Come Feel Me Tremble - Paul Westerberg
Come Feel Me Tremble Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Named after a recent documentary about him, Westerberg's latest home-recorded solo disc contains some of the songs first heard in that film, as well as new material. It was released concurrently with 'Dead Man Shake' by his alter-ego, Grandpaboy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    Much of Suicaine Gratifaction sounded like it had been written in a mood of morose introspection, but Come Feel Me Tremble is brazenly exclamatory. [Jan 2004, p.102]
  2. Even taking into account his work with the Replacements, this is the album on which every song is truly worth hearing.
  3. At the very least, it's the best album of Paul Westerberg's spotty solo career.
  4. 80
    On par, quality-wise, with the triumph that was last year's Stereo/Mono. [#61, p.110]
  5. The scratchy voice still aches, the guitar riffs still gleefully rip off the Faces, and the songs sound like they just fell out of bed. [24 Oct 2003, p.106]
  6. 70
    Regret comes in many shades, but Westerberg never makes it boring or mopey. [Nov 2003, p.123]
  7. Muddy, swamp rockabilly. [Jan 2004, p.108]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. KenL&BonitaJ
    Aug 12, 2005
    10
    Great album!
  2. KennethL
    Dec 12, 2003
    10
    This is a very good album. It holds up with anything in the alternative genre. It totally rocks.
  3. ronw
    Jan 27, 2004
    10
    Utterly brilliant. Better than any 'mats record, and I saw them 5 times in the 80s. Sounds like vintage '72 Stones, but more literate. 'Crackle and Drag' is as amazing as 'Answering Machine' and 'Wild and Lethal' rocks better than most alternacrap. What a comeback! Collapse
  4. BrianM
    Oct 30, 2003
    8
    This album picks up where Stereo left off, but with less successful results. Song like "Dirty Diesel" and "Crackle and Drag" are prrof Westerberg's talent as a song-writer. While tracks like "Hillbilly Junk" and "Soilder of Misfortune" sound under-produced and under-developed. However, it is a great addition to Westerberg's catalogue if you are a fan of Stereo/Mono. Expand
  5. HeinrichK
    Nov 21, 2003
    8
    I've been a fan of his writing since 1985 and he never really disappoints me. I love "Making Me Go", "Hillbilly Junk", and "Meet Me In The Alley". I'd give it an 8.5 if you had that rating. Expand
  6. PeterB
    Nov 1, 2003
    8
    Westerberg is again in fine form on his follow up to 2002's "comeback" LP "STEREO". The songs are strong and Westerberg's raunchy "Keith meets Ronnie" rythmns are glorious throughout. It would have been nice to see Paul employ a full band and maybe take a little more time in a real studio. But hey, what the heck - Paul is back with a new album and hopefully a tour to follow. All is well in the land of Westerberg!! Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My blog is a coded love letter and I often like to play word games but what might have been implied in "Bridesmaid" was purely accidental. I would never intentionally disrespect you. Expand