User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 4 out of 50

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Staggering record from the legends. Geddy Lee's vocals are fantastic throughout, and the playing, of course, is unparalleled in monster musicianship. How do these guys do it? And Carnies is a wicked song; I don't care what anyone says. "A Wheel of Fate, A Game of CHANCE!" WAH WAH WAH wah wah ... and that thunderous drum groove. Peart's steampunk sci-fi world and the lyrics are fantastic, as well. I'm gonna get my nerd on and get the novel by Keven J. Anderson in September, fer sure. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    9
    It usually takes me a while to like the new stuff from the Holy Triumvirate, but not this time. I already liked Caravan, BU2B, and Headlong Flight, but the real pleasant surprises are The Anarchist, Carnies, and The Wreckers. The other tunes on the album are okay in my book and may end up growing on me more. But to be already be a big fan of six of the new songs is really exceeding my expectations. This is without a doubt their heaviest record possibly ever, both musically and lyrically. "The pools of poison / the scarlet mist / that spill over into rage . . ." Are you kidding me Neil? Good thing the young kids don't listen to them all that much...just sayin. But I can't wait for the show and actually want to read the novelization although I initially laughed at the idea.

    Thanks, Rush, for so many years of great music and for continuing to churn it out.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Seriously? A lousy 74? I am very disappointed in you Metacritic. This album is amazing, with very complex musical writing and thought provoking lyrics, all telling a story. I'm going to even say this is one of Rush's best albums.
  4. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    @VonSeux,,, Are you tone deaf? This album is, Symphonic on so many levels of melodies and different time signatures that intertwine in each other,,,, Perfectly!
  5. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    So far I've only listened to the first 3 tracks and I can tell you this is a return to the Rush I grew up with. Amazing soundscapes with the message to match. Even more amazing, these guys can still destroy ANY band musically at their age. Thank you Geddy, Neil, and Alex for continuing to enrich my life with your music!
  6. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Rush are back, after the usual hiatus. Don't be hard on them though, after all they tour hard and long with no support for around 2 and a half hours every night. Their latest offering is believe it or not their 1st concept album. Think about it, 2112 and Hemispheres were concepts on one side only. This one has a story that lasts throughout. The first 2 tracks "Caravan" and "Brought up to believe" (sorry, i dont do text speak) were tantalisingly released last year prior to the Time Machine tour and after over a year still sound fresh and new. Then after those 2 we really get into the rest of what is a great sounding album. My personal highlights (in addition to the above) are "The Anarchist ", "Headlong Flight", "Wish them well" and "The Garden". That said every single song beneath between and behind are excellent with the exception of "Carnies" which IMO didn't really go anywhere as a stand alone song. The album is about as heavy and hard as Rush have been for many a year and there are a few hat-tips to their previous work. Headlong flight has elements of "Bastille Day", "The main monkey business" and "By-Tor". This song is i reckon the best track on the album, Geddy Lee has a bass run that is groovy, rocky, funky and if you listen it in the car will guarantee to make you put you foot down (dont go over the speed limit its dangerous), All in all the best Rush song for ages and an absolute triumph. Neils lyrics make it all the better. All in all in its a fantastic Rush track, music and lyrics married perfectly. If you are reading this then chances are you a Rush fan in which case you've probably already bought the album which makes my review pointless. Never mind, I WISH THAT I COULD LIVE IT ALL AGAIN. ,,/ Expand
  7. Jun 20, 2012
    9
    Phenomenal album, one of their best ever. Clockwork Angels sounds like the work of a band much younger than they really are (Lee and Lifeson are almost 59, Peart will be 60 in September). The passion, energy and heaviness are quite surprising for guys who have been together for 38 years. From Caravan to the beautiful The Garden, this is an effort that most modern rock bands wish they could make. Expand
  8. Jun 26, 2012
    10
    Incredible music from a vital band. Anyone who judges Rush is a negative way just does not know much about music. The trio are excellent individual performers combined to make interesting powerful rock and roll. Many highlights on this album, and very consistent throughout. There is no other band that puts out this quality of music so late in their careers. Listen to the old stuff, and then listen to Clockwork Angels...it ranks right at the top. Expand
  9. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    I cannot stop listening to this record: it is absolutely brilliant. As a concept album, it admirably achieves its goal of drawing you into the entire work, even as you enjoy the uniqueness of the individual songs. I will not compare it to "2112" or "Hemispheres" or any of their albums, which are "concept" albums in their own ways, but I will say that Clockwork Angels reveals a real cohesiveness on the lyrical level, on the musical level and on the emotional level. I have never experienced this with a Rush album to such a degree as I have with this album. Geddy's voice, while in spots is a little muddled, is overall very strong and clear. Alex's guitar is the most aggressive I have heard in a while, but at the same time, the most nuanced and beautiful. I am one who actually enjoys his atmospheric solos and there are plenty on this album -- but there are some great "real" solos, some of his best ever. Neil's drumming is phenomenal: it does not stand out as it did during the first half of their career, and, although some people see this as a "bad" thing, I find that he has attained a level of maturity and flexibility in his drumming that is incredible. And by "maturity" do not interpret "slow." Snakes and Arrows was "slow" but Clockwork Angels just drives and drives and drives, thanks to Neil's propulsion. Expand
  10. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Awesome album with a depth and layering that Master Trio in some time. Moving lyrics and stirring melodies (first time Rush with a string section on certain songs). While a concept album, the individual songs are loose glimpses of the journey of the life of an unnamed protagonist. Reading the liner notes and the prose introductions to each song really add to the understanding of these encounters - I'm excited to read the novelization. Another incredible epic by the world's most popular cult band - Go Rush! Expand
  11. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of Rush's best albums in years from a slightly biased fan of over 25 years. The Anarchist and Headlong Flight being the albums' best two songs. Rush continues to reinvent themselves with each release and tour with expectations of more to come following their well deserved Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame induction.
  12. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    The 5 year wait is finally over, and the wait was worth it. Rush returns with Clockwork Angels, which, in my opinion, has been their best album since Roll the Bones.
  13. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    This is Rush's best album since either 1985's Power Windows or 1989's Presto. Peart's songwriting and drums are better than ever, Geddy's bass is fine tuned, and Alex's guitar sounds so young. Immediately when I heard the second single from this album, Headlong Flight, I thought of Working Man. It had the pure shred and kick that old Rush had. Rush is back, friends.
  14. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    great new music from thee trio of rock. they give a nod to the old while being completely new and fresh on this album. they have continued what they started with Vapor Trails and Snakes and Arrows, which is returning to guitar, bass, and drums rock and roll. great concept with singularly strong songs.
  15. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    I came late to the Rush party - as a 31 year-old who liked their hits growing up but never really invested any time into listening to deep cuts or whole albums - but listening to Clockwork Angels was a pretty big revelation for me. If not my favorite album of the year, it is definitely in the top five. After seeing them perform the majority of the album live recently, I have an even greater regard for the thematic elements and crafty songwriting the trio implemented. My favorites would have to be "Carnies" and "the Wreckers", though the whole album is worth listening to start to finish every time. Expand
  16. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rush's latest album "Clockwork Angels" hits home so hard, it doesn't even have words to describe. Oh wait, it does.

