College Dropout

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 545 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 545

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    One of the best debut albums ever made.

    Before this album, Kanye West didn't become the ruler he is today. He was the acclaimed producer of Blueprint who served up hit tracks one after another. But his real dream was to become a rapper and that was a difficult task. In an industry dominated by gangsta rap and hardcore rap, it was hard for a backpacker like Kanye West to shine. But those
    One of the best debut albums ever made.

    Before this album, Kanye West didn't become the ruler he is today. He was the acclaimed producer of Blueprint who served up hit tracks one after another. But his real dream was to become a rapper and that was a difficult task. In an industry dominated by gangsta rap and hardcore rap, it was hard for a backpacker like Kanye West to shine. But those troubles are furthermore reason why College Dropout is one of the best debut albums ever. Why? Because he overcame them with one HUGE leap.

    Kanye isn't the gangsta/hustler type. He is the average guy who has something to say. He discusses various topics like college education, his drop out, materialism, consumerism, religion and its role in music among others. Not expected of a normal rap album because it sounds too normal. But that is the beauty of the album. West fearlessly dares to rap about things that don't include money, crack, girls, or clothes. And he does it with his own style that is powerful and engaging. He can be funny and serious at the same time. Lyrically, he isn't half-bad. He is able to interest his audience throughout the course of the album.

    And the production? Oh man. The beats are surprisingly so catchy yet inventive. Jesus Walks features a pounding club peat and chants that accompany his messages of Jesus and lack of God on radio simply because there is no profitability. And The New Workout Plan features a booty shaker that is laced with Middle Eastern violins.

    West's wordplay is still to be developed and some songs feel like filler tracks. Nonetheless, College Dropout is an outstanding achievement by one so normal to most of us yet so unique to his fellow rap peers.
    Expand
  2. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Incredible, this is where it all started. So sit down and enjoy one of the greatest rappers on one of the greatest rap albums. classic.
    Then go out and have a listen to all his others, each being superb in their own individual ways.
  3. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    For a former rap producer, Kanye West does make a very impressive debut album. He is a role model, he is not trying to follow a fad, but is actually trying to expanding a genre that I thought was dying. With its slick production, honest songs, and a braggy but truthful persona, 'The College Dropout' will probably go down in history as one of the greatest rap albums of all time!
  4. Tony
    Feb 13, 2004
    8
    Definitely one of the better hip-hop albums to come out in a while. The beats are fantastic, the flows are smooth, and the message isn't about thug life.
  5. JasonC
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    I cant help it, I have to give it a 10! This cd is awesome. It delivers great life into all the beats and Kanye doesn't bring the same gangsta flow as everyone else.
  6. ChrisB
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    Jesus Walks is my anthem 'nuff said -Chris
  7. PepaS
    Jan 10, 2006
    9
    This cd was really nice one of the best of 2004
  8. ManManManManManManManManManMan
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    WOW. Now if I could give halves it would just be like a 9.5, because of the skits taking up such valuable track time. But aside from that, this is the most refreshing Hip Hop album in a long time, and Kanye West is one of the few mainstream artists people should welcome with open arms.
  9. RobbieR
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    This CD is banging, best of the year so far. Kanye West created a classic CD and his songs are very varied. This coming from a producer/rapper. 50 cent aint got nothin on this.
  10. patriciaj
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    i love this album .
  11. Jun 4, 2011
    8
    Best transition from someone was a Producer who turned to a Rapper. Kanye made his mark with style and that whole world knew he was from the groundbreaking Through the Wire to Jesus Walks and Family Business. Kanye managed to put in his religious views into the his Album with positive feedback from Fans and Critics alike. He may not be the best lyricist but he is certainly a deep one.
  12. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Perhaps the best album of the entire decade. This album is so fresh, so unique, so beautiful. His lyricism is outstanding, and the subject matter is different for once. This is revolutionary, and Hip Hop, and music as a whole, needs Kanye West. Fantastic, brilliant album.
