Come Around Sundown - Kings of Leon
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 100
  2. Negative: 22 out of 100

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    A stellar followup to their breakout album "Only By Night", Kings of Leon continues delivering rousing anthem rock with a resonant emotional undercurrent. It's great work, and people who protest ought to take note that they're not "pushing the envelope" because they don't have to and that they haven't "sold out" because their sound, while on a grander scale here, still retains the soulful spirit of their first three albums. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    1
    This is the sound of a band losing all its credibility, the sound of a band failing to recreate any sense of emotional authenticity that they once successfully postured. What an insult to the noble notion of rock and roll. What dull rubbish fed blindly to the (mostly British) tone-deaf masses. What filth. With the last album and this one, which is only marginally better, the Kings of Leon have discredited the worth of all their previous work. An awful collection of songs that say nothing, literally nor emotionally. 1 point for not having anything closely resembling 'Sex on Fire'. Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    2
    Before 'Come Around Sundown' the quality of Kings of Leon's albums have taken on a distinct pattern: 1st - Youth and Young Manhood - Brilliant, their best work 9/10 2nd - Aha Shake Heartbreak - OK but rushed 6/10 3rd - Because of the Times - Return to form 8/10 4th - We Are The Night - 3 decent tracks, otherwise dull 4/10 So. 1st and 3rd were good. 2nd and 4th not so good. Therefore, according to this good-bad formula, I had faint hopes for 'Come Around Sundown'. How unfortunate then that their 5th, and worst, album sees them plunging headlong into the toned-down, wishy-washy nonsense that inhabited much of their last album. What a shame. In 2003 this was an exciting band, rattling out a riotous brand of hillbilly rock n roll. In 2010, they bore me senseless Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    3
    Although this album isn't as bad as the last two, I still feel cheated. Although there are brushes with greatness, KOL doesn't quite commit. Almost as if they believe that if they churn out something actually resembling rock that they are "cheapening" their artistic greatness. Ultimately KOL has become a clique, a perfect example of what happens when a great band starts believing their own press. Expand
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    After listening to Youth and Young Manhood, Aha Shake Heart Break and Because of the times and bloody loving them, I now find my self feeling cheated and pissed off by their latest failure. Kings of Leon have turned into the laughing stock of music. They are quiet possibly the most un-humble group of ex-musicians i can think of. Their credibility is now in the negatives. Gutted.
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    5
    it's not good, it's not horrible, it's just blah: background music for coffee shops. the album is well recorded (it does sound really nice), but poorly written. the songs left me absolutely unaffected emotionally, and the few moments that caught my attention musically unfortunately did so for all the wrong reasons. they are simply too reminiscent of certain things the band did before. in other words, they're rehashing some old bits and pieces almost note for note, capitalizing on "the formula", presumably (or perhaps they were just too busy counting the revenue generated by the "break-through" to come up with anything new). Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2010
    0
    Utter garbage. cannot believe this is the same band that produced 3 outstanding albums to start off their music careers. Because of the times is one of, if not my favourite album of the 2000's. This doesn't even deserve to be compared to their first 3 albums, let alone put in the same sentence.
  8. Oct 23, 2010
    0
    The last thing this world needs is another bloody arena-rock band. With Kings of Leon jumping aboard with bands like of Muse and Nickelback, it's no wonder the youth of today can't keep their attentions focused. With boring snot like "Come Around Sundown" (whose ass did that title fall out of, by the way?), the music industry seems not to care for artists anymore. Commercialization is the name, and Capitalism is the game. Get used to it folks, doesn't seem like things are going to turn around anytime soon. Expand
  9. Oct 20, 2010
    8
    I think Kings of Leon has always been a remarkable group. The soulful rock anthems contained in this great new album, such as "Radioactive", "The End", and the remarkably catchy "Mary". There are almost more tastes of southern rock and gospel-tinged four-minute-epics than any other of their albums. Judging from their breakthrough album, "Only By The Night", this album may be just as good. Not to mention the horrible fanbase that Kings of Leon has, full of idiots who complain whenever they change their sound a little. Expand
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    7
    I liked their first 3 albums better, I will agree on that but this one is a pretty good record too, it is just playing it in safer waters, they are not experimenting so much, as if they found the formula of the success and they want to enjoy it for a while. but still it's much more likable than only by the night melodically. the problem is: it's not as real as because of the times, which is their best effort up to date. but hey can we blame them, these people are enjoying fame and making millions, unfortunately happy and rich people have less interesting stories to tell. Expand
  11. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    What a disappointment. I was hoping for something more innovative rather than some mundane, ho hum, material that falls way short of my expectations. I guess I will have be content listening to their previous efforts. What happened to the band I so loved?