    Released in 2012, Rush's next leap into the big world of music blows everything else out of the water, by delivering this instant masterpiece of an album. Geddy's lines are more complex, Alex's solos are even better, and Neil's drumming... words cannot describe his drumming in the album. It's simply incredible! I first discovered this album from the 2011 video game Rocksmith, when Ubisoft (the developer/publisher) released their DLC pack for November 13th, 2012. Their bass expansion had released, and to celebrate, they had released this DLC pack containing five (5) songs from the definitive Canadian prog rock group. These songs included YYZ, Tom Sawyer, Red Barchetta (Moving Pictures), Subdivisions (Signals), and Headlong Flight (Clockwork Angels).
    The song opens up with a dual bass track, with the guitar and drums merging in simultaneously, and blowing me out of the water. Neil's lyrics again blow me away during the chorus.

    Me, being a bassist myself, love this song to death during the bass lines, and everything else during this entire album, and not just Headlong Flight. The self-titled song based on the album is also one to behold; there's also Carnies, The Wreckers, The Anarchist, and Caravan (Headlong Flight and Caravan are the two singles released from Clockwork Angels so far).

    Point being, and everything else aside, this album is surely a classic and should be in everyone's collection. 10/10
    Expand
  17. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    Another amazing work of art from an amazing band. I was very pleased with the album, I listened to it twice all the way through, and never got tired of it. This album proves that Rush can last for many, many more years, and they can still rock like they used to.
  18. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Even better live (wait for the DVD/Blu-Ray this fall), this album really makes for a Rush return to form. From the lack of backing vocals and synths to superb production by Nick Raskulinecz (he has, this time, stripped them back almost totally), this makes for an end to end satisfying listen. The Garden is probably Rush's most moving song ever. A must buy for any rock fan.
  19. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    The album was in production for a few years, and they were even playing the first two songs off of the album during their Time Machine Tour in 2010. There were many reasons why the album could be bad, but at the same time many why it could be good. First of all Rush never made an album that didn’t have at least a few good songs, so the chances of them making something terrible to me was pretty much zero. They also made all of their albums somewhat fresh at least. But at the same time knowing that it was their 19th studio album, and considering how many they had done somebody could question if they still had any good ideas. Also the big build up before the release could lead to a disappointment. But what did I think?

