User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanB
    Oct 15, 2009
    8
    Pitchfork wtf??? "...sweeping portentousness with mundane douchebaggery" Get over yourself.
  2. SteveJ
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Awesome, awesome band. "Resurrection" is epic.
  3. NickB
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Fantastic Debut. This CD just keep getting stuck in my cars CD player and i don't mind one bit! Well done Temper Trap for great music that is accessible on so many levels.
  4. N
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Amazing voice. Great live act.
  5. JoeY
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    WOW what a voice! Superb album. The first track Love Lost has more passion in a song than I have heard all year. Soldier On is a personal favourite.
  6. DavisW.
    Oct 14, 2009
    8
    Though not doing anything terribly new or exciting, when they travel down the same roads as others, somehow they pull it off just about as well, or sometimes better, as any other anthemic rock band out there.
  7. MarcosS.
    Oct 24, 2009
    9
    Great little album, that pitchfork review is rubbish.
  8. Feb 18, 2012
    8
    The Temper Trap have crafted a surprisingly well debut album. Dougy Mandagi's vocals are something to get lost in. It's unlike any other album I've listened too. "Sweet Disposition" is the best track on the album. All In All, The Temper Trap are a surprisingly great band and Conditions is a wonderful record. B+
  9. Jan 28, 2011
    8
    The songs Fader, Sweet Disposition and Down River are well worth a listen and the singer really brings something different. Hope they stay around longer.
  10. Mar 14, 2011
    7
    The Temper Trap have produced a, to put it bluntly, 'good' album. There were three tracks on this album that stood out for me 'Sweet Disposition', 'Fader', and 'Love Lost'. These three outstanding tracks saved the album from a negative review- they are excellent. Each with a different feel, they all showcase the best of Australia's music. In particular, Sweet Disposition, I believe, isThe Temper Trap have produced a, to put it bluntly, 'good' album. There were three tracks on this album that stood out for me 'Sweet Disposition', 'Fader', and 'Love Lost'. These three outstanding tracks saved the album from a negative review- they are excellent. Each with a different feel, they all showcase the best of Australia's music. In particular, Sweet Disposition, I believe, is the best song by an Australian artist of the decade. This track is worth 16.99 itself, or however much Itunes charges for the album. However, the album has a shocking consistency. It is filled with let-downs. Apart from the aforementioned three songs, this album has nothing. The only reason this album scored so well is due to the simple fact that it has three songs which pull it through, and make the album a worthwhile buy. Expand
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. There's nothing here that's going to surprise anyone in the slightest, but this is sleekly produced, brilliantly written and expertly executed radio fodder.
  2. The Temper Trap relocated to london in May of this year in a bid to woo the uk: this is not a bad calling card at all.
  3. What the Temper Trap do devastatingly well is drape post-office-party mistake-hookup tackiness in the lofty imagery of global struggle....Elsewhere, the Temper Trap's pairing of sweeping portentousness with mundane douchebaggery is trickier to overlook.