  13. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    IMO the best debut rap album of all time. the beats are insane, the album came out in a time where the world needed it the most, the lyrics are incredible and witty. this album is as good as mainstream/soul/r&b hip-hop gets
  14. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    His best album ever tbh. I didn't listen to the whole record yet but I've loved everything till now. My highlights are We don't care, All falls down, Jesus walks & School spirit. The College Dropout should have won that Grammy for Album of the Year.
  15. Aoi
    Oct 12, 2013
    10
    The soul samples and the socially concious lyrics make this one of my favourite albums of all time. Definitely a certified classic. Maybe breathe in breathe out could of been, err, trashed?
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Looking back on Kanye's discography, this album is definitely the most important. College Dropout gives his background and shows his purpose. This album touches on his struggle to become a musician, the wrongdoings of society, his dreams, and family. I cannot explain exactly what this album is and what it means to me; it is one you have to listen to yourself and find your own message fromLooking back on Kanye's discography, this album is definitely the most important. College Dropout gives his background and shows his purpose. This album touches on his struggle to become a musician, the wrongdoings of society, his dreams, and family. I cannot explain exactly what this album is and what it means to me; it is one you have to listen to yourself and find your own message from it. I have never heard an album that has vividly expressed one's inner struggle such as College Dropout does. Expand
  17. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say? Lyricism-wise, this album isn't the best. Of course, Kanye has his moments of good rhymes, and enjoyable punch lines, but it's nothing special.
    Production-wise, this album is almost perfect. Unbelievable production, with arguably the best use of sampling in hip hop history, this album's beats are perfection. They're groundbreaking, and thoroughly enjoyable.
    But another deal is: what's he rapping about? The topics on this album range from his accident that caused him to want to rap even more, and even Jesus! Very nice to hear Kanye rap about such things, because, when was the last time you heard a mainstream rapper rap about Jesus? His dedication to rap is truly shown on Through the Wire, which he raps with a piece of metal stuck in his chin due to his car crash, and with a fitting 'Through the Fire' sample.
    This album is, as aforementioned, groundbreaking and completely original. Nothing like it has been done before, which makes this a legendary album, and a hip hop classic.
    Expand
  18. Feb 15, 2015
    10
    This album is considered one of the 2000's best for a reason. In terms of rapping, the lyricism and wordplay is unbeliveable ("Mayonaisse colored Benz, I push miracle whips.") The guest verses are all great too, the weakest probably being Common on "Get Em High," who seems to emphasize too much on completely average punchlines. But the production is where this album really shines. BuiltThis album is considered one of the 2000's best for a reason. In terms of rapping, the lyricism and wordplay is unbeliveable ("Mayonaisse colored Benz, I push miracle whips.") The guest verses are all great too, the weakest probably being Common on "Get Em High," who seems to emphasize too much on completely average punchlines. But the production is where this album really shines. Built almost entirely on sped up samples of Soul, Gospel and R&B classics, these instrumentals take the mood of their original sources and give them a fresh modern mood with hard hitting drums. In terms of subject matter, this album will definitely get you thinking, Kanye intelligently examines his past on personal tracks such as "Never Let Me Down," "Spaceship," and "Through the Wire," but throughout the album makes us contemplate issues such as religion, gang violence, the minimum wage, racism and even (on a hilarious satirical track) work out plans. At the same time, he gives us room to have fun on playful jams like "School Spirit" and "Slow Jamz" which shows the talents of Chicago peer Twista. Overall, one of the most complete collections of music I've ever heard and will leave you feeling refreshed after finishing it. Expand
  19. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Released on February 10, 2004, on Roc-A-Fella Records
    Kanye was not new to the rap scene, but with The College Dropout he introduced himself as not only as a dope
    producer but a talented rapper. Every track is pure Kanye gold; itâ
  20. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Terrific album, lots of tracks make you nervous at first, thinking that it must lose it's stride along the way, but College Dropout delivers, it is a classic album, and in my opinion one of the best debut albums of all time. Kanye let's the audience get perspectives on life that are thoughtful and heart warming, my favourite track is spaceship. Kanye West rises to fame with this album forTerrific album, lots of tracks make you nervous at first, thinking that it must lose it's stride along the way, but College Dropout delivers, it is a classic album, and in my opinion one of the best debut albums of all time. Kanye let's the audience get perspectives on life that are thoughtful and heart warming, my favourite track is spaceship. Kanye West rises to fame with this album for a reason. Expand
  21. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    A near flawless start to one of the greatest album trajectories of this generation, College Dropout is the record that established Kanye West as a force in the music industry. He may not be the greatest rapper, but he knows how to use his sampler and revamps classic soul songs to make enjoyable modern hits.
