• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Apr 13, 2010
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 180

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2014
    6
    I had high expectations for this album, but I was a little disappointed. It's not bad at all, but I just can't relate to the lyrics at all. The instrumentals are pretty great, actually, but some songs just come off as trying to be weird to the point where it's not even fun to listen to. However, I love the tracks Flash Delirium, It's Working, Congratulations, and Siberian Breaks. It'sI had high expectations for this album, but I was a little disappointed. It's not bad at all, but I just can't relate to the lyrics at all. The instrumentals are pretty great, actually, but some songs just come off as trying to be weird to the point where it's not even fun to listen to. However, I love the tracks Flash Delirium, It's Working, Congratulations, and Siberian Breaks. It's worth a listen, and at the very least MGMT drove off the fans who only liked them for Electric Feel, Kids, and Time to Pretend. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    I LOVE LOVE this album. Every song on it has a different and unique sound. My favorite song is Flash Delirium. At first listen I thought wth was that? But then I had to listen to it again and again. Siberian Breaks is beautiful and I love every psychedelic second of it. Each time I listened to the album I noticed something different and the more it grew on me. Congratulations isI LOVE LOVE this album. Every song on it has a different and unique sound. My favorite song is Flash Delirium. At first listen I thought wth was that? But then I had to listen to it again and again. Siberian Breaks is beautiful and I love every psychedelic second of it. Each time I listened to the album I noticed something different and the more it grew on me. Congratulations is incredibly creative both in lyrics and in sound. This album is a masterpiece and severely underrated. Expand
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    10
    MGMT are more artistic then they ever have been.I guess only Tv on the radio and Pixies are allowed to be experimental not a use to be electro pop band.This world is so hypocritical and judgmental, MGMT said it best in the masterpiece song Flash delirium "The hot dog's is getting cold And you'll never be as good as the Rolling Stones "what a great line.Oh my god this world sucks.
  4. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    A strong album all the way through that doesn't suffer from high highs and low lows like their first did. It gets somewhat repetitive on two tracks at the most, but it's a much more sincere album that really sounds like something the band enjoys making.
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    In all honesty, at first I liked Oracular a lot better than this but as time passed Congratulations has proven to be the much more enduring work, with a much deeper sound not aimed at being simple pop songs but it still remains fun and accessible.
  6. Jun 1, 2013
    10
    I'm just gonna start by saying that the album cover is pretty friggin' amazing. Its not something you see everyday. The songs are great. Lady Dada's Nightmare, I Found A Whistle, and Siberian Breaks are my favorite songs on this album.
  7. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    A psychedelic masterpiece. My blanket guess is that you if you don't like this beautiful album, it's because you expected something along the lines of "Electric Feel" and "Time to Pretend" for MGMT's second album, and you didn't get it with Congratulations. While that is indeed a shame, it's not MGMT's fault. These two geniuses know more theory and have more creativity in their bones thanA psychedelic masterpiece. My blanket guess is that you if you don't like this beautiful album, it's because you expected something along the lines of "Electric Feel" and "Time to Pretend" for MGMT's second album, and you didn't get it with Congratulations. While that is indeed a shame, it's not MGMT's fault. These two geniuses know more theory and have more creativity in their bones than anything in Orac. Spec. hinted at, and Congratulations proves that without question. I mean, just the opener "It's Working." The chord progressions they build are nothing short of truly unique and memorable, while still groovy and flowing. Intricately-woven melodies abound, and the keen, simple-but-lush production is the icing on the cake. It's brilliant, and better than their first record by a notable amount. Get over "Kids" and get into "Siberian Breaks." You'll thank yourself. Expand
  8. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    The reason why so many people were disappointed with this album, was because they expected songs like kids, time to pretend, and electric feel. If you listen to oracular spectacular all the way through, the last few songs give you a glimpse of congratulation's feel. This music isn't for everyone, plain and simple. If you are true MGMT fan, you understand this album as whole. MGMT doesn'tThe reason why so many people were disappointed with this album, was because they expected songs like kids, time to pretend, and electric feel. If you listen to oracular spectacular all the way through, the last few songs give you a glimpse of congratulation's feel. This music isn't for everyone, plain and simple. If you are true MGMT fan, you understand this album as whole. MGMT doesn't make music; they make art, which was demonstrated in this album. My favorite tracks are "siberian breaks" and "flash delerium" Expand
  9. Sep 28, 2012
    8
    The first listen didn't convinced me, but by the third listen, everything made sense now. The songs are a blend of 60s poopy songs with modern ambient electronica. Very addicting. Nice album.
  10. Jun 7, 2012
    8
    Upon first listen, I didn't particularly care for Congratulations, but, with subsequent plays, it has grown on me considerably. If you at all enjoyed Oracular Spectacular for more than just its three singles: Kid's, Electric Feel, and Time to Pretend, you will enjoy this album. I am greatly looking forward to the bands third release.
