Closer

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KrisM.
    Jun 2, 2002
    10
    Closer is just more proof of the fact that BTE is capable of anything musically. Their range is expanded even further on this album, as they venture into new rhythms & approaches. There's nothing like BTE live, though, so try to catch them on tour.
  2. DerekC
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    Great CD...one where at the end it leaves you asking, "Is it over already?"
  3. Amanda
    Oct 23, 2001
    9
    Although DELUXE is my favorite, CLOSER is a the type of CD you can pop in your cd player, take off down the road, and be perfectly contented. And I think that says a lot.
  4. DuaneR
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    Best collection of Ezra yet, with some great variety and excellent rips. Soft tunes and toe tappers, sing-alongs and emotional thinkers. I relisten to it just so I can relearn the words and sing with it in my car. Pick this one up, you'll thank me!
  5. adamr
    Aug 21, 2004
    10
    one of the single best albums i've ever heard. it's hard to find anything i dont like about it.
  6. DaveS.
    Oct 12, 2001
    9
    By far their most solid album start to finish. The album has some great radio-friendly songs and should have Elektra wishing they had dropped someone else.
  7. KristiM
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    Closer is the epitome of excellent, Kevin's words are incredible and the music is sensational. there are some fun summertime type of songs and some beautiful ones dealing with life anew and death and dying. This is so highly recommended!!!!!
  8. Christine
    Sep 17, 2003
    10
    this is by far one of my favorite albums. i could listen to this cd on repeat ALL day and there are few cds that i can say that about.
  9. em
    Mar 13, 2005
    10
    awesome! just awesome!
  10. VictoriaK.
    Aug 15, 2002
    10
    The guys from BTE are AMAZING. Kevin Griffin is a lyrical genius whos songs can relate to almost everyone at some pt. in their lives. I think they've done a Stellar job with the new album, evolving and expanding their talents.
  11. JonathanP.
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    BTE continues to put out excellent music, even after almost 15 years. I think everyone should buy this cd- it will not disappoint!
  12. Michael
    Apr 14, 2005
    10
    Great Album
  13. TeresaF
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Awesome album
  14. Feb 4, 2015
    8
    Menage a Quatre

    You may like Closer because of its flawed characters and their doomed relationships. I like it because it's square. The assorted combinations of love and friendship, scorn and resentment, among two males and two females are literally geometrical. Typically, the dependable love triangle pits three characters together, often a heterosexual convention establishing a male
    Menage a Quatre

    You may like Closer because of its flawed characters and their doomed relationships. I like it because it's square. The assorted combinations of love and friendship, scorn and resentment, among two males and two females are literally geometrical. Typically, the dependable love triangle pits three characters together, often a heterosexual convention establishing a male lead zig-zagging between two females, or a female lead choosing between two male suitors. What if we include an extra character? How many triangles can be made with four individuals? Four! And Closer expertly covers them all. Next time you see it, draw out a square with each character occupying a corner. Then connect each of the couplings and triangles as they occur, beginning with Julia-Jude-Natalie. Jude falls for Natalie, introduces her to Julia who gets intimate with her camera. The Jude-Clive-Julia triangle is a clever one. Clive is introduced when Jude seduces him online pretending to be Julia who he meets at the aquarium. Often when a movie script or stage play adheres to a strict formula, it turns out flat and predictable. Not Closer. Applying a quadrangular network forces each character to cover all the bases, tagging up every way possible, pushing each juncture to the limit.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Unfortunately, this newest attempt at expanding the group's musical horizons is more a lateral move than a vertical one, and the same problems that have plagued Better Than Ezra since Deluxe -- mawkish, derivative material -- undermine this effort as well.
  2. 60
    There are a few winners here among the brick-and-mortar alt-flak -- which the band is wholeheartedly capable of as well...
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The hip-hop of "Recognize" and "Extra Ordinary" won't age well, but there are better moments... [24/31 Aug 2001, p.136]