  22. Aug 16, 2012
    7
    I can't claim to be a big fan of hip hop/rap. I won't go out and buy a record from this genre, but occasionally someone will pass me an album and I'll give it a listen and enjoy it. I like a lot of Jay-Z's stuff. Kanye West is another rapper who I can listen to. This, his debut is a strong record, got some great backing tracks going on and some really clever rhymes going on. The productionI can't claim to be a big fan of hip hop/rap. I won't go out and buy a record from this genre, but occasionally someone will pass me an album and I'll give it a listen and enjoy it. I like a lot of Jay-Z's stuff. Kanye West is another rapper who I can listen to. This, his debut is a strong record, got some great backing tracks going on and some really clever rhymes going on. The production is superb. I do have a gripe about couple of the tracks though. I don't mind the occasional use of the F word, at times it will heighten or emphasise an emotion or sentiment but I don't understand the need for excessive F-bombs and motherfing all over the shop one a few of the tracks here. It's pointless, ruins an otherwise very clever record and just conforms to stereotype. This guy is articulate enough to get his point across without resorting to gutter language. I guess that's just a feature of the genre but at times really turns me off. Expand
  23. TonyC
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    The second greatest rap album ever, surely the best debut, but the Blueprint is by far a better album. This now makes Kanye not just the greatest producer ever but he is the current best rapper, now Jay-Z has quit the game.
  24. Fabi
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    Shit is real...its fire man...His songs r stuck in my head all day...N his lyrics r nice...Im luvin Kanye
  25. carlosr
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    I am an amateur rapper and producer and the way he raps and the way his beats rock just make me wanna do it more.
  26. daniellee
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    Best Album of the year
  27. SethB
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    I LOVE THIS!!!!! I am SO tired of all this THUG CRAP in hip hop today. Kayne West bravely downplays that without losing street credibility. Finally, a major release who remembers what KRS would call, "Real Hip-Hop"!!
  28. brianl
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    best hip/hop cd since "all eyez on me" period.
  29. melissab
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    this cd is off the chain, i dont even have to skip tracks because they are all phat! He brings back what lyricist are really about!
  30. chancet
    Feb 17, 2004
    10
    his style surpasses every rapper in the game right now. his lyrics are real and they'll impact any listener.
  31. StaceyG
    Feb 20, 2004
    10
    Not many CDs are u able to listen to all the way through....not many albums touch on what is trendy and what is contoversial .....there are very few hip-hop albums that can reach everyone... this one does. Kanye is a true lyricist and beatmaster and as said on the last track "ya'll niggas are stupid for not signing" Chi's finest.
  32. StuT
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    The best album of the year. possibly the best freshman album ever. Can't wait to hear his next one.
