Common Courtesy

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
Buy On
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    It's hard not to find something to like here no matter where your tastes may lie.
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    70
    There’s no question Common Courtesy will at least partially satisfy eager fans, because if nothing else, it’s a textbook A Day To Remember record. Whether or not that’s good or bad is entirely up to you.
  3. Kerrang!
    Nov 19, 2013
    80
    Impressive act of defiance or not, when the dust has settled, this will also be rightly remembered as simply a great album. [19 Oct 2013, p.52]
  4. With Common Courtesy...love it or hate it as you will...A Day To Remember is getting started all over again. And the album ensures that this band hasn't yet seen the peak of its popularity.
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    90
    Common Courtesy is not the end of this band. If anything, it’s their new beginning.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 3, 2016
    5
    The aggression is gone, ADTR has fully adopted the mainstream metal-core persona. The only songs that pop out are "Right Back at It Again,"The aggression is gone, ADTR has fully adopted the mainstream metal-core persona. The only songs that pop out are "Right Back at It Again," and "Sometimes You're the Nail." It's sub par, it's uninspired. Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2014
    9
    Let me make something abundantly clear: This is not my kind of music. Pop punk and the slightly softer side of metalcore usually fall flatLet me make something abundantly clear: This is not my kind of music. Pop punk and the slightly softer side of metalcore usually fall flat for more, and are extremely uninteresting or just straight up bad. Let me make something else clear: This album is great. Whatever ADTR did well before, they do even better here. What's more, is that a lot of their shortcomings are either fixed or strengthened. The pop is sweeter, the metalcore is more brutal than ever, and every member of the band is top of their game. Every song is good and adds to the album. It's creative, cohesive, and for me just a bit of a guilty pleasure. I can't help but admire it all, and dare I even say, love this album. ADTR have made their magnum opus. Full Review »
  3. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    I absolutely love it. A Day To Remember have been my favourite band for a long time now, and they've certainly outdone themselves with thisI absolutely love it. A Day To Remember have been my favourite band for a long time now, and they've certainly outdone themselves with this album. Amazing. Full Review »