Confessions On A Dance Floor Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 441 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Stuart Price co-produced the 47-year-old Anglophile's latest dance-oriented effort.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Confessions... is vocally sharp and (at times) lyrically breathtaking, but it is difficult to imagine this album working without Price's involvement.
  2. Sweaty, head-spinningly good dance music.
  3. Believe the hype, this is even better than 'Ray Of Light.' [12 Nov 2005, p.45]
  4. Disco with a vengeance, a whomping, unapologetically airheaded engine of stroboscopic beats and succulent textures that exhumes dance music's time-honored values of celebration and affirmation. [13 Nov 2005]
  5. While she succeeds rather handsomely on those modest terms, it's more than a little odd to hear Madonna scaling back her ambition and settling for less rather than hungering for more.
  6. The first half, in particular, has irresistible momentum... The second half drags a little, and you wish Madonna would strip the synths back to work a bass line every now and then.
  7. But she's not attempting a simple 80's revival; for all the vaguely familiar hooks, there are also sustained, wistful overlays of strings and acoustic guitar that enfold the music like a haze of indistinct memory. [14 Nov 2005]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 265
  1. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This is my favourite album!!! It's simply great! Best dance album ever!!!! The sounds are incredible, the lyrics are fantastic, her voice is great!!! Love this album and love "Hung Up" and "Jump" my favourite songs! The album start with "Hung Up", probably the best track. When you hear this song your body starts to dance! Then there are "Get Together" and "Sorry" that are really good. The CD continues with "Future Lovers", "I Love New York", "Let It Will Be" and "Forbidden Love" that are excellent dance songs!!! And then there are "Jump" ( for me the second best track, then Hung Up ) "How High", "Isaac" ( great! ) "Push" and "Like it or not". All great tracks! "Confessions" is one of Madonna greatest CDs with "True Blue" and "Like a Prayer". I Love this!!!!!! ( sorry for my English ) Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    Amazing record. perfect for a dance floor. The Queen Of Pop surprises us again with a record so stomping you won't be able to stop listening to it
  3. Oct 4, 2010
    10
    this album made me love madonna because it features mesmerizing vocals and AMAZING beats. every song blends with the next one which makes this musical experience epic! Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This album is pure perfection. Only Queen of POP could deliver such a pop masterpiece. I love whole concept of this, I love that all of it create w bigger whole, i love her lyrics, and that oriental vibe in it. Very original, fresh album, even now in 2013 it still sounds great! Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Não esperava muita coisa quando baixei este álbum, mas Madonna me surpreendeu novamente.
    Apesar de ser
    extremamente dançante, Confessions On A Dance Floor tem muito mais a oferecer.
    Future Lovers é uma das melhores faixas da carreira da cantora. Like It Or Not e Let It Will Be também não ficam atrás.
    Certamente, esse álbum não é o melhor de Madonna (talvez ela nunca possa superar o grandioso Ray Of Light), mas está entre os melhores, ao lado de Bedtime Stories e Like A Prayer.
    Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Retrospective Review:
    It's hard to imagine Madonna topping up her best album, Ray of Light, but Confessions on the Dancefloor is the BEST
    album from Madonna since her Ray of Light era with its interesting concept and catchy disco-electronica tracks that are been overlooked by most people.

    Highlights: Hung Up, I Love New York, Forbidden Love, Jump, Issac and Push.
    Personal Favorties: Everything in this album.
    Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    7
    I like this album, but i don't get why people says this is Madonna's best album!! is dancy, catchy, but in my opinion there are some songs in the album that screw the whole record! Expand

See all 265 User Reviews