  33. twan/Gunn
    Mar 24, 2004
    10
    College dropout is by far the greatest hip-hop album this year..he lyrics are sick they the truth.Hes bringin a new style to the hip hop society,im tired of hearin the same shit all the time like 50 does! Wow you got shot nine times congrats... kids go buy this album its worth 20$ of ur drug money as for hov you should have neva left the game cause now kanye takin ur place keep it up roc College dropout is by far the greatest hip-hop album this year..he lyrics are sick they the truth.Hes bringin a new style to the hip hop society,im tired of hearin the same shit all the time like 50 does! Wow you got shot nine times congrats... kids go buy this album its worth 20$ of ur drug money as for hov you should have neva left the game cause now kanye takin ur place keep it up roc a fella you the best label out there Gunn K.T.Q. Expand
  34. cassandraj
    Mar 2, 2004
    10
    This cd was tight. i relly lik jay-zs part in da cd. if you dont like dis you sum hataz
  35. lil'aLbert
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    This is a GREAT ALBUM, got the ADVANCED VERSION from the net and I still bought the RETAIL VERSION to SUPPORT this great artist as to labad's comment dont like it? then dont buy it... hater. 10 stars from me! this ALBUM is a HIT!
  36. brandonh
    Apr 30, 2004
    10
    album is much deeper than just any average album
  37. [Anonymous]
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    AMAZING
  38. vefhfbdvdv
    May 13, 2004
    10
    My Husband has the best album EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!
  39. kjRobinson
    May 10, 2004
    9
    lauren hill should of been on that all falls down. that version is hot! but all in all k. west is a genius, but of course he would be, look who he's rolling with. it's the ROC in the building
  40. ss
    May 9, 2004
    10
    One of the best rap albums ever to be released.
  41. DanC
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    This is the best CD of 2004 so far!
  42. BenM
    Jun 18, 2004
    9
    It is excellent. Kanye rules Through the wire n slow jamz are amazing
  43. ritas
    Jun 6, 2004
    10
    It has songs on it that I can listen to with my mother and my 9 year old sister. Some of the songs aren't for everybody but I love the cd. I listen to it everynight before I go to bed and in the morning before I leave home. It is just awesome I haven't gotten tired of it yet.
  44. Katie-laura
    Aug 17, 2004
    10
    Family Business and school spirit the two best song on this album yet the only one's mentioned r jesus walks and the other 1's people should b given a chance to hear these they r great oh and kayne west is fit
  45. ChristinaT
    Sep 22, 2004
    10
    I love all the songs on this cd!!!!!!!!
  46. RachaelR
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    I think Kanye is a musical genious.He has something to say that is actually meaningful, unlike other rappers who just want to talk about how much they have or how much they can get. I couldnt agree more than i do now on well Kanye is doing as an artist,role model,and man.If hes there somewhere .... Hello from NY to you Kanye. Rachael R.
  47. PeterO
    Jan 13, 2005
    10
    Being the best hiphop album since Beastie Boys' Hello Nasty, College Droput gave me renewed faith in a genre beset by soulless "bling bling" fakers. A must buy if I ever heard one!
  48. dom.
    Jan 22, 2005
    10
    this is an awesome album! it's good to see someone supporting the Man above!
  49. GregP
    Jan 20, 2005
    10
    the best
  50. Max
    Feb 22, 2005
    10
    Killin y'all n****z on that lyrical s**t Mayonnaise colored Benz, I push Miracle Whips
  51. Figz
    May 7, 2005
    9
    This rap c.d. is so fuckin diff... how can it not get a good mark? Every song is awesome either its by lyrical beats or themes its all good.
  52. ghqjhhejghjhlj
    Oct 27, 2006
    9
    the shti for real....
  53. DavidJ.
    Jun 24, 2007
    10
    A Hip Hop Classic.
  54. ryanb
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    I hope this brings a certain change in hip hop,black music has had its ganster stage. Its goin back to a soul full tune, and a blues style beat, and singin about things that can change in life, positive as well as the the negatives. And the positives are not just 'bling' and rollin on 21's which frankly bore the life outta me, who wants to sing about gold and chrome? Well i I hope this brings a certain change in hip hop,black music has had its ganster stage. Its goin back to a soul full tune, and a blues style beat, and singin about things that can change in life, positive as well as the the negatives. And the positives are not just 'bling' and rollin on 21's which frankly bore the life outta me, who wants to sing about gold and chrome? Well i cant relate to it as a listener. Expand
  55. BrianaS
    Nov 10, 2004
    10
    Kanye West's College Dropout album displayed real life struggles with the mantality of reaching out to the youth. He reflects on the difficulties, yet also, the love passion , and thanks for the life he has been given.
