Cold Roses

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 99
  2. Negative: 2 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    May 5, 2005
    1
    He loves himself and it shows
  2. TheBoobieSongGuy
    May 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic. Very warm, yet upbeat.
  3. DaveB
    May 12, 2005
    8
    The best thing you can do with this CD is not try to compare it to Adams last few releases -- he still writes great songs, whether you call it country, rock, or whatever else. Though it lacks some of modern rock influences that we heard in tracks like "Afraid Not Scared" and "Political Scientist," maybe this CD is a wise progression in his still young career. The best part about releasing The best thing you can do with this CD is not try to compare it to Adams last few releases -- he still writes great songs, whether you call it country, rock, or whatever else. Though it lacks some of modern rock influences that we heard in tracks like "Afraid Not Scared" and "Political Scientist," maybe this CD is a wise progression in his still young career. The best part about releasing a double album is that the best songs seem to stand out just a little more...for better or for worse. His voice still sounds just as great after years of drinking and smoking, too, which gives him a definite advantage. Maybe he's secretly a closet yuppie bastard, try to catch him in a Volvo sometime -- Expand
  4. StephenP
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Another well crafted, well written album from the best true singer songwriter recording music today.
  5. MikeJ
    May 9, 2005
    1
    This is unoriginal but that can be overlooked if it were sincere, which it is not.
  6. martybee
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    LOVE it
  7. JakeS
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    Top Quality
  8. TK
    Jul 6, 2005
    7
    Pretty good, but too much filler. If Adams had dropped several of the crappier songs and made this a 10 track album it would have been much better and much more cohesive as an album.
  9. SeamusS
    Oct 3, 2005
    9
    The Only Thing Keeping It From A 10, is the fact that instead of being an imediate masterpeice, it takes time to grow on you. Some songs will Jump out at you at first, where as others take longer to grow on you. Regardless, its hard not to love this ambitious and great album.
  10. marks
    May 10, 2005
    10
    this isn't really fair for me to judge, since i love every ryan adams song ever written
  11. LucaB
    May 12, 2005
    10
    Excellent album. Probably better than Gold.
  12. MikeE
    May 12, 2005
    9
    Ryan Adams best attribute is his diversity among his albums. Cold Roses has convinced me that no matter what his album may be classified as, it will not be a disappointment. 3 albums in one year? This fan is spoiled!
  13. MikeB
    May 17, 2005
    9
    Simply impressive and continues to draw you in.
  14. IanO
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Fine return to form if some way melancholic. Best enjoyed with a late evening drink following into an early morning companion. A Magpie of American Music wooing us like a Mockingbird. Well Done Ryan. Let it ride...
  15. BenJ
    May 5, 2005
    8
    Hurrah! Another Ryan Adams album for critics to grumble about...and this time it's a double, so they can really give him a kicking now. Well, I love this - played it continually already and it's really impressed me. Beautiful stuff.
  16. JasonA
    May 5, 2005
    8
    I'm not going to say that this album is a return to form as I never thought that Ryan lost his form. Rock n Roll and Love is Hell were both really good solid albums or so I thought. They were a departure but I can appreciate the fact that Ryan has alot of diffrent influences to draw from. Alot of artists don't have the courage to do what they want artistically. Ryan Adams does I'm not going to say that this album is a return to form as I never thought that Ryan lost his form. Rock n Roll and Love is Hell were both really good solid albums or so I thought. They were a departure but I can appreciate the fact that Ryan has alot of diffrent influences to draw from. Alot of artists don't have the courage to do what they want artistically. Ryan Adams does and I for one appreciate that. All of that said and I guess some may say that "Cold Roses" is a return to Ryan's "Heartbreaker" days. I hate to put this album in a genre but it would, to me, fall into the alt-country vein. It's produced really well but not over produced which I think "Gold" was. I just bought the cd two days ago and I don't think that there is a bad track on the album. Some tracks are better than others of course and I think had this album been cut down to one disc, 12 tracks it would have been much more coherant and cohesive. There are 5 songs here that I think rate among his best; Sweet Illusions, Magnolia Mountain, Let It Ride, Meadowlake Street, and Easy Plateau. If you're a fan of Ryan or alt-country then this album is a must. One of my top 5 records of the year so far! Expand
  17. Matt
    May 5, 2005
    6
    This album is far too long. If it'd have been one disc, it might have rated an 8, but, as is, it mostly shows how much Adams needs someone to rein him in.