  12. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Kol have alot of haters out there it shows when people give this zero outta 10. This is a great ablum from a great band, songs like: mary, the face, pony up, birthday and pickup truck are major highlights on the album. kol will continue to get better and they will remain the best band on the planet for some time.
  13. Oct 24, 2010
    8
    It's a good album but not ground-breaking stuff by any means. Ignore the 1's and 0's, some people are just musical snobs who reject a band once they become popular. Thankfully there is no song on this album which is going to be overplayed like 'Sex on Fire' and 'Use Somebody' so 2 months later and you should still like it. But if you are somebody who hated the last album then why even bother reading these reviews cos your mind's been made prior to release. Expand
  14. Oct 23, 2010
    2
    Geez,after a couple of great albums with a unique sound they turn to this slop. Not worth listening to.Sell outs! They may wanna be U2(which they will never get close to being) but at least they had a unique sound that made them quite interesting.Unique sounding bands like Radiohead,U2,Beach House,etc are the ones who will never sell out their fundamental sound. This band needs to get back to the drawing board.Rick Rubin ,please help these lost lads. Expand
  15. Oct 26, 2010
    1
    Sell Out! I was working in a bar in Ireland in 2003 - before I opened up I turned on the Q music channel and heard this hill billy band from the South belt out Molly for the first time - I thought the sound was farging awesome... I was a convert.

    Now - all I hear is a drone of whiny yet gutteral over produced pop rock - pretentious sell outs. Where did the hicks go?

    At least Black
    Crowes never sold out. Expand
  16. Jan 9, 2011
    7
    A solid rockin' album from the Kings of Leon. Different than all of their other albums, it shows them using their creativity to make BIG music. Would love to see them do some of these songs live. Go Kings! (btw Pitchfork, you are too full of yourselves. This album is much better than you say it is!)
  17. Oct 27, 2010
    8
    I'm not sure why there's been such a bitter reaction to this album - sure, it isn't their best album, but it's a whole lot better than the (IMO) overrated Youth & Young Manhood, and is a massive improvement on their last, meaning that it sits in the middle behind Aha Shake and Because of the Times, their unquestionable best albums. But that shouldn't be such a bad thing. Come Around has some of the best tracks of their career - Mary, The Face, Pyro, The Immortals, Mi Amigo, Pickup Truck are all excellent and Back Down South is wonderfully different for them. Overall, I think that it's a solid reinterpretation of their old formula. True, it's not groundbreaking, poetic, artistic or intelligent, but it's a great rock record, and there sure is a chronic lack of those around these days. Expand
  18. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    Die hard Kings of Leon fan, starting from first album on. Didn't much care for their last album, and liked about half of Because of the Times, but still respected the quality of the tracks I did like. This album was full on pop upon first spin, but after two more spins, I gotta say, this is a great album. It will be on my Top Ten for the year. It's not terribly deep, and I would have enjoyed more angst. It reminded me of My Morning Jacket's Evil Urges album - took a little time to get used to, but talent is talent. I see the press has already killed this band and tortured them as sellouts, which I'm sure half of their devout fans did as soon as they'd scored their 1st hit in 2008. But who the hell knows what a sellout is. I'm sick of hipsters anyhow. This is a good band, with a great voice. Expand
  19. Oct 26, 2010
    5
    For every interesting moment, there's a dull one. None of the songs compel me to make a return visit, though I suppose it could sound better after repeat listens. Not because the music's complex, but because it might sound familiar and comfortable after a while.
  20. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    I honestly am not getting the hate on this album. If you liked Because of the Times how can you not like this? I would say Come Around Sundown is a mix of all their styles put together. Lyrically Come Around Sundown is just as good as the rest of the albums. The songs still have a lot of emotion and heart to them (ala The End, Pyro, Pickup Truck). I just don't understand why people can't accept they made a chill/relaxing record. Yes, this album is a little slower than their past work. So what!? Yes there is not as many crazy songs like "Charmer." This is an album for a party where you can sit back on the beach or go boating. And for those that say this is a mainstream album, it is by far from it. This album will not do as good Only By The Night because there is no Sex on Fire or Use Somebody singles. This album needs to be taken in as a whole and for many that will turn them off. You so called fans are not fans at all. I've loved them from the first CD right down to this one. They are not even comparable to bands like Nickelback. What you so called fans need to realize is just because they have changed their style of music, they have never ever given up that emotion they bring to every song. From Milk to Pickup Truck, from Trani to Closer, they are all tied together with one thing, true raw emotion. Every song tells a story and Come Around Sundown is no different. Quit being so god damn picky musically and listen to the stories being told through the lyrics. Just because they have beefed up their sound doesn't derail them from being rock legends or better than every single thing on mainstream radio right now. Expand
  21. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    As soon as the first track plays u know ur listening to Kings of Leon. The powerful, thumping bass line in KOL's new album "Come Around Sundown" is dominant throughout the album. These guys are REALLY good, and the album is GREAT! 9/10!! MUST BUY!
