• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Coexist Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second release for the British indie pop band was inspired by club music.

Top Track

Angels
Light reflects from your shadow It is more than I thought could exist You move through the room Like breathing was easy If someone believed me They... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The world adored the xx's Mercury Prize-winning debut album xx. Coexist is, if anything, an even finer piece of work.
  2. Uncut
    Sep 14, 2012
    90
    Coexist is a masterpiece. [Oct 2012, p.80]
  3. The end result is a quieted, more suppressed record that steps delicately from one note to the next and shines even more of a spotlight on the twin vocal sentiments of longing and crumbled romance.
  4. Sep 5, 2012
    80
    With a signature sound established at the first time of asking, The xx's challenge was to both expand their palette and satisfy the demands of a huge audience. And through refinement rather than reinvention, they've succeeded in singular style.
  5. 75
    At a certain point, the xx need to turn off that reverb pedal and learn to sing above a whisper - but I'll be damned if they haven't worked their magic again.
  6. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    This album certainly sounds more produced, but the band's investment in studio time mostly means sighing washes of prismatic reverb rather than a new architecture of synths and drums. Still, many of the album's best moments are its most... well, not beat-driven, but beat-bedazzled.
  7. Sep 12, 2012
    40
    Where xx was an album that got its hooks in you, Coexist becomes a somnolent atmosphere-in-itself, in which hooks are conspicuous by their absence. It all works best when the tempo rises (relatively speaking), as on "Tides" and "Swept Away;" still, the pulse races placidly.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    In the end, Coexist is a love letter, simple, honest and beautiful. "Missing", the album's finest track, you hear Oliver more passionate thatIn the end, Coexist is a love letter, simple, honest and beautiful. "Missing", the album's finest track, you hear Oliver more passionate that ever, the emotion in his voice is truly captivating. Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2012
    9
    It isn't as strong as xx, but that album was exquisite and fresh. Coexist's merits are that it pushes the boundaries minimalism whileIt isn't as strong as xx, but that album was exquisite and fresh. Coexist's merits are that it pushes the boundaries minimalism while incorporating subtle house beats and deconstructed guitar riffs. Those hoping for The xx to move in a new direction will be disappointed, but those hoping for them to refine their sound will be delighted. Their next album will have to offer something bolder, however because this album has pretty much used up everything that composes the coolness of their sound. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2015
    9
    While more mellow than the debut, it is just as honest. In some ways, I think I actually like this more than their self-titled. Unfortunately,While more mellow than the debut, it is just as honest. In some ways, I think I actually like this more than their self-titled. Unfortunately, it is best listened to in parts at the time. The songs can run together if listened to all at once. "Sunset," "Angel," and "Missing" are the stand outs, imo. Get it. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2012
    7
    The new album from The xx titled 'Coexist' is lovely sounding and has it's moments but overall this record is otherwise pretty forgettableThe new album from The xx titled 'Coexist' is lovely sounding and has it's moments but overall this record is otherwise pretty forgettable because it is all drowned out by beats and doesn't focus enough on the lyrics Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2015
    7
    I don't think Coexist is quite as good as their first album, but it still has some nice moments. This one is a lot more subdued andI don't think Coexist is quite as good as their first album, but it still has some nice moments. This one is a lot more subdued and introspective, so some of the songs aren't as memorable as I would like, but at the same time, I wouldn't say there's anything here that's bad. It's all a very consistent relaxing and melancholy mood, so I can see myself listening to this one a lot more. It would be better though if more songs had the same impact as Fiction or Swept Away, for example. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2012
    6
    Not much in terms of dynamic contrast, but if you're in need of a mellow album you could do much worse. The vocals and instrumentation is niceNot much in terms of dynamic contrast, but if you're in need of a mellow album you could do much worse. The vocals and instrumentation is nice and light. A high point is the track "Reunion". Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2012
    0
    **** boring. Don't waste your time thinking that this is something brilliant or epic. This album lacks everything that made their first album**** boring. Don't waste your time thinking that this is something brilliant or epic. This album lacks everything that made their first album worthwhile. This record sounds lazy and bored. I imagine the band felt the same while making this. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews