• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jul 24, 2001
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    Comfort Eagle is infinitely smarter, smarmier and catchier than Weezer's Green Album. [Oct 2001, p.79]
  2. Uncut
    80
    John McCrea's sense of subversion skates on the thin ice of their self-belittling grooves without ever quite toppling. [Jan 2002, p.131]
  3. Cake at times manage to counterbalance the smart-aleck cynicism with skilled musicianship, and when [John] McCrea drops the monotone bombast and actually sings, the songs really work.
  4. 70
    Cake often veers close to the land of Dr. Demento -- but its catchy, quirky music always manages to pull back from the brink of madness by being a bit more substantial than your typical novelty tune.
  5. With Comfort Eagle mainly serving as a variation on the same themes that Cake keeps covering, it's tough to say for sure whether it's a better or worse album than anything else by the band.
  6. It's mostly funny, but it also gets kind of same-y as these average Joes embrace their marching-band backgrounds and revel in self-deprecating humor.
  7. The sweetest moments come when frontman John McCrea breaks from the formula and extends his baritone beyond a single note, as on the harmony fueled ''Pretty Pink Ribbon'' and the yearning ''World of Two.''
  8. Just as little has changed on the radio front, so has Cake stuck with its market-proven formula on "Comfort Eagle."
  9. The best songs, particularly "Long Line of Cars" and "Pretty Pink Ribbon," exhibit a modern pop that is both mechanized and organic.
  10. Blender
    60
    McCrea is still spinning wry, keenly observed stories, though the band has broadened its stylistic base some... [Aug/Sep 2001, p.121]
  11. Q Magazine
    60
    When it works, it works brilliantly. [Dec 2001, p.120]
  12. 60
    And the songs are catchy, yes. Just not so catchy that you're already singing along with them the first time you hear them.
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    4
    This is CAKE's worst album, by far. I am a big fan, and I really like all their albums except this one. The songs on Comfort Eagle just lackThis is CAKE's worst album, by far. I am a big fan, and I really like all their albums except this one. The songs on Comfort Eagle just lack the kind of hooks we normally hear from CAKE, and I get bored listening to it (which I can't say about any of their other work). Also, this version of Short Skirt Long Jacket isn't as good as the one on B-sides and Rarities. Save yourself the trouble, get B-Sides instead of this. Trust me. Full Review »
  2. AyshL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing.
  3. AlexD
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    I think this album is dignified and pretty, especially pretty pink ribbon. The baritone part was awesome!