  22. Oct 28, 2010
    8
    This is one of those albums that, if you're a musical elitist, will give you trouble at first. It is certainly a radio rock album, and nine times out of ten it seems artists are forced to sacrifice musicality for radio friendliness. This album, however, is one of those happy exceptions that manages to be a pop album without sacrificing musicianship. Once I got past the fact that the album is, admittedly, overproduced, I realized how damn good the songs are. Am I the only one that thinks that this newest itteration of KOL sounds a lot like Springsteen? Expand
  23. Oct 28, 2010
    4
    This is the fifth album for the Tennessee based band and unlike the whiskey the state is known so well for, The Kings of Leon have not matured well with age. Coming off their pop success of Only by the Night, this album also lacks the soul of earlier albums like Because of the Times or Youth and Young Manhood. The teenage girl/soccer mom sing alongs like Radioactive & Pyro don't provide any emotional lyrics to really latch on to. Mary is your atypical 50s slow song with a variation of two alternating electric guitar chords blaring in the background. Lyrically, KOL is trying imagery of being back home in Tennessee; tired and homesick from touring. The lyrics feel infant, unimagined and cheap compared to songs like McFearless or Charmer. Go out and listen to Because of the Times if you truly want a sense of what this band is made of. Song Redemption : (couldn't find one)
    http://clockcatcher.blogspot.com/
    Expand
  24. Oct 29, 2010
    9
    I love Kings of Leon, I bought Youth and Young Manhood on its day of release and all the subsequent albums. I like the fact that they have developed as a band as I think if they were still churning out the same style of tune as in the first album, there would be plenty of people criticising them for constantly sounding the same. The album isn't as instantly catchy as Only by the Night, but a few listens and it has real depth. If you say this has no emotion in in the you know nothing about music. Stan out tracks are Birthday, Mary and Beach Side.

    My only criticism is that the Deluxe CD version isn't worth the extra money, as the track Celebration isn't that strong and the remixes aren't up to much. Would have been nice to have some live tracks and some video for the extra money.
    Expand
  25. Dec 18, 2010
    3
    The only way I can describe this album is - lacking in emotional connection, dull, boring, nothing groundbreaking. Only partly saved by 2 or 3 decent tracks. If KOL continue down this track they will be irrelevant in the next few years.
  26. May 12, 2011
    7
    Their best album to date. None of the tracks are as strong as Sex on Fire or Taper Jean Girl as singles. But as a collective effort, much better than the past. The playing is also much better than before. They've progress as individual and collective musicians. It's refreshing that there is some variety in the writing, and arrangements. The repetitiveness of their previous albums drove me crazy. I couldn't listen to those albums for more than 10 minutes without switching to a new CD. I can listen to this entire record and not get bored. Expand
  27. Nov 7, 2010
    2
    mmh I'm disappointed. I have the feeling, these guys don't have ideas anymore. maybe its a creative crisis, but this album sounds boring. If Caleb wouldn't have his great distinctive voice, nobody would buy this album.