  11. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    i remember when i first heard that MGMT made a follow-up to "Oracular Spectacular", i just figured it would be another album filled with stereotypical pop singles like "kids" or "electric feel". I rarely say what I'm about to say so do not take this lightly. This album has honestly changed my life in terms of how much more i value creativity and all of that sub-conscious nonsense. Thisi remember when i first heard that MGMT made a follow-up to "Oracular Spectacular", i just figured it would be another album filled with stereotypical pop singles like "kids" or "electric feel". I rarely say what I'm about to say so do not take this lightly. This album has honestly changed my life in terms of how much more i value creativity and all of that sub-conscious nonsense. This album is more than just an emulation of the 1960's and a psychedelic acid trip. It isn't the typical Sitar-and-excessive-reverb-type music you'd expect judging off of the album cover. It's more of a combination between garage, surf, and freakbeat with a little psych. It isn't the type of album you'll fall in love with at first (which is what the mgmt crowd was expecting) like it was with its' predecessor, but this was the case for me with a few of the songs. "It's Working" (the first track) is the song that attracted me to the album, probably my favorite song but i'm certain that it isn't the best because i haven't met a person who has agreed with me on this.I especially admire the band because, instead of taking the indie-rock approach which most current bands are taking,i they are setting the bar high by making a rock-star approach. Expand
  12. Oct 9, 2011
    7
    I'm quite sure the fellows from MGMT tried to do something as bigger or even much better than the work they did in "Oracular Spectacular", but it seems to me that they didn't got through it. They did not repeated the formula that worked on their first album, and brought the street, and not the jungle anymore, to the album. It's not a crap, it's a medium one, for someone that could do aI'm quite sure the fellows from MGMT tried to do something as bigger or even much better than the work they did in "Oracular Spectacular", but it seems to me that they didn't got through it. They did not repeated the formula that worked on their first album, and brought the street, and not the jungle anymore, to the album. It's not a crap, it's a medium one, for someone that could do a music as genious as "Kids". Expand
  13. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    7
    MGMT seems like they decided to go the "Of Moons, Birds, and Monsters" route from the debut LP. Which happens to be my favorite song from that record. I look forward to see what they do next.
  14. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    An awesome sophomore album. One of the better album to come out this generation of **** music. Siberian Breaks is on of the greatest songs to listen to while stoned. It blows your **** mind!
  15. May 26, 2011
    0
    After such an amazing debut I was seriously disappointed with the dire, forgettable crap that followed.
  16. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    An amazing second album by MGMT. The sound of this album is just beautiful. They've really matured since their first album Oracular Spectacular. The album opens up with "It's Working" and that song is like the definition of psychedelic rock. And the song "Congratulations" is just a beautiful song to end the album with. All In All, Congratulations is one of my favorite Psychedelic albums. A-
  17. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    After a couple almost full attentioned listens, I feel this album is much stronger than their first album. It won't wow you with immediate singles, but it is mesmerizing through it's entirety and I like the 12 minute Siberian Breaks. They seem to have nailed down a consistent sound with this album.
  18. Dec 3, 2010
    8
    What on earth do you do with your sophomore release if you're MGMT? In 2008 their inventive debut album of radio-friendly megahits provoked such a frenzy of superlatives from the like of Radio 1 and NME that their collective drool of the critics was detected oozing out of car-stereo speakers and strewn magazine pages for months afterwards.
    And certainly Oracular Spectacular was good - very
    What on earth do you do with your sophomore release if you're MGMT? In 2008 their inventive debut album of radio-friendly megahits provoked such a frenzy of superlatives from the like of Radio 1 and NME that their collective drool of the critics was detected oozing out of car-stereo speakers and strewn magazine pages for months afterwards.
    And certainly Oracular Spectacular was good - very good even - although it was a smidge front-loaded. But just how does an ambitious young band follow the "most in-demand album" in the world? Well, if you're MGMT, you ditch all that easy, brilliant pop accessibility and embark your expectant audience upon a voyage into a farcical universe swelling with psychedelic goofiness, unruly song structures and, err, Brian Eno. And, you know what, congratulations are in order. Ok, so it hasn't had Jo Whiley squealing all over the airwaves like a cat whose tail's been stamped on by a stiletto. All the better. Congratulations, despite the absence of an audience wower like 'Time to Pretend', is a denser, more consistent effort than its well-hyped predecessor; a unified listening experience rather than a mere compilation of singles. It's a daring departure from the formula that has won them so much favour and, whilst it doesn't risk 'Kid A' style alienation, the bold move deservedly draws such lofty comparison.
    Expand
  19. Nov 22, 2010
    5
    The melodies seem to be the only reason I am not hating the album as much as I would want to. The vocals and song arrangements aren't that appealing to my tastes, and leaves me thinking: "What's the big deal with MGMT?"
  20. Sep 14, 2010
    8
    Not as many hits as Oracular Spectacular but perhaps more consistant , a good album but not fantastic

    If the 3 singles from OS were on this and it would be fantastic
  21. Sep 3, 2010
    10
    An amazing album that is meant to be listened from front to back. If you're iffy on it after the first listen do yourself a favour and listen to it in its entirety a couple more times. This album will grow on you but as most reviews indicate, do not expect Kids or Time to Pretend type tracks.
  22. FredericL.
    Apr 19, 2010
    9
    An excellent second album that will make the indie-hipsters freak out...Nevermind the poseurs! Definitely on the same level as great psyche albums such as "Da Capo" or "Odessey & Oracles". Can´t wait for album 3 and let´s hope we have a second Metanoia-style EP in the middle.
  23. KazK
    Apr 19, 2010
    