Closer to the Truth Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first full-length studio release for the pop singer/actress in over 12 years includes production from Machopsycho, Billy Mann, Paul Oakenfold, Tim Powell, Mark Taylor, and TMS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    It is a little ragged around the edges at times, but this is the sound of careworn experience, not of a performer too long in the tooth who ought to hang up the microphone.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    The album is split down the middle with the first half made up of shimmering, supercharged dance tracks that have disco and house influences and seem destined to fire up clubgoers with their soaring choruses.... [The final four] songs aren't as successful, thanks to the somewhat syrupy melodies and clichéd lyrics, but also because Cher's vocals sound a little worn and frayed around the edges.
  3. Oct 9, 2013
    While Closer to the Truth is smartly frontloaded with a heap of glossy South Beach bangers--including the fiery, heavenly heave of “Take It Like a Man,” the noir throb of “Dressed to Kill,” and “Red,” which hits you like a rum punch to the face--the second wind of her 26th album, presumably designed for the drive home from the club, seems to insist she’s more than a remix ingredient or Auto-tune fodder.
  4. Oct 10, 2013
    The first half of the album is a similar campstravganza [as single Woman's World]--Take It Like a Man indeed--but the second peters out into MOR.
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    It's with some disappointment, but not much surprise, to discover that the singer's 26th studio album, Closer to the Truth, not only perpetuates this exhausted (and exhausting) formula, but fails to attempt to reinvent it in even the most minute ways.
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    A functional album it may be but Closer To The Truth does nothing to puncture the illusions which so many love about Cher and that, ultimately, may be the best anyone can expect at this point.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 22, 2013
    Waiting is over, Cher released her 26th album breaking new records. She tried in this CD, to mix the sounds of the songs with dance and ballads, and some of them are country oriented. "Woman's World" was a really good choice for a single, but it is certainly not the best song here. She has wonderful pieces as "Sirens", "Dressed to Kill" & "Take it Like a Man", and the cover for Miley Cyrus' track "I Hope You Find It", in which one Cher shows hidden talents in her voice. It is an excellent album for everyone, for people who have hear her music, and people who haven't. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    This album confused me in the beginning. Being a cher fan i wondered why she would cover a miley cyrus song. I also wondered why the lead single was womans world when there were so many better songs on the album. As other critics have said the front end of the album is loaded with uptempo songs while the second half is ballad heavy. So depending upon what mood your in you know when to play what types of music. Personally my favorite track was dressed to kill which is an upbeat dance number. Put it this way, if you loved cher and her albums believe and living proof she takes her career a step beyond. You will love the new material. I love it Expand
  3. Jan 16, 2014
    I expected more. There were great expectations about the new album of the "Goddess of Pop" but I'm disappointed. I thought it would an album in style "Believe" and ended up getting being a album in style "Living Proof" but nothing that took away the power of Cher. I'm excited for the "Dressed to Kill Tour". Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2013
    Cher's style of singing in "Closer to the Truth" comes off as if she's leading an army of misunderstood followers in her various causes. Hers is a brutish, preachy, overbearing voice, not at all feminine or beautiful. It's got a harshness that repels me, but I know it must be angelic to her legion of fans. The first seven of the eleven tracks are familiar EDM anthems, many with autotuning manipulations, breaking no new ground there. The final four tracks have varying tempos but almost always get that dance throb thing going again and show no versatility of vocal variation, still brutish though at times soft. And if you get the three bonus tracks you're back to the EDM party again. Fans may love this stuff but it's done nothing to win me over. Expand