Confessions On A Dance Floor

Confessions On A Dance Floor Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 672 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Stuart Price co-produced the 47-year-old Anglophile's latest dance-oriented effort.

Top Track

Hung Up
Time goes by so slowly Time goes by so slowly Time goes by so slowly Time goes by so slowly Time goes by so slowly Time goes by so... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Confessions... is vocally sharp and (at times) lyrically breathtaking, but it is difficult to imagine this album working without Price's involvement.
  2. Sweaty, head-spinningly good dance music.
  3. Swirling, throbbing and altogether great. [19 Nov 2005]
  4. Los Angeles Times
    75
    Disco with a vengeance, a whomping, unapologetically airheaded engine of stroboscopic beats and succulent textures that exhumes dance music's time-honored values of celebration and affirmation. [13 Nov 2005]
  5. The first half, in particular, has irresistible momentum... The second half drags a little, and you wish Madonna would strip the synths back to work a bass line every now and then.
  6. While she succeeds rather handsomely on those modest terms, it's more than a little odd to hear Madonna scaling back her ambition and settling for less rather than hungering for more.
  7. Blender
    60
    [It] sounds as if she's happy to give the people what they want: escapism and nostalgia. [Dec 2005, p.152]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 294
  1. SantixR.
    Jun 11, 2010
    10
    I must say that I never really paid attention to Madonna until this album. I became a fan when i heard Confessions on a Dance floor. I must say that I never really paid attention to Madonna until this album. I became a fan when i heard Confessions on a Dance floor. It's great for parties and for just a person dancing in the room. For me, it's the best Madonna album to date. Expand
  2. Tada-maddyman
    Jan 21, 2006
    10
    Confessions made another surprise when it debuted at No.1 in nearly 40 various country. Album managed to a massive improvement fro latest Confessions made another surprise when it debuted at No.1 in nearly 40 various country. Album managed to a massive improvement fro latest album effort American Life. So we oughta wish Madonna this huge success because when U R 47 year-old this is amazing´. Expand
  3. EmmaD
    Nov 14, 2005
    10
    So catchy and fun - I understand the hype
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Confessions on a dance floor is the definition of madonna. Groovy beats and some of her best vocals (get together). Each song could be aConfessions on a dance floor is the definition of madonna. Groovy beats and some of her best vocals (get together). Each song could be a single and it's a non stop dance journey. The ultimate pop album for me. Expand
  5. ChrisL
    Nov 15, 2005
    9
    Pure dance odesssey!! Standout tracks include Hung Up, Sorry, Jump and Forbidden Love.
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Retrospective Review:
    It's hard to imagine Madonna topping up her best album, Ray of Light, but Confessions on the Dancefloor is the BEST
    Retrospective Review:
    It's hard to imagine Madonna topping up her best album, Ray of Light, but Confessions on the Dancefloor is the BEST album from Madonna since her Ray of Light era with its interesting concept and catchy disco-electronica tracks that are been overlooked by most people.

    Highlights: Hung Up, I Love New York, Forbidden Love, Jump, Issac and Push.
    Personal Favorties: Everything in this album.
    Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Nov 15, 2005
    0
    if there was negative score I would score - the biggest number ever. She should not be allowed to make another album after her deathworthy if there was negative score I would score - the biggest number ever. She should not be allowed to make another album after her deathworthy verison of American Pie. Collapse

See all 294 User Reviews