  18. KatieH
    May 5, 2005
    8
    a really nice return to what he does best, but the addition of, i dunno, middle-age? whil he's not as spontaneous or heart-on-sleeve as heartbreaker or demolition, it's still a delicious collection that, in its length, isn't all that unhandleable. memorable melodies, challenging new ryan.
  19. PattonF
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Fantastic effort by Ryan Adams creates a very listenable and innovative record. His best since 2000's heartbreaker.
  20. DanN
    May 6, 2005
    9
    I totally agree with Jason A. I dont think this is a return to form as I dont feel RA ever left it. Sure he's had a hit and miss here and there, but all of his albums have stand out tracks that a lot of artist wish they could even come close to creating. Cold Roses does have a few songs that probably aren't his best work, but by no means are they poor. What does make this album I totally agree with Jason A. I dont think this is a return to form as I dont feel RA ever left it. Sure he's had a hit and miss here and there, but all of his albums have stand out tracks that a lot of artist wish they could even come close to creating. Cold Roses does have a few songs that probably aren't his best work, but by no means are they poor. What does make this album fantastic though are the stand out tracks, of which there are too many to mention. If you have any love for alt. country or great music in general, this album is highly recommended. Expand
  21. uriahh
    May 6, 2005
    10
    The album is beautiful and amazing!! the best album of the year so far and the guy who gave it a one is incredibly narrow-minded!
  22. MarkB
    May 8, 2005
    9
    For me, his best since Gold.Probably could have been cut down to 1 CD,but the majority of songs are vintage Adams. Hope this is a sign of things to come.
  23. serM
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    Una maravilla de disco. Lo mejor de 2005.
  24. ChrisP
    Jun 3, 2005
    9
    I think this is a very good, if not great, album. It definitely harkens back to early Neil Young and Greatful Dead, but it has an authentic feel. I love it.
  25. GretschGuy
    Jun 30, 2005
    8
    The two CD's may be alittle over zealous, but the songs are stronger than low marking critics are indicating. This moody country rock pleases me each time I listen to it. The production is often very live sounding which is a bonus in this age of "produce the sh*t out of it". The guitars sing and cry on this album more so than almost any other RA work. Great for driving home with the The two CD's may be alittle over zealous, but the songs are stronger than low marking critics are indicating. This moody country rock pleases me each time I listen to it. The production is often very live sounding which is a bonus in this age of "produce the sh*t out of it". The guitars sing and cry on this album more so than almost any other RA work. Great for driving home with the sun setting behind you and the window down just a little...escapism at its best. Expand
  26. SeaChangeMilo
    Jun 4, 2005
    10
    Awesome!
  27. JasonR
    Jul 5, 2005
    10
    The best album of the year so far. It's great to hear him doing the country stuff again. I can't wait to hear his other 2 albums due out later this year.
  28. RichardW
    Nov 12, 2005
    10
    I must say that I cannot get enough of Ryan Adams. I'm sick of reviewers saying that he should self edit and not put out his vision in whole. I'd rather hear another song from Ryan than an over produced pop album; therefore, I have to say that Cold Roses is a welcome addition to my playlist.
  29. PeterM
    Oct 5, 2005
    9
    I love this album... there is only about one weak song on each disk. Its beautifully performed and producedand they're really strong songs
  30. Quill
    May 11, 2005
    6
    Im not so sure why everyone is giving this album full marks cause from here it sounds very patchy indeed. I've LOVED everything Ryan has done - even most of Rock N Roll, Love Is Hell was incredibly beautiful for the most part despite what people said. i really tried to embrace this in its entirity, but three days of non-stop play has just proven that this has some inexpicably Im not so sure why everyone is giving this album full marks cause from here it sounds very patchy indeed. I've LOVED everything Ryan has done - even most of Rock N Roll, Love Is Hell was incredibly beautiful for the most part despite what people said. i really tried to embrace this in its entirity, but three days of non-stop play has just proven that this has some inexpicably included weak points. very frustrating (and i know everyone else has said this too) that he didnt throw out at least 4 of these tracks. When another 'understated', riff-less track begins im just compelled to skip to the tracks that have a little life. Where before it sounded like Ryan needed to write the songs, alot of these just sound like he was happy to be out there again and dug up some old unused material. Hmm... its ok to stick on for background music and ill listen to it cause its Ryan but i wont be nearly as hooked as i was to any of his other stuff. The 2 Openers - Neil Young inspired 'Magnolia Mountain' and Orbison-esque 'Easy Plateau' are really lovely, especially the latter. Expand
  31. PeeKay
    May 10, 2005
    9
    The joy of his pain is everywhere. Definitely one of his best and, despite his inability to perform live to any consistent degree, he remains one of the best songwriters of our day.