  28. Nov 8, 2010
    7
    It's not like it's a bad record! It sounds really good! And I must have heard it like a million times by now... But (there's always a but!) there's something missing... I think it's a mix between the way they sounded on their first 3 records and Only By The Night and all the fuzz created around it! Fine, I love these guys and I guess you can say I'm an unconditional fan but, the truth is, if this was their first record I wouldn't have been as crazy about them as I am... There are some good songs, Pyro, The End, Back Down South, Pickup Truck, being those songs (Beach Side is kind of a guilty pleasure: it doesn't really add anything but I love Caleb's voice on this one!) and great lyrics! Not everything is lost! I think Matthew just keeps getting better and better and it's a cohesive record, all things considered... But honestly, i think they should just tell everyone to piss off and do whatever the hell they want! Because when you do what you want, people can tell! I just don't think I can tell on this one... Expand
  29. Nov 9, 2010
    7
    The problem for King's of Leon is the indie/alternative strength of the first albums. If you loved the first stuff this new stuff is indulgent, crass commercialization - though a good album in it's own right. (Much like U2's later direction - you couldn't sell it to me - but I grew up on, and lived and died by, Under a Blood Red Sky.) For a fifty year old who stopped in his tracks when he heard "Red Morning Light", "The Bucket" etc, this one hardly wobbled the radar. Expand
  30. Nov 11, 2010
    7
    Yes, this is Kings of Leon's weakest album. There aren't very memorable songs on the album, there are no songs as great a Molly's Chambers, Four Kicks, On Call, or Use Somebody. Yet, every song is somewhat enjoyable. I didn't hate any of the songs on the album, I didn't love any of the songs, but I did like a lot of the songs. There is nothing special on this album, but it's still enjoyable and worth a listen of two Expand
  31. Jan 6, 2012
    6
    Come Around Sundown is a true portrait of how the band has gradually declined in quality since their first superb record, Youth & Young Manhood. Although the melancholy album shows the odd glimpse of the exciting Kings of the past (in songs such as Mary), the record as a whole ultimately fails to grasp the imagination, relying on lazy regurgitation of 'Only By the Night'-esque anthems and sounds. Whilst listening to The End (the opening song) I found myself inevitably wondering how the band could fall from such raw grit of songs like Four Kicks and Pistol Of Fire, to the contrived and empty numbers of Only By the Night and Come Around Sundown. Here's to hoping the Followills will rediscover their musical heart and soul next time around! Expand
  32. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    Come Around Sundown is getting critically panned and these users are hating it also. I don't quite understand why. Band members grow up and mature there sound as a band. And that's exactly what Kings Of Leon have done with this album. They've grown up. They are not Southern rockers anymore like there old stuff. Songs like "The End" and "Pyro" really show that too. Granit, it's the least of The Kings Of Leon albums, but nevertheless a very well made album. I love their sound and the direction they went for. Arena rock really suits The Kings well. All In All, the tracks are catchy and Caleb's voice is incredible on this album. Took me a few tries to like it but now I think it's a very well made album. B Expand
  33. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    All the tracks on this album seem to flow well together and you get the feeling that Come Around Sundown has a sort of theme behind it. The feel good vibes seem to radiate from each track in continuance of their more recent mainstream alternative swing. Those who are looking to rekindle their love of the early Kings sound will have to keep looking as this album is a great follow-up to the anthemic sounds of "Only by the Night". Enjoy !! Expand
  34. Dec 2, 2010
    7
    Not a bad effort by the kings of Leon but for me it was still a considerable difference from their best album. still its a must listen for all kings of Leon fans and offers a few good tracks.
  35. Dec 31, 2010
    8
    (8.0) Formidable rock/pop album (even if the classic pop elements are not around most of the time, you can definitely feel the pop-song all around "Come around sundown").
  36. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    es un disco cojonudo
    aunque le falta un temazo del estilo de use somebody
  37. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    I truly enjoyed this album. And I still do. It is a very simple album, with a nice layer to it. It's no Because of the Times, or Only By the Night, but it has some value. It takes a handful of listens, but once it sticks it has a nice sound and message. Pickup Truck is one of the best songs of the past year. It is utterly riveting. The drums on the album have a great sound as usual. Caleb was a little weak in his delivery, as far as lyrics go, but not bad. I would rate this as a good album. Not great. Not bad. It is at least worth a listen. Expand
  38. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    After a few listens come around sundown is def grower. Songs like the end, pyro, pony, birthday are instant hits but after a few listens songs like pickup truck and mary really grow on you. quality album
  39. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    Forget the naysayers and take it from me; this album has truth, a commodity that isn't too easy to come by these days. If you don't believe me then go listen to "The Immortals". Blast it. Tell me that Caleb's gut-wrenching vocal performance, coupled with Nathan's primal, unbridled, drum-banging fury about a minute in, doesn't move you. Tell me that you don't feel your stomach drop and your heart yearn for a loved one like it hasn't in years. While the album as a whole may drag its heels in places, the raw emotion woven into the first six tracks is nothing short of unforgettable. My God is it good.

    Other standouts on the album include Radioactive, Pyro, Mi Amigo, and Pickup Truck. KOL is the truth and they bring it straight from the heart. Come Around Sundown is a testament to the simple beauty of voices and percussion.