  56. GordonS
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    Incredible work. Kanye West is not one of the top rappers around, but he delivers an amazing message and knows how to make beats fit his style.
  57. johnB
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    Best cd i've ever listened to
  58. oscars
    Feb 12, 2004
    9
    this Cd is the freshest look on hip hop since eminem came into the game. kanye delivers the beats and the rhymes to be recognized as one of the top names in hip hop today
  59. KayneWestJr
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    AMAZING I love this album the best album of 2004 already-fact!! Without a shadow of a doubt, its a classick. The new kid is on the block and he's shining dude he's shining!!!!---Cop dis disc-no regrets. KW
  60. Justin
    Feb 13, 2004
    10
    This is a great album- from the beginning to end Kanye mixes great beats with even better rhymes. Although very much mainstream it has a different feel to the music and thats what makes it great.
  61. MARKH
    Feb 14, 2004
    10
    NICE
  62. jeremyb
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    best hip hop cd of the year.
  63. davidu
    Feb 15, 2004
    9
    This album is totally different than what hip-hop is right now.Kanye West is talking about things he wants to talk about and not neccasarily what people think theyre going to hear. He shows he can not only produce but drop ill lyrics also.
  64. MarcusW
    Feb 15, 2004
    9
    This CD is fantastic, it just has one glitch. He left out some of his better songs from the mixtape off this CD. Like the Good, Bad the Ugly and Drop Dead Gorgeous
  65. DennisL
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    ...Im just trying not to dropout...but he is speaking the truth
  66. ChyvaunF
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    This is an amazing CD. Kanye is a genius.
  67. IslamM
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    cd is straight fire
  68. JordanH
    Mar 22, 2004
    10
    Its HOT
  69. NseE
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    This is simply an amazing cd. Kanye has a wild sense of humour, as well as a deep, spiritual side, which comes off on tunes like ?Jesus Walks? and the mind blowing ?Never let me down?, which features Jay Z. ?Spaceship is a tender lilting number of escaping from the cares of life, we?ve all been there. ?Slow jamz? and Through the wire? feature Kanye?s signature style of helium influenced This is simply an amazing cd. Kanye has a wild sense of humour, as well as a deep, spiritual side, which comes off on tunes like ?Jesus Walks? and the mind blowing ?Never let me down?, which features Jay Z. ?Spaceship is a tender lilting number of escaping from the cares of life, we?ve all been there. ?Slow jamz? and Through the wire? feature Kanye?s signature style of helium influenced sped up vocals, set to a great groove, and great 80s samples. Other standouts from this dazzling debut are ?Two words?, ?The new workout plan? with it?s disco outro (and hilarious tips on how to get in shape for your man, complete with testimonies of satisfied females) and the 12 minute plus tale of Kanye?s journey to a record deal, set to a gentle groove, interspersed with sax, delicate keyboard tinklings, and a killer hook. Awesome! Expand
  70. sharinaw
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    ONE OF THE BESTS!
  71. MauricioV
    Mar 7, 2004
    10
    this Cd is freaking tight, i dont get tired of listen to it, and is one of them albums u can liten all the way through, u dont have to skip songs or anything cuz all them songs are hot, album is THE hotest in 2004
  72. DylanV.E.
    Mar 9, 2004
    10
    This is a great album, I'm white and usually stick to 60's Rock, but every song on this Album kicks ass. Atleast borrow it from someone, You must hear this Album.