  32. SimonP
    May 18, 2005
    8
    Being a double album, with so many songs, it really takes time to get familiar with the whole thing - there's so much stuff going on! After a couple of weeks I'm really loving it.
  33. KenH
    May 22, 2005
    9
    I was never much of an R.A. fan but one listen to "Easy Plateau" led to the purchase of what will inevitably be One of the Top Discs of 05!
  34. ZachL
    May 23, 2005
    8
    While this album does have a few misses (What do you expect? It is a double disk after all.), the strong points are so strong they just make you forget about the weak points. Hopefully he can keep this up on his other two albums that are supposed to be out this year.
  35. willl
    May 24, 2005
    9
    Freeking awsome album.....though it coulda been trimmed down, i hate 2-discers, but still amazing album
  36. BradR
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Ryan Adams returns to the brilliant form of his breakthough, "Hearbreaker". Although his songwriting has always been tops, "Cold Roses" has a cohesion and flow that previous albums had been missing. (Although that is as much, perhaps more, Lost Highways fault as Adams'). This is an album to be listened to obsessively, as it trades immediately noticeable hooks and phrases for a Ryan Adams returns to the brilliant form of his breakthough, "Hearbreaker". Although his songwriting has always been tops, "Cold Roses" has a cohesion and flow that previous albums had been missing. (Although that is as much, perhaps more, Lost Highways fault as Adams'). This is an album to be listened to obsessively, as it trades immediately noticeable hooks and phrases for a lasting emotional allure. Expand
  37. MatthewO
    May 7, 2005
    9
    awesome album, evry trrack is amazing, what you'd come to expect of the guy.
  38. JonathanS
    May 7, 2005
    9
    A return to texture and depth of Dear Chicago and Bar Lights. Very encouraging.
  39. MichaelH
    May 8, 2005
    9
    Excellent set of disks. When most people critique music, they tend to come at from a pure listener's point of view. I've read the reviews of this effort that talk about trimming it down to one disk or that some of the songs are "self-indulgent", whatever that means. For me, I tend to look at music as a musician. Does the music emotionally fit the lyrics; are there too many Excellent set of disks. When most people critique music, they tend to come at from a pure listener's point of view. I've read the reviews of this effort that talk about trimming it down to one disk or that some of the songs are "self-indulgent", whatever that means. For me, I tend to look at music as a musician. Does the music emotionally fit the lyrics; are there too many instruments in the mix to get a clean sound; are the vocals pitched to fit the emotion of the song; etc. This effort is Adams' best since Heartbreaker. The music is original (even though, like others, I can get a whiff of GD's American Beauty here) and the playing, I think, is better than before. I'm looking forward to the next album this summer! Expand
  40. CeesJanB
    May 9, 2005
    10
    Return to form? Love is hell was briliant! And this is too!
  41. Cosmo
    Jun 1, 2005
    8
    Weak points, strong points? Bollocks! You are all Morons! There is nobody making music today like this guy. He puts out album after album without care. He takes risks! Give the dog a bone. Bravo Mr. Adams - Keep on trucking brother - I feel your struggle.
  42. Kane
    Jun 6, 2005
    10
    Never liked Adams either, but this album is up there with American Beauty for me. The album tracks even look like dead songs: Magnolia Mountain, Cherry Lane, Meadowlake Street, Easy Plateua, Cold Roses, If I Am A Stranger. Maybe I'm imagining it but these all sound like Dead titles to me.
  43. ToddR
    Jul 21, 2005
    9
    A smooth stew of psychadelic country music.
  44. Beaubeck
    Aug 16, 2005
    5
    I listened to all 18 tracks and jotted down track titles I wanted to hear again. Hey, wait a second, this here piece of paper is BLANK! After Gold, I was expecting a masterpiece. Still waiting, and losing patience.
  45. Will
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    It is long, yes, but the more you listen the more you enjoy. Nearly two years after its release and I am listening to it more than ever!!