    I think that it was the best album since Moving Pictures. It is awesome. It delivers all the stuff that makes Rush awesome, such as incredible drumming and lyric writing from Neil Peart, shredding guitar from Alex Lifeson, and amazing bass playing from Geddy Lee. It mixes in the style of old school Rush with their more heavy metal like albums like Vapor Trails or Test For Echo. It has songs that you will love the first time you hear them, and some that will grow on you. A few you can tell will be great right off the bat. But there are a few I feel like I need to talk about specifically.

    The first song on the album is “Caravan.” It is definitely one of the best songs off of the album. It is one of those Rush songs where it starts off with an interesting intro, and then suddenly Neil come sin on the drums, and it gets awesome. It is definitely a song that gets more and more incredible as it goes on. It has an amazing song structure, with several different parts that all go together perfectly, and the writing is perfect. The chorus is great, but simple only repeating one line “I can’t stop thinking big.” The solo is the best part, because that is where it really sounds like old school Rush. It has a shredding guitar backed up behind a very fast bass from Geddy Lee, which is very common with Rush. Overall a classic Rush song that is perfect.

    “Carnies” is another great one that rocks hard every moment. After about 20 seconds of carnival noises, a heavy distortion guitar kicks in, and you are psyched by the awesomeness of the song. The rest of the song is exhilarating, and just a great head banging song. This is probably the most exciting song on the album if you ask me. It is an even better concert song. Overall it is great.

    Another great song is “Headlong Flight,” which is about an epic journey. That is a song that has a lot of everything. Tons of bass playing, guitar playing, and drumming. It is a song that people will probably jump up and down to in concert, and will air drum to Neil Peart. It starts off with an amazing bass riff, and right there you know that the song will be great. It is a long song that rocks harder and harder as it goes along. Extremely creative, and beautifully written. The parts of the song are put together perfectly, and is truly a one of a kind Rush song. In my opinion one of the all time great Rush songs.

    The 2nd best track off of this album in my opinion is “Wish Them Well.” It is one of those Rush songs where you know it will be great right off the bat, because it really sounds like the type of stuff they did in the 70’s. It is one of those songs where Neil wrote some very meaningful lyrics. He is singing about how you shouldn’t judge people, because that hurts you, and it makes you bad. He is also saying be glad you aren’t like them, and ignore them. Very meaningful lyrics that people should pay attention too.

    The final track on the album is “The Garden.” Pretty much all the songs on the album before it were fast and crazy, so slowing it down for one final song on the record was a pretty good idea. It is one of those Rush songs that you may not like first, but you will grow to love. It has very deep lyrics, which are very hard to understand. The chorus is “The measure of a life is the measure of love and respect. So hard to earn so easily burned.” How much deeper can you get then that? Neil Peart is in my opinion atrociously underrated when it comes to writing lyrics. I wish I could write like him. It is the lyrics of this song that gets to me I find. Also the music, and great structure I find suithing. A really good slow and long Rush song.

    Every song on the album is great, but those are the ones that really stick out to me. I feel like they are back to writing the type of stuff that they did in the 70’s, but they are at the same time still in their metal phase. These guys are just as good as they were back in the day, and maybe even better. Rush always rocks, and the fact that they are only considered the world’s greatest cult band stuns me. They deserve way more credit then they get. But they have a cult following of people like me who see all of their greatness. Phenomenal band, and phenomenal album.
    Expand
  20. May 21, 2014
    9
    Rush makes a good album like always. All the music sounds great, the story is interesting, and album cover is very nice to look at. If you like Rush, or just rock music in general. Then you will love this.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    70
    While Clockwork Angels is energised and intense, it neither sounds nor feels like heritage rock or a return to first principles. [Sep 2012, p.70]
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    40
    Synthesizers are set to beverage warmer – nearly nil – but where a back-to-basics drums/bass/guitar bash continues since peak return Vapor Trails, pinpoint production to extract hooks from hard rock homogeneity continues to elude them.
  3. Aug 3, 2012
    100
    Clockwork Angels is an extremely accomplished piece of music composed and performed absolutely flawlessly.