User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 349 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 349

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PatK.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    Peter W You have no heart or soul... his voice is perfect for this music/album. This CD is AMAZING.
  2. TomW
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Best album of the year. Don't believe those who are turned off by all the buzz around these guys. You don't need pitchfork to know that this album is wonderful.
  3. DrewK
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Based on the user reviews this seems to be a "love it or hate it" album. But after repeated listens I've got to wonder how many of the bad reviews are more a product of the current "indie backlash" trend than any qualms with the music itself. After you get past the wretched first track, there isn't a single weak spot on the album. Frankly, this type of consistency is astounding Based on the user reviews this seems to be a "love it or hate it" album. But after repeated listens I've got to wonder how many of the bad reviews are more a product of the current "indie backlash" trend than any qualms with the music itself. After you get past the wretched first track, there isn't a single weak spot on the album. Frankly, this type of consistency is astounding from a debut LP. If you like good music and you can adapt to a "unique" vocalist then you will probably end up loving this CD. CYHSY's sound is akin to what you'd get if you threw the Talking Heads, Radiohead and Modest Mouse into a blender with an E pill. The best thing about it is that despite being instantaneously listenable/catchy/accessible, it still actually grows on you. Expand
  4. MikeE
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    1 part David Byrne, 1 part Neutral Milk Hotel, and a dash of Kings of Leon. Give it three solid listens while your "cool" friends tell you how great this album is and you'll come around.
  5. RyanR
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing. So happy and full of emotion. It sounds like everyone and you hear so many influences, yet, it sounds so original and fresh.
  6. Breathe
    Jul 1, 2005
    8
    Nice album!
  7. franks
    Jul 14, 2005
    10
    Do I even need to say why?
  8. GraysonA
    Jul 17, 2005
    9
    This is wholly solid indie rock, combining the influences of many, leaving new listeners with something about as original as can be found in a world of copy cats.
  9. KJ
    Jul 5, 2005
    9
    Violent Femmes cover band? That's a pretty lazy comparison. Vocally they may have SOME similarities, lyrically, musically, emotionally, they have absolutely nothing in common with the Femmes. Believe it or not, we owe alot to that "pretentious online music mag." Without them, there are alot of incredible bands that would go unnoticed. (Arcade Fire, broken social scene are two that Violent Femmes cover band? That's a pretty lazy comparison. Vocally they may have SOME similarities, lyrically, musically, emotionally, they have absolutely nothing in common with the Femmes. Believe it or not, we owe alot to that "pretentious online music mag." Without them, there are alot of incredible bands that would go unnoticed. (Arcade Fire, broken social scene are two that immediately come to mind). Expand
  10. erike
    Jul 6, 2005
    10
    upon first listen, i was unimpressed. after 2 to 3 listens i came around and i am now addicted to this record, definitely along with the national one of the best of the year. if you do not like this album, you'd probably appreciate the new weezer or another crap U2 or coldplay record.
  11. syazuanr
    Aug 1, 2005
    9
    much needed wake up call to all those sleeping rock giants!
  12. maha
    Aug 23, 2005
    9
    New York bands come, New York bands go, some deserve more than they got, some are just pretty and consequently are launched as NME coverkids. But this lot, oh my! Exciting stuff, cant wait to hear what comes of them-lets hope they arent lost within the myriad of New York scenesters that never quite are...
  13. CarlY
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    Wonderful. Took a while for me to warm up to it, but it's really a great record. Don't wait--act now!
  14. JimS
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    This is an incredibly solid CD, especially for a band's first release. The middle of this album is packed solid, with such songs as "Details of the War" and "Heavy Metal" packing the most punch. Although it is impossible to understand what the hell this guys is singing, it really matters little in the end. The raw emotion, the feeling that this band cares about its music, not about This is an incredibly solid CD, especially for a band's first release. The middle of this album is packed solid, with such songs as "Details of the War" and "Heavy Metal" packing the most punch. Although it is impossible to understand what the hell this guys is singing, it really matters little in the end. The raw emotion, the feeling that this band cares about its music, not about popularity, run crisply through my earphones. Expand
  15. PedroL
    Jan 14, 2006
    9
    All song are great! (well... except #1 :P).
  16. DavidH
    May 5, 2006
    10
    In my humble opinion, the best album I've heard in years.
  17. MihaiV
    Sep 4, 2006
    9
    It took me almost a year to get into it, but now I'm hooked.
  18. RossJ
    Nov 10, 2005
    9
    A sweet, cathartic and life affirming album.
  19. peegee
    Dec 1, 2005
    9
    i initially thought the singer would turn me off to the album however, all of it together, it ends up being quite beautiful.
  20. Guigong
    Dec 20, 2005
    8
    Un disque qui est arruivé sur ma platine au hasard d'un achat spontané en magasin et un plaisir immense à savourer cette pop marquée d'influences 80. Grand disque!
  21. camdenl
    Oct 22, 2005
    9
    pretty cool how they sold the copies themselves through word of mouth. this album gets more intriguing with each listen
  22. dugdug
    Oct 25, 2005
    10
    This album knocks it out of the park. It is impossible to overhype it. I've had it for a month now and I still can't go three days without listening to it.
  23. paull
    Oct 27, 2005
    8
    i think that the 8.3 average score that this has gotten so far is fairly accurate. "heavy metal" and "gimme some salt" really drag and just feel pathetic next to "details of the war" and "in this home on ice." "over and over again" is a beautiful pop song that should be the track that this album is remembered by, but instead it will probably be "the skin of..." which is very fun and well i think that the 8.3 average score that this has gotten so far is fairly accurate. "heavy metal" and "gimme some salt" really drag and just feel pathetic next to "details of the war" and "in this home on ice." "over and over again" is a beautiful pop song that should be the track that this album is remembered by, but instead it will probably be "the skin of..." which is very fun and well written and such, but come on...that's a modest mouse guitar part for christ sakes, i haven't heard anything that obvious in years. "let the cool goddess" and "is this love?" are very solid but could be more...intense maybe? "upon this tidal wave" is a good closer, and the instrumentals are cute and aid the album's flow. this record is not as consistent as it could be, but it's highs are pretty breathtaking for a debut album. i have heard plenty of talking heads, i am not a big fan. i think alec from CYHSY should stick to the more "singing" singing he does here, which sounds alot like a gloriously drunken thom yorke to me, as opposed to this yelping business. i also really enjoyed the backround vocals while consistently wishing that the guitars be louder in the mix. a feeling i get with this record is that they have much more potential than say, the arcade fire...potential to make a better follow up album. and i think they will Expand
  24. BenecioZ
    Dec 9, 2005
    9
    By far the best song heard all year, The skin of my yellow country teeth, simply awesome
  25. FrancesA
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    I love this band. Such a fresh, new sound, makes you want to get up and groove!
  26. erin
    Oct 7, 2005
    9
    i listen againandagainandagainandagain
  27. RodolfoZ.E
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    It´s f**in´ great. CYHSY show us that good music don´t need a famous label or a big marketing. Good music goes all around the world for itself.
  28. hughm
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    There is a lot of Byrne to the vocals, which take a bit of getting used to, but overall an excellent album, with a great rhythm section.
  29. rubberrubby
    Jul 10, 2005
    10
    rubbish!!!
  30. ScottB
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    Amazing.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. CYHSY’s songs ring of The Bends-era songwriting, but loungier, more playful, more comfortable in their own skin.
  2. The record is consistently, remarkably strong.
  3. If there are complaints to lobby against this remarkable debut, they lie mostly in its sound-quality. Namely, it sounds like what it was: self-recorded and self-released.