  46. Greer
    May 14, 2005
    10
    Raw, emotional and real--this is a flawless album by Adams. I would recommend this to anyone.
  47. slateh
    May 23, 2005
    10
    simply amazing
  48. CurtisN
    May 27, 2005
    9
    I liked it right away. Sweet Illusions' has it all. I can tell I will like this album more and more. It doesn't have the bullshit homage to the shittly Rolling Stones (Gold)
  49. DannyC
    Jul 26, 2005
    7
    It is very hard for me to not be biased when talking about Ryan Adams because I really enjoy his music. After the first few spins of Cold Roses, I was pleasantly surprised that Ryan has gone back to making the kind of music he feels most comfortable making. I was also glad to see that he has decided to be part of a band, instead of running solo. What it comes down to with this double It is very hard for me to not be biased when talking about Ryan Adams because I really enjoy his music. After the first few spins of Cold Roses, I was pleasantly surprised that Ryan has gone back to making the kind of music he feels most comfortable making. I was also glad to see that he has decided to be part of a band, instead of running solo. What it comes down to with this double album is what it usually comes down to with Ryan records and that is that he has given us some of his best work and then just some work. Ever since Heartbreaker, it seems that every album he puts out has some truly brilliant songs but then it has some others that are just ok. With Cold Roses I have to agree with alot of journalists, which I hate to do, in that it wouldn't hurt to cut out 5 or 6 of the songs to make it a very strong album. Songs like "Easy Plateau", "Sweet Illusions", the title track, and especially "Let it ride" are great, but when I hear songs like "Beautiful Sorta" I wonder what he was thinking. It might be one the worst things he has put out. So I will sum up in saying that I have high hopes for the next two albums slated for release this year, still half expecting something that will live up to Heartbreaker. I heard Ethan Johns is producing atleast one of the next records so there is a good start. Expand
  50. bilyc
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    really good
  51. KamrenJ
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    What a masterpiece. By the time the first track 'Magnolia Mountain' ends you will be transported to another world where everything appears to be out of focus yet entrancingly beautiful. The album's length does appear tedious at times, but such as life. By the time the bridge of 'Life is Beautiful' explodes all over your body you will know that you've What a masterpiece. By the time the first track 'Magnolia Mountain' ends you will be transported to another world where everything appears to be out of focus yet entrancingly beautiful. The album's length does appear tedious at times, but such as life. By the time the bridge of 'Life is Beautiful' explodes all over your body you will know that you've witnessed something absolutely remarkable just as the final track-'Friends'-of the album cradles you in it's arms and slowly rocks you into a hypnotic peace of mind as though to help you recover from the most intense sexual experience of your life. I believe that "Cold Roses" will pass the test of time to sit upon the shelf next to Neil Young's "Tonight's the Night" and "On the Beach", The Grateful Dead's "American Beauty" and "Workingman's Dead", and (most importantly) Gram Parsons' "Grievous Angel." This album is untouchable. What a masterpiece. Expand
  52. PopMattersSucks
    Dec 15, 2005
    9
    The guy that wrote the Pop Matters review is an idiot. This cd renewed my interest in Adams after I lost interest. His best since Heartbreaker.
  53. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    I think Ryan Adams has a problem with putting out a solid album. Heartbreaker was pretty damn close, but as a whole, they seem to suffer some. There are some great songs on here, but it still doesn't feel 100%. That doesn't mean it's bad, just "off". Hell, I'll give it an 8 because of "Let It Ride" alone.
  54. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Brilliant work by Mr. Adams. Regardless of whether he is vain or not, his restless soul shows throughout this record. A genre/career defining album that is an absolute catharsis.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Overstuffed and vaguely monotonous, the album could be easily whittled down to a single sequence of impressive songs; Instead, it's a meandering, occasionally moving series of mid-tempo laments, some more memorable than others.
  2. It's safe to say that Cold Roses is the record many fans have been waiting to hear -- a full-fledged, unapologetic return to the country-rock that made his reputation when he led Whiskeytown.
  3. Cold Roses’ first set is by-the-numbers, brokenhearted MOR fare, sometimes maudlin (“When Will You Come Back Home?”), infrequently dramatic (the piano-driven “How Do You Keep Love Alive”) and mostly forgettable. The second disc redeems Cold Roses from an even-less-enthusiastic recommendation.