    Expand
  40. May 17, 2011
    3
    All I can say is what happened to the Kings? They went from fearless young rock warriors to uninspired, bored pop-rock robots in the space of a couple of years. My theory is they stumbled onto Sex On Fire, which the masses obviously wolfed down & demanded more of & now they need time out to recharge & get the creative juices flowing again. We all know they're capable of so much more than Come around Sundown even came close to achieving. It's dull as dishwater, it can't even muster up a Crawl & at their best Kings are just electrifying. I'll let them off with this one & await their comeback. I'd advise you do the same. Expand
  41. j30
    Feb 19, 2012
    4
    Once you've accepted that Kings of Leon have lost their edge, Come Around Sundown goes down a little bit easier. That's until you listen to a track from Because Of The Times, Aha Shake Heartbreak, or Youth and Young Manhood than you hate it.
  42. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    As records go it's generally a good one, however it doesn't quite stand up to this bands back catalogue. There are some gems on here - Pyro, The Immortals and No Money are great, but too many tracks are mid tempo or are a little bit soulless which is never something that could have been said about a KOL record before. If it was put out by any other band it would be a good record and that's how I'm rating it but it's a bit disappointing in parts for a KOL record. Expand
  43. DND
    Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Nice album, every song impacted with such positive emotions. If you come home after hard working day you just turn on KOL's "Come Around Sundown" and your day definitely becomes better.
  44. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    On another note, people who like the new albums always criticize people using the term "sell out". I get it, it's a ubiquitous word used to describe any small time band that managed to get success. I've never described any band as a sell out until kings of leon, they completely abandoned their humble background, their style, their music taste etc to gain mass appeal. In an interview in talihina sky (think it was Nathan), he goes on about radio just playing trash music the whole time and what do you have to do to get onto the radio...then use somebody comes on, thatâ Expand
  45. Oct 10, 2013
    2
    Started off good with songs like The End and Pyro but quickly went into awkwardness starting with the weird country track Back Down South. Kings of Leon and country...Yeah it doesn't work out well. Everything from that track and on is just awful. The music doesn't really fit well with the vocals and they are simply not good tracks at all. I really don't understand how an album could start off so well yet end so poorly, Very disappointing.

    And just to prove how well I liked the first 4 songs (from The End to Mary). If that was just a separate EP, I would have easily given it an 7 or 8. That's how bad the rest of the album is.
    Expand
  46. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    Experimenting with country elements is an avenue Kings of Leon really should not be going down. An how ironic is it that, the very thing they've been taking a lot of heat for (sounding more commercial) is what saves this album from being a failure. Contrary to popular belief Pyro is not the standout track. That honor would have to go to "The Immortals" a song with true conviction.
  47. Nov 1, 2012
    6
    They still got a nice flair in their songs, but it's not that special as in 'Only By The Night'. The lyrics got ruder, the whole appearance of the CD is kind of drab. Yet, they've got a couple of great songs on here, too, so you won't do bad with checking it out. They still make nice music.
  48. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Les Kings of Leon sont fidèles à eux-mêmes et sortent un nouvel album solide bien que classique dans leur répertoire. Ceux qui découvriront ce groupe avec cet album adoreront les précédents, mais trouveront que le premier album, Youth and Young Manhood, détonne un peu dans le répertoire.
    Ce dernier opus ne dépasse cependant pas en qualité, à mon sens, Aha Shake Heratbreak, Because of The Times et We Are The Nights.
    Expand
  49. Sep 3, 2013
    4
    [4.6] Instead of making decent southern rock inspired by blues and classic rock, Kings of Leon make an uninspired, unoriginal, and stale pop folk album. Kings of Leon were never really that impressive, but they at least put some work into their music, and made it enjoyable. They progressively lose the little depth they have in their music and ultimately try too hard to end up on the radio.
  50. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    Solid effort after the major breakthrough of only by the night! pyro, pony up, pickup truck are the stand out tracks on this album. also good to see that there was no sex on fires or use somebody's on this album.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    36
    Come Around Sundown is, and it ends up being no different from a lot of the phony populism in the air these days.
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    While enjoyable and familiar, this set of songs reflects a band who knows what music they don't want to be making but haven't--at least, not yet--determined what it is they want to be defined by instead.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Sundown is still considerably boring when compared to the likes of the Kings' first three albums. It's also too long, the back end sacked with faceless mid-tempo songs devoid of hooks that can't compare to the mini-epics up front.