Clear as Day - Scotty McCreery
Clear as Day Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut album for the 10th season American Idol winner was produced by Mark Bright.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Oct 5, 2011
    Overall, a solid debut from a young, still-maturing artist.
  2. Oct 4, 2011
    McCreery has plenty of deepening left to do as a performer, but he's off to a good start with this 12-track set about girls, God, family, and small-town life.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    The energy of this album sometimes outpaces the singer, who's best when he's deliberate, and whose voice isn't as robust as it could be on these songs.
  4. 58
    On Clear as Day, American Idol's latest champ sounds like he's 52, and not just because of the Randy Travis baritone coming from his Opie Taylor mouth.
  5. Oct 4, 2011
    His debut--a ho-hum jaunt through an America full of dog-eared Bibles, rugged pickup trucks and girls "hot as July, sweet as sunshine"--works overtime playing up his wide-eyed charm.
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    Apart from ["You Make That Look Good" and "Write My Number on Your Hand"], the songs and production demand that all energy come from young Scotty, who amiably sleepwalks through the tunes.
  7. Jan 10, 2012
    These are songs calculated to make an impact on the cliché idea of what a country fan is, playing off stereotypes of Jesus loving, hard working, hard loving life in the heartland, but there's no personality here.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 10, 2011
    Excellent CD from an excellent new artist! Scotty may be young but that simply means we're going to have a lot of time to enjoy his unique voice. There will be many more CDs from Scotty McCreery. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2011
    Clear as Day is an excellent debut album. The song selections are perfect for Scotty, and he takes advantage of those choices by providing top-notch vocals. Leaning more towards traditional country, yet offering us glimpses of contemporary's a great introduction to his talents. The album has a very good balance of ballads, mid-tempo and uptempo numbers. It's hard to pick a favorite...but one very positive sign for the song list of this CD is that at least four or five songs other than the two already released could very easily be sent out as singles. (Those would be: Walk in the Country, Clear as Day, Better than That, Write My Number on Your Hand, and You Make That Look Good.) It's rare these days when you can say that an album has no songs that you'd want to skip....all are excellent. Collapse
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    This is an excellent debut album from someone so young. It contains tons of potential hits that could launch Scotty's career as a country superstar. His voice sounds rich and toned, and he sings every word like he means it. His story-telling ability comes through as well. Expand