Clockwork Angels

Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy On
  1. Aug 3, 2012
    100
    Clockwork Angels is an extremely accomplished piece of music composed and performed absolutely flawlessly.
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    91
    The highs are higher, the lows are lower, and the dynamic is even more exhilarating.
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    This is the three-piece's most solid and compelling set of songs in years.
  4. It's modern sounding, and everything seems to fall into place; the lyrics, the concept, the music, the band chemistry, even the booklet artwork is great.
  5. 80
    It is a killer rock record with a great story.
  6. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Clockwork Angels sounds as mighty as its concept, with the well-balanced interaction amongst Lee, Lifeson and Peart.
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    A geekier and nerdier Rush? Yes, which is actually a very good thing.
  8. Jun 18, 2012
    80
    Clockwork Angels demonstrates why, after 36 years, Rush's fan base continues to grow. Its musical athleticism and calisthenic discipline are equaled only by its relentless creative drive and its will to express it in a distinct musical language.
  9. The Wire
    Oct 3, 2012
    70
    While Clockwork Angels is energised and intense, it neither sounds nor feels like heritage rock or a return to first principles. [Sep 2012, p.70]
  10. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    No amount of production dross can obscure the fact that Clockwork Angels still constitutes the strongest collection of Rush songs since the mid-'90s.
  11. Jun 21, 2012
    70
    They've produced the best LP they've made in over twenty years; I can easily see this attaining a cult following amongst devoted fans.
  12. Jun 18, 2012
    70
    [Not only] one of the band's Rushiest; it's also very good – frenetic and heavy, low on prog thought puzzles, high on power-trio interplay that could put guys half their age in the burn ward.
  13. Q Magazine
    Jul 27, 2012
    60
    The songcraft is so taut that whether this howls, drifts, pummels or floats, it remains utterly engaging. [Aug 2012, p.102]
  14. Aug 9, 2012
    40
    Synthesizers are set to beverage warmer – nearly nil – but where a back-to-basics drums/bass/guitar bash continues since peak return Vapor Trails, pinpoint production to extract hooks from hard rock homogeneity continues to elude them.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Staggering record from the legends. Geddy Lee's vocals are fantastic throughout, and the playing, of course, is unparalleled in monsterStaggering record from the legends. Geddy Lee's vocals are fantastic throughout, and the playing, of course, is unparalleled in monster musicianship. How do these guys do it? And Carnies is a wicked song; I don't care what anyone says. "A Wheel of Fate, A Game of CHANCE!" WAH WAH WAH wah wah ... and that thunderous drum groove. Peart's steampunk sci-fi world and the lyrics are fantastic, as well. I'm gonna get my nerd on and get the novel by Keven J. Anderson in September, fer sure. Full Review »
  2. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Rush's latest album "Clockwork Angels" hits home so hard, it doesn't even have words to describe. Oh wait, it does.

    Released in 2012, Rush's next leap into the big world of music blows everything else out of the water, by delivering this instant masterpiece of an album. Geddy's lines are more complex, Alex's solos are even better, and Neil's drumming... words cannot describe his drumming in the album. It's simply incredible! I first discovered this album from the 2011 video game Rocksmith, when Ubisoft (the developer/publisher) released their DLC pack for November 13th, 2012. Their bass expansion had released, and to celebrate, they had released this DLC pack containing five (5) songs from the definitive Canadian prog rock group. These songs included YYZ, Tom Sawyer, Red Barchetta (Moving Pictures), Subdivisions (Signals), and Headlong Flight (Clockwork Angels).
    The song opens up with a dual bass track, with the guitar and drums merging in simultaneously, and blowing me out of the water. Neil's lyrics again blow me away during the chorus.

    Me, being a bassist myself, love this song to death during the bass lines, and everything else during this entire album, and not just Headlong Flight. The self-titled song based on the album is also one to behold; there's also Carnies, The Wreckers, The Anarchist, and Caravan (Headlong Flight and Caravan are the two singles released from Clockwork Angels so far).

    Point being, and everything else aside, this album is surely a classic and should be in everyone's collection. 10/10
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Seriously? A lousy 74? I am very disappointed in you Metacritic. This album is amazing, with very complex musical writing and thoughtSeriously? A lousy 74? I am very disappointed in you Metacritic. This album is amazing, with very complex musical writing and thought provoking lyrics, all telling a story. I'm going to even say this is one of Rush's best albums. Full Review »