Come Around Sundown

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Oct 19, 2010
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 111
  2. Negative: 22 out of 111
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    2
    Geez,after a couple of great albums with a unique sound they turn to this slop.

    Not worth listening to.Sell outs! They may wanna be U2(which they will never get close to being) but at least they had a unique sound that made them quite interesting.Unique sounding bands like Radiohead,U2,Beach House,etc are the ones who will never sell out their fundamental sound. This band needs to get
    Geez,after a couple of great albums with a unique sound they turn to this slop.

    Not worth listening to.Sell outs!

    They may wanna be U2(which they will never get close to being) but at least they had a unique sound that made them quite interesting.Unique sounding bands like Radiohead,U2,Beach House,etc are the ones who will never sell out their fundamental sound.

    This band needs to get back to the drawing board.Rick Rubin ,please help these lost lads.
    Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    3
    Although this album isn't as bad as the last two, I still feel cheated. Although there are brushes with greatness, KOL doesn't quite commit. Almost as if they believe that if they churn out something actually resembling rock that they are "cheapening" their artistic greatness. Ultimately KOL has become a clique, a perfect example of what happens when a great band starts believing theirAlthough this album isn't as bad as the last two, I still feel cheated. Although there are brushes with greatness, KOL doesn't quite commit. Almost as if they believe that if they churn out something actually resembling rock that they are "cheapening" their artistic greatness. Ultimately KOL has become a clique, a perfect example of what happens when a great band starts believing their own press. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2010
    1
    This is the sound of a band losing all its credibility, the sound of a band failing to recreate any sense of emotional authenticity that they once successfully postured. What an insult to the noble notion of rock and roll. What dull rubbish fed blindly to the (mostly British) tone-deaf masses. What filth. With the last album and this one, which is only marginally better, the Kings of LeonThis is the sound of a band losing all its credibility, the sound of a band failing to recreate any sense of emotional authenticity that they once successfully postured. What an insult to the noble notion of rock and roll. What dull rubbish fed blindly to the (mostly British) tone-deaf masses. What filth. With the last album and this one, which is only marginally better, the Kings of Leon have discredited the worth of all their previous work. An awful collection of songs that say nothing, literally nor emotionally. 1 point for not having anything closely resembling 'Sex on Fire'. Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    2
    Before 'Come Around Sundown' the quality of Kings of Leon's albums have taken on a distinct pattern:

    1st - Youth and Young Manhood - Brilliant, their best work 9/10 2nd - Aha Shake Heartbreak - OK but rushed 6/10 3rd - Because of the Times - Return to form 8/10 4th - We Are The Night - 3 decent tracks, otherwise dull 4/10 So. 1st and 3rd were good. 2nd and 4th not so good. Therefore,
    Before 'Come Around Sundown' the quality of Kings of Leon's albums have taken on a distinct pattern:

    1st - Youth and Young Manhood - Brilliant, their best work 9/10
    2nd - Aha Shake Heartbreak - OK but rushed 6/10
    3rd - Because of the Times - Return to form 8/10
    4th - We Are The Night - 3 decent tracks, otherwise dull 4/10

    So. 1st and 3rd were good. 2nd and 4th not so good. Therefore, according to this good-bad formula, I had faint hopes for 'Come Around Sundown'. How unfortunate then that their 5th, and worst, album sees them plunging headlong into the toned-down, wishy-washy nonsense that inhabited much of their last album. What a shame. In 2003 this was an exciting band, rattling out a riotous brand of hillbilly rock n roll. In 2010, they bore me senseless
    Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2010
    0
    The last thing this world needs is another bloody arena-rock band. With Kings of Leon jumping aboard with bands like of Muse and Nickelback, it's no wonder the youth of today can't keep their attentions focused. With boring snot like "Come Around Sundown" (whose ass did that title fall out of, by the way?), the music industry seems not to care for artists anymore. Commercialization isThe last thing this world needs is another bloody arena-rock band. With Kings of Leon jumping aboard with bands like of Muse and Nickelback, it's no wonder the youth of today can't keep their attentions focused. With boring snot like "Come Around Sundown" (whose ass did that title fall out of, by the way?), the music industry seems not to care for artists anymore. Commercialization is the name, and Capitalism is the game. Get used to it folks, doesn't seem like things are going to turn around anytime soon. Expand
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    After listening to Youth and Young Manhood, Aha Shake Heart Break and Because of the times and bloody loving them, I now find my self feeling cheated and pissed off by their latest failure. Kings of Leon have turned into the laughing stock of music. They are quiet possibly the most un-humble group of ex-musicians i can think of. Their credibility is now in the negatives. Gutted.
  7. Oct 26, 2010
    1
    Sell Out! I was working in a bar in Ireland in 2003 - before I opened up I turned on the Q music channel and heard this hill billy band from the South belt out Molly for the first time - I thought the sound was farging awesome... I was a convert.

    Now - all I hear is a drone of whiny yet gutteral over produced pop rock - pretentious sell outs. Where did the hicks go? At least Black
    Sell Out! I was working in a bar in Ireland in 2003 - before I opened up I turned on the Q music channel and heard this hill billy band from the South belt out Molly for the first time - I thought the sound was farging awesome... I was a convert.

    Now - all I hear is a drone of whiny yet gutteral over produced pop rock - pretentious sell outs. Where did the hicks go?

    At least Black Crowes never sold out.
    Expand
  8. Oct 19, 2010
    0
    Utter garbage. cannot believe this is the same band that produced 3 outstanding albums to start off their music careers. Because of the times is one of, if not my favourite album of the 2000's. This doesn't even deserve to be compared to their first 3 albums, let alone put in the same sentence.
  9. Oct 20, 2010
    0
    What a disappointment. I was hoping for something more innovative rather than some mundane, ho hum, material that falls way short of my expectations. I guess I will have be content listening to their previous efforts. What happened to the band I so loved?
  10. Dec 18, 2010
    3
    The only way I can describe this album is - lacking in emotional connection, dull, boring, nothing groundbreaking. Only partly saved by 2 or 3 decent tracks. If KOL continue down this track they will be irrelevant in the next few years.
  11. Nov 7, 2010
    2
    mmh I'm disappointed. I have the feeling, these guys don't have ideas anymore. maybe its a creative crisis, but this album sounds boring. If Caleb wouldn't have his great distinctive voice, nobody would buy this album.
  12. May 17, 2011
    3
    All I can say is what happened to the Kings? They went from fearless young rock warriors to uninspired, bored pop-rock robots in the space of a couple of years. My theory is they stumbled onto Sex On Fire, which the masses obviously wolfed down & demanded more of & now they need time out to recharge & get the creative juices flowing again. We all know they're capable of so much moreAll I can say is what happened to the Kings? They went from fearless young rock warriors to uninspired, bored pop-rock robots in the space of a couple of years. My theory is they stumbled onto Sex On Fire, which the masses obviously wolfed down & demanded more of & now they need time out to recharge & get the creative juices flowing again. We all know they're capable of so much more than Come around Sundown even came close to achieving. It's dull as dishwater, it can't even muster up a Crawl & at their best Kings are just electrifying. I'll let them off with this one & await their comeback. I'd advise you do the same. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    36
    Come Around Sundown is, and it ends up being no different from a lot of the phony populism in the air these days.
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    While enjoyable and familiar, this set of songs reflects a band who knows what music they don't want to be making but haven't--at least, not yet--determined what it is they want to be defined by instead.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Sundown is still considerably boring when compared to the likes of the Kings' first three albums. It's also too long, the back end sacked with faceless mid-tempo songs devoid of hooks that can't compare to the mini-epics up front.