• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Comedown Machine Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth full-length studio release for the alternative rock band led by Julian Casablancas.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Mar 22, 2013
    90
    This record is fun, it’s exuberant, and it’s diverse--and yet nothing sounds unnatural or feels crowbarred in.
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    80
    They’ve returned with their most thought provoking, strange and sexiest record yet.
  3. Comedown Machine is, essentially, The Strokes' 1980s album.
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    61
    The deeply uncool Comedown Machine smacks of effort.... Still, the limitations of Comedown Machine's protracted diversity all come back to Casablancas, a man with wide range as a listener and extremely narrow range as a musician.
  5. Mar 25, 2013
    60
    Comedown Machine remains a pretty good album, possibly the least characteristic thing they've released to date.
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    50
    The Strokes’ hallmarks--those lean melodies, that steely interplay among guitarists Nick Valensi and Albert Hammond Jr. and bassist Nikolai Fraiture, the urgency of Julian Casablancas’s vocals--are largely absent on Comedown Machine, their fifth studio album. In their place is a looseness that’s refreshing enough, until you realize these guys are perhaps running short on ideas.
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    40
    For the most part, this sounds like a band running low on ideas, or motivation, or the indefinable magic that makes a band a band.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    As with Angels, its a CD I can sit around and listen to from start to finish without ever getting tired out it. I'm not sure why I didn'tAs with Angels, its a CD I can sit around and listen to from start to finish without ever getting tired out it. I'm not sure why I didn't review better. If you're a Strokes fan this is exactly what you'd expect as the next step from this band. Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    great album more rockier fading thangreat album more rockier fading than before!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Wow... I stay impressed with The Strokes, totally different from their previous Albums, and believe you me not a bad thing; Tracks like "TapWow... I stay impressed with The Strokes, totally different from their previous Albums, and believe you me not a bad thing; Tracks like "Tap Out" "All The Time" 'One way Trigger" Even, "Welcome to Japan" Yes, I am telling you this Album is good very different but so damn good, Although, all of my friends are not happy with it, I still recommend it to you. And that is just half of the songs, the reason why you might have problems liking this album could be the fact that Julian keeps his voice higher in some of these songs, something we are not used to. "80 's Comedown Machine" almost made me cry by far, my Favorite from the Album. "Slow Animals" and "Chances" two more songs that prove this Album is Fantastic and The Strokes have not lost their touch. The last track, something completely different yet, I find myself relaxing and loving it just as much... Don't be so quick to dismiss this album, it is definately worth a second chance... Again, I recommend this to you. Collapse
  4. May 16, 2013
    9
    To be honest, I was never a fan of the Strokes. I just wasn't on board for their brand of rock revival for some reason. However this new albumTo be honest, I was never a fan of the Strokes. I just wasn't on board for their brand of rock revival for some reason. However this new album I really enjoyed. I think his vocals are better served by the synth noises and electro beats that inhabit the sound here. If you love 80's new wave check it out. Expand
  5. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    "Comedown Machine" can't even hold a light up to the classic "Is This It".. yet it manages to be the best album since the very good "Room on"Comedown Machine" can't even hold a light up to the classic "Is This It".. yet it manages to be the best album since the very good "Room on Fire". While the best tracks "First Impressions of Earth' and "Angles" eclipse any on "Comedown Machine" (see You Only Live Once, Heart in a Cage, Undercover of Darkness, Taken for a Fool, Machu Piccu and Gratisfaction being the best from album 3&4), Comedown Machine manages to be a better more complete album as a whole, partially because there are no extreme low moments like FIoE and Angles had (see practically every other song on FIoE, You're So Right, Metabolism being the worst from 3&4).
    This album, unlike the last two, is decisive on a style, and even if its unlike the great style we heard on Is This It, they made a plan and worked with it. It's a lot of fun, with some great songs mixed in with a lot of pretty good ones. (Great ones= Call it Fate Call it Karma, One Way Trigger, 80's Comedown Machine). Don't expect to have your mind blown.. hopefully that comes next time. Solid 7.5
    Expand
  6. Apr 4, 2014
    7
    Comedown Machine kind of continues on from where Angles left off, moving further away from the classic Strokes sound yet still containingComedown Machine kind of continues on from where Angles left off, moving further away from the classic Strokes sound yet still containing enough elements to allow to recognise the band at the helm. Lead single "One Way Trigger" is one of the bands stranger singles and at times is unrecongisable as The Strokes with a guitar sound disguised with A-Ha type synth sounds. While it lacks a classic tracks such as "Under cover of Darkness", Comedown Machine is every bit as good an album as Angles, both of which fall well short of the stands set by the bands first 2 records but equally far exceed the bands lazy and jaded third album. Comedown Machine shows a little of invention and adventure which at this stage of the bands career is vital in order to keep anyones interest alive. Expand
  7. Apr 17, 2013
    1
    I've heard a lot about this band and their supposedly amazing debut, but I haven't got around to listening to it yet. But I decided to giveI've heard a lot about this band and their supposedly amazing debut, but I haven't got around to listening to it yet. But I decided to give their latest release a try, seeing as it could well be the group's last album. Well, if that's the case, they're not going out with a bang. This is one of the weirdest albums I've ever heard barely audible voices, awful vocals, lyrics I can't make head or tail of, and a bunch of odd noises that send me reeling. It seems like something thrown together for a joke. The lead single, All The Time, is practically a crime against music. The only decent song is closing track, Call It Fate, Call It Karma, which is a beautiful ballad and a glimpse into what the album could have been. I've heard a lot of fans say that their debut was their opus and they slowly declined from there, so I'm surprised that most of them seem satisfied with this. I expected more effort from a final album. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews