all the fuss is about?
  4. JustinR
    Oct 9, 2005
    1
    Overhyped. Verrrrrrry overhyped.
  5. ryanf
    Aug 1, 2005
    2
    Clap Your Hands Say Yeah is a very boring and had no shelf life, it looses all of its very little charm quick. It is only egarded so highly because pitchfork rated it so highly. Sleater-Kinney and MIA have released music much better this year.
  6. GarrettS
    Sep 21, 2005
    2
    No one will care about this band in a year. HEY LOOK, IT'S MORE TRENDY INDIE ROCK! Some of these songs are decent (in that fruity, "wow why the hell do i find myself liking this" kind of way), then the singer starts in and completely blows them to crap. This one gets my vote for Comedy album of the year.
  7. pault
    Aug 10, 2005
    2
    Sorry, it's just not a good album. The vocals are annoying at best.
  8. tonyw
    Aug 10, 2005
    0
    totaly shit...
  9. chrism
    Aug 5, 2005
    0
    boring, unoriginal muisc. a singer who cannot sing. easily the most overrated piece of crap indie rock has produced in years.
  10. JeffersonL.
    Sep 25, 2005
    2
    Let's review the formula for a successful new release in the early 00s. Indie cred? Check. Gushing prasie from Pitchfork? Check. Pretentious "we're wacky... but still sensitive!" lyrics? Check. Based out of Brooklyn, NY? Check. Danceable rhythms, usually consisting of a repetitive bass drum downbeat paired with a tambourine? Check. Impossible to name drop without also mentioning Let's review the formula for a successful new release in the early 00s. Indie cred? Check. Gushing prasie from Pitchfork? Check. Pretentious "we're wacky... but still sensitive!" lyrics? Check. Based out of Brooklyn, NY? Check. Danceable rhythms, usually consisting of a repetitive bass drum downbeat paired with a tambourine? Check. Impossible to name drop without also mentioning Talking Heads or Television? Check. Vocals that would make Helen Keller cringe ("but they don't bother me because I TOTALLY get it")? Check. Ladies and gentlemen, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah! I wanted to like this album, I swear. I think it's wonderful that the band has yet to sign a huge record contract (hence the "2" rating). I'm sure the guys are nice people and all. I just hope they are ready for the overexposure backlash - here's the first taste, fellows. This is quite possibly the most overrated band since The Rapture. Remember them? Me neither. Expand
  11. SeanW
    Nov 15, 2005
    0
    Crap your hands shove it down your throat.
  12. rubberrubby
    Jun 30, 2005
    0
    rubbish!!!
  13. Garrison
    Jul 11, 2005
    1
    All Hype. Arcade Fire have talent and a good name. These guys probably paid pitchfork off. The Hold Steady and The New Lows are my choice for 2005. Decide for yourself.
  14. rag
    Jul 13, 2005
    1
    clap you hands say yeah: ouch.
  15. JCSmith
    Jul 13, 2005
    3
    Diet Radiohead. I just don't get it. I tried. I agree with The New Lows. Their FREE EP available at their site delivers. Hey...they even got a decent name. Props to bands with good names...and good music!
  16. whb
    Jul 6, 2005
    3
    After all the hype, I expected the precious whine of an overly ironic and hip indie band. I wasn't too far off. This record sounds like Gordon Gano ripping Thom Yorke melodies, but dressing it up in every current indie cliche and trend. It took no courage to make such a frivolous and obnoxious record as this.
  17. 400lb.teenager
    Aug 9, 2005
    0
    When will the crud-eating indie rock community stop embracing such derivative and retrogressive bands like this one? Oh wait, they're from Brooklyn, they must be good.
  18. CreativeTornado
    Sep 18, 2005
    0
    I'm a huge indie music fan... you won't find No Doubt on my iPod, but don't believe the hype of this disc. It's extremely pretentious and simply unlistenable. the vocals are freakin' grating (and not in a good way), the songs are boring, the production is very "now". Nothing new. Save your money.
  19. JakeM
    Sep 12, 2005
    1
    You know, I actually like most of these songs - usually right up to the point where starts braying like a donkey. Such cringe inducing whinging I haven't heard this side of the equally wretched Decemberists. Could all these lispy white postgrads do us all a favor and put away their instruments for, I don't know, a decade or two ( I don't just mean CYHSY but everyone of You know, I actually like most of these songs - usually right up to the point where starts braying like a donkey. Such cringe inducing whinging I haven't heard this side of the equally wretched Decemberists. Could all these lispy white postgrads do us all a favor and put away their instruments for, I don't know, a decade or two ( I don't just mean CYHSY but everyone of their ilk). Wake me up when the new Junior Senior comes out... Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. CYHSY’s songs ring of The Bends-era songwriting, but loungier, more playful, more comfortable in their own skin.
  2. The record is consistently, remarkably strong.
  3. If there are complaints to lobby against this remarkable debut, they lie mostly in its sound-quality. Namely, it sounds like what it was: self-recorded and self-released.