• Record Label: Rhino
  • Release Date: Oct 18, 2011

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Dec 14, 2011
    No surprises in terms of material, but the presentation is exquisite, sounding familiar and fresh, a stunning re-presentation of records that were teetering on the edge of over-familiarity.
  2. Jan 9, 2012
    An 8-CD vinyl replica box set of no additional material.
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    It is, in effect, the only acceptable historical document of the nearly incomprehensible phenomenon that was The Smiths.
  4. Magnet
    Sep 12, 2012
    The anthology does yield insights, especially where Mar is concerned. [#82, p.51]
  5. Mojo
    Dec 22, 2011
    Fans disappointed at the resolutely unexpanded LPs should be aware; the upgrade makes revisiting them a supreme enjoyment anyway. [Nov 2011, p.110]
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    The new mastering job, by Frank Arkwright working with Marr, actually is really good: loud but not bomb-level loud, clear, and airy. (Hatful of Hollow, in particular, is dramatically improved from its previous incarnations.) On the other hand, Complete is a profoundly inaccurate description of this set.
  7. Dec 14, 2011
    Complete doesn't break any new ground, but it does allow you to have one of the most influential bands in all of rock music rounded up in one place.
  8. 80
    The first line of the first song encapsulates the adolescent angst which blossomed over and over throughout the band's career, with varying degrees of wit, empathy, contempt and self-pity.
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. May 9, 2012
    Reviewing the back catalogue of the most influential bands in British pop music isn't possible to do in one go. The Smiths were a 10/10Reviewing the back catalogue of the most influential bands in British pop music isn't possible to do in one go. The Smiths were a 10/10 singles band. That said the band weren't perfect and some of their album tracks don't quite hit top marks. This collection is obviously one for those who are big fans of the band and don't already have everything. It might be a bit too much too soon for newcomers to the band - you don't introduce yourself to a band by buying everything they've owned at once. If you like the Smiths and only know their hits - you;ll really enjoy this collection - fantastic stuff. There is a bit of duplication across the disks (weird how many compilations came out while the Smiths were active) but it's great for those who weren't around as The Smiths were bring out records to be able to get everything together in one box. As a collection it's a 10 but taking each individual track that's included objectively I'd have to give it an overall score of 9 ,which is pretty high considering it's taking everything they've ever put out into consideration (no band will ever get 10 out 10 for everything they've ever put out - NO ONE!). If your looking for an introduction to the Smiths go no further than "The Queen is Dead", by far the bands best and one of my favourite albums of all time, or else go for one of their singles collections. If you want to immerse yourself in Morrissey and Marr then I would recommend. Full Review »