User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2011
    9
    Yeah ive pretty much been thrashing this albumb because its really good and I havnt heard anything i've liked this much in ages. Every song is pretty strong and fits in with the albumb, I havnt ever skipped, their all good, some require a couple of listens.
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Honestly, I wasn't a big fan of Puscifer at first, I found the lyrics to be odd, and I didn't like the overall sound as much as A Perfect Circle's or Tool's. But after listening to this album my opinion has completely changed, every song is fantastic, you can tell that Maynard really put his heart and soul into this record, this may actually be my favorite album of this year, please give this album a chance, it is an amazing, and well-crafted piece of art. Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    I went in a little skeptical. I had mixed feelings regarding V is for Vagina, but found some hope for Puscifer in its EPs and soundtrack contributions. This album greatly exceeded my expectations. It flows wonderfully and uses Maynard's vocal talents to the fullest, demonstrating his amazing range and ability to convey emotions. One of my favorite albums so far this year.
  4. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Can't say I was expecting a lot when I decided to give this a listen. I probably would've ignored it if it hadn't been for a recommendation from my English teacher. But, listen I did, and the only thing I can say is Thanks, [aforementioned English teacher]. The music on this album is some of the best I've ever heard, and I'd rate this among Maynard James Keenan's greatest achievements. I'd rate this album above Tool's "10,000 Days". Easily one of my top five albums, and the best I've heard this year. Expand
  5. May 17, 2013
    9
    There is some serious depth in this album. The imagery is great and you can almost imagine Maynard sitting in his truck in the middle of the desert writing lyrics. Great feeling of serenity throughout. Great alternative view of a genius.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    70
    While the album can, at times, feel unfocused, that's also the point of a project like Puscifer, which allows us to take a look inside the mind of one of the most creative frontmen of the last 20 years.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    60
    For as much effort Keenan puts into the head-scratching, overarching plot of this project, he puts as much gumption into the music that, on its own, could illuminate an applause sign.
  3. Nov 11, 2011
    40
    Lucky for Conditions of My Parole, Puscifer has graduated from embarrassingly stupid to simply boring. [#81, p. 59]