User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ta
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    one of the best records of the year. beth is the most sexy musician
  2. MarkR
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    This is her best album to date (and that's saying a lot!). Her voice, writing, and music have a perfect synergy...especially on "A Place Aside", "Shopping Trolley" and "Shadow of a Doubt". This record is a masterpiece.
  3. RichardR
    Feb 9, 2006
    10
    I don't really care about the arrangements and whether it's folky or jazzy or whatever; I just completely love her voice and her melodies. Along with Tracy Thorne, right, from EBTG? she has one of the most beautiful female voices in pop music today. Another cool thing is she looks just like she sounds. I've been waiting a long time for this album, and it's beautiful, I don't really care about the arrangements and whether it's folky or jazzy or whatever; I just completely love her voice and her melodies. Along with Tracy Thorne, right, from EBTG? she has one of the most beautiful female voices in pop music today. Another cool thing is she looks just like she sounds. I've been waiting a long time for this album, and it's beautiful, and so is she. Expand
  4. MPFrank
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    gets better with each and every listen - her best
  5. RaülJ
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece. Stunning
  6. StephenP
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    This album is so beautiful, organic, lush, and heartfelt. I have found Orton to be "boring" in the past, and I cannot overstate how striking, pretty and engaging this album is. Highly recommended.
  7. JaniceN
    Feb 14, 2006
    9
    It took 4 years but well worth waiting for, beautiful song-writing, fantastically expressive voice and full of raw human emotion. Just been to see her live and the songs sounds even better. Excellent
  8. Daniel,Natalie,JamieVarious
    Feb 7, 2006
    9
    We really like Beth Orton- so we kind of knew that we would like Comfort of Strangers. But we were all surprised at how excellent it was. Beth's lyrics are still honest, true- to- life, sometimes poetic- just like her voice. O Rourke's production is brilliant- Natalie heard someone on the radio say that he has 'special talents'- and this is so true. It's difficult We really like Beth Orton- so we kind of knew that we would like Comfort of Strangers. But we were all surprised at how excellent it was. Beth's lyrics are still honest, true- to- life, sometimes poetic- just like her voice. O Rourke's production is brilliant- Natalie heard someone on the radio say that he has 'special talents'- and this is so true. It's difficult to describe. Anyway, every song on here is quite stripped down, but not too spare- the richness is in the vocals and instrumentation- and Jim O' Rourke is a great bassist and Tim Barnes is a great drummer- so their additions become the harmonies in way, working with Beth Orton's vocals and weaving in and out to create texture- and if any more texture is needed, well deployed strings, piano and marimba are sown in. Expand
  9. KeriH
    Feb 8, 2006
    9
    Her finest work yet. Very intimate and dirrect. This simpler acoustic sound suits her better.
  10. IPC
    Feb 8, 2006
    9
    Her best record. Lazy? No way! If I reviewed Comfort after the first listen, I'd give in a 5. After listening to it a few more times it really started to grow on me and now its all I listen to.
  11. Zyurn
    Feb 17, 2006
    9
    Strong, genuine, heartfelt music with spare, tight accompaniment. Orton's best yet. I'd give it a 10, but 9 means there just a hint of rawness to it and I like that better. A wonderful gift from Orton. Thank you.
  12. enrico
    Feb 28, 2006
    9
    I love this girl, andi lov her music too. I waited for her a long time, and now i can listen to this new fantastic album.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    i've been listening to this album non-stop now for about a week. it gets better each time. although i have to say it would probably be a better album without 'worms'.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Both her most musically spare and artistically complex [album] to date.
  2. While Orton has a tendency to mimic her own melodies, she explores jazz structures here in engaging, exciting ways, and the indigent heartland iconography of her lyrics is beautiful without being cloying.
  3. 83
    Unerringly lovely, but best when the drums heat up. [Feb 2006, p.87]