Como Ama Una Mujer - Jennifer Lopez
Como Ama Una Mujer Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "How A Woman Loves," J.Lo's first Spanish-language disc, is co-written and co-produced by her husband, Marc Anthony.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Dovetailing with her choice of sound and arrangements that straddle convention and invention, Lopez mines new emotional depths. [31 Mar 2007]
  2. A sincere album, organic in its instrumentation and introspective in its lyrics.
  3. Como Ama does represent a victory for Lopez by offering fairly persuasive proof that, contrary to rumor, she can sing, and without a regiment of background choralists. All that bulking up she's been doing at the vocal gym isn't enough, though, to turn flaccid torch songs into muscle.
  4. 40
    The music... is tacky and overproduced.... The songwriting here far outstrips Lopez's previous albums, though. [May 2007, p.116]
  5. The problem is that Lopez easily ages herself by a decade or two. In other words, Mama Lopez is probably going to love this album.
  6. What we get is listless by the numbers "latin rock", dull, sleepy ballads, and overblown Diva numbers I wouldn't wish on Whitney Houston.
  7. Sloppy, emotion-free, chicken-in-a-basket ballads. [May 2007, p.125]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    My favorite spanish album of all time!!! i'm still listening to this everyday. it's a sincere and beautiful album. CAUM is vocally superior to her previous ones for sure. Expand
  2. aubreydR
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Jennifer Lopez rocks! And She Will do it again and again. Como Ama Una Mujer is one of JLO Best Work Along with Bordertown song "Porque La Vida Es Asi" and of course "ALive" of Enough movie. She's the Best Artist. Expand
  3. NadiaM
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Como ama una mujer is Jennifer Lopez best album !! with songs like Que hiciste, Me haces faltas, Por arriesgarnos, Sola, Adios and the beatifull Tu she finaly showcase her voice and she can really sing. This album is going to be a classic. Expand
  4. Niki
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    This album is truly amazing! In order to appreciate this record, you need to actually like Spanish love music. If you're looking for dance songs, these are not them. The best effort from Jennifer and now I cannot wait for her future projects. Expand
  5. DavidR
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    I am stunned by this album. Jennifer Lopez, singing in Spanish, has created the most passionate album of 2007. I'm not a Lopez fan and I don't speak Spanish, but I am a huge fan of this album. I love the passion and fire I hear in Lopez's voice. She has never sounded better - confident, sexy, very dramatic. Her diction in Spanish is over the top. There is Latin fire in her voice. I don't know what the critics will say; they should love it. But if they don't, trust me, there is greatness here. It is the best album I have heard so far in 2007. Expand
  6. FlorinFlorin
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Jennifer comes with a new style of music this time maybe trying to conquier other hearts. those probably who are not fond of her earlier albums might find it appealing this. some who loved her music might be dissapointed this time or just get over it and wait for the next. This album fills me with happines and power. I hope you will love this album. Expand
  7. CaladoniaK
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    Awful. One of the worst albums of 2007 by far.

See all 33 User Reviews