  73. ThaGMannn
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    i was sold when i first heard "all falls down" on the radio. "through the wire" was iight but "all falls down" was lyrically beautiful. From then i knew that the whole album had to be like it....and basically it was... Let's start from the beginning.....the intros were hilarious. well.. now that i think about it....i better start w/ the cons of the album cuz the pros will take me all i was sold when i first heard "all falls down" on the radio. "through the wire" was iight but "all falls down" was lyrically beautiful. From then i knew that the whole album had to be like it....and basically it was... Let's start from the beginning.....the intros were hilarious. well.. now that i think about it....i better start w/ the cons of the album cuz the pros will take me all day.... 1)get em high -- kanye's part in this song is pretty good, and so is the first have of talib's....but after that the song goes down...WAY down. Common really SUCKED in this song--the lyrics don't really make any sense and it makes him song really bad....same with talib but not as bad. 2)some ppl seemed not to like the new workout plan....i figure that if u have a good sense of humor then u'll love this song cuz i do. true this song does seem kinda outta place...but then again where else would it have gone? 3)one thing that got on my nerves in "school spirit" and "through the wire" was that they were edited! now there's just somethin w/ me and edited songs they just get on my f**kin nerves!!! (u know what i'm sayin!?) 4) through the wire -- funny the first single of this album was one of the worse songs of the album. first it was kinda edited, and second it sounded like they did nothing to the song...just played the same video version. the quality even sounded like it was recored from a television rather than a recording studio...that was just a little thing that kinda pissed me off (as u can see i pay too much attention to little things) 5) it just kinda felt like there were too many interludes and skits....although there kinda wasn't...it just feels like it (7/21 songs were skits/interludes if that gives u a better idea) 6) personally...if i had only heard jesus walks from kanye....i wouldn't have signed him either :-) funny when i'm reading over these cons they dont' even sound all that bad...and really they arent'...i just pay way too much attention to detail. with the exception of those cons this album was fantastic. kanye is lyrically brilliant and he puts a lot of thought and feeling into what he says. One thing that i must mention out of the general (i'm sorry that this review is somewhat general than others i've done....i mean i just can't explain really how good some of these aspects r) is the last two songs and the outro. This was the best part of the cd and i'd have to say the one of the (if not THE) best endings of a cd that i've ever heard. Family business is the best song on the cd that is just heart touching and awesome (yes i said awesome) song. after that "last call" is a nice outro song where he flos to a hot beat and the choirs in both songs r great and 8+min outro is very nice to listen to...and i've found myself listenin to it a lot more than just once. in short (lol kinda funny after writing all this), the college dropout is nearest to perfect that u'll hear for this whole year. the fact that i gave this a 10 doesn't mean that this album was perfect...but this album has sentimental value that exceeds its lyrics, beats, and production. Expand
  74. jayt
    May 11, 2004
    10
    Just deeeeeeeeerty.
  75. V
    May 10, 2004
    10
    from his style to his music, all original
  76. rogers
    May 18, 2004
    9
    This cd is almost perfect with songs that are simlply deeper than the regular hip hop album some of the songs are gritty and need some polishing like the song with Common, common just dont do it for the song all in all i think its one of the hottest things made not as good as maybe jayz's blueprint or reasonable doubt or maybe biggie's ready to die but give him a chance he is hot
  77. samlast
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    its alllllllll good!
  78. mikec
    Jul 17, 2004
    9
    awesome
  79. deedeethegreat
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    KANYE WEST IS THE CRAZIEST, FUNNIEST, DOPEST and the most CHEERFUl RAPPER EVER... COLLEGE DROPOUT is the best album of 2004..woRDD
  80. PaulS
    Sep 18, 2004
    9
    Now I usually like the rock music. Actually no; I usually ONLY like the rock music. But this album is so good! I heard Jesus walks on TV and absolutly loved it. No more rappers 'talking' about cars and 'bootys'. This has made me have a new found respect for hip-hop music!
  81. JoshE
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    This album was the BOMB!
  82. ThomasD
    Dec 25, 2005
    9
    Whether you agree with Kanye's political views or not, you have to agree that he can articulate his points very well and sell them to the targeted audience even better. His lyrics along with his new spin on hip hop have brought him to the top of the industry for a good reason. He is uniquely fantastic.
  83. SteveG
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    simply amazing. covers an amazing variety of subjects with fresh beats and rhymes. worth listening to simply to justify dropping out of college. one of the only albums i've listened to lately with an actual thesis that is proven.
  84. Mikkel
    Feb 19, 2005
    9
    genious!!!
  85. jamesb
    May 1, 2005
    10
    i think it was the coldest cd of the year
  86. matta
    May 27, 2005
    8
    There is alot of filler but even with it there are still 14 or so legitimate(and mostly good)hip-hop tracks. Hands down, one of the best rap albums of the year.
  87. J.M.Sarabia
    May 28, 2005
    9
    Kanye West gives you something different from ordinary rap/ hip hop. He has a perfect balance of songs. From songs Spaceship to Jesus Walks to Slow Jamz, he gives different flavors of music. There were times when I thought there was room for improvement, lyrically on a few songs. Kaywe West gives incredible production as well. Technically I'm giving the album 9.5. This album leaves Kanye West gives you something different from ordinary rap/ hip hop. He has a perfect balance of songs. From songs Spaceship to Jesus Walks to Slow Jamz, he gives different flavors of music. There were times when I thought there was room for improvement, lyrically on a few songs. Kaywe West gives incredible production as well. Technically I'm giving the album 9.5. This album leaves you urging for more Kanye. 2.We Don't Care 8/10 4.All Falls Down 9.5/10 6.Spaceship 10/10 7.Jesus Walks 10/10 8.Never Let Me Down 9.5/10 9.Get Em High 7.5/10 11.The New Workout Plan 10/10 12.Slow Jamz 10/10 13.Breathe in Breathe Out 7/10 15.School Spirit 9.5/10 18.Two Words 10/10 19.Through the Wire 9.5/10 20.Family Business 10/10 21.Last Call 10/10 Expand
  88. aliciac
    Aug 19, 2005
    9
    very good!! only b chance i got the album
  89. AaronCo
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    One of the best albums ever made! Kanye is sick!
  90. DanA
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Amazing. When I first heard Kanye I thought it was just another solid rapper coming up. But the production on this album is far above great and the lyrics are more than solid. Kanye is the best well-rounded rapper, or maybe even music artist in general, of today.
  91. LeanneS
    Apr 26, 2006
    10
    this was an amazing cd, it expressed itself with a lot of humor!!! it made me feel very excited wen i listened to it.Thankyoun kanye u rok my world!!! luv ya xx
  92. MichaelW
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Excelent songs
  93. THOMAST
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    It's the best album what i heard in my life, i love this album, the song are various, the featurings are terrible!!! (Sorry for the fault i'm French )
  94. WaelH
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    This is the best album in the freaking world .. and the best artist also !!!! kanye west .. a true singer not like all the other bitches who dnt even write there songs..
  95. BarbarannetteM.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    I like this very hot.
  96. tonyb
    Oct 13, 2004
    10
    wow
  97. manchisehmmmm
    Nov 8, 2004
    7
    no doubt pipz... tha album iz dope.. kanye got crazy drumz.. but his not as an mc.. his creatz crazyass jamz fo other artist.. lik jigga.. but his not tha best mc out there... HIZ A GUY WHO TALKZ IN HIS Jamz creatively..
  98. steveyup
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    this cd is ridiculous.
  99. HarrisonT
    Feb 14, 2004
    10
    best album so far of 2004. this album is PERFECT. the lyrics r great. go get his album now. if you dont like kanye west college dropout. then u are not fan of hip hop or dont know what the definition of hip hop is. go get it now and support him
  100. mikeq
    Feb 21, 2004
    10
    PERFECT!!!
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Like every hip-hop album (even the great ones), Kanye West's The College Dropout is marred by too many guest artists, too many interludes, and just too many songs period. (I challenge every hip-hop artist working today to record just one album with 12 tracks or less-no skits, no guests, no filler.)
  2. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Most producers who approach the mic do so at their peril, but on Dropout, West turns out to be a full-service hip-hop artiste.
  3. 80
    Delivers both ass-shakers and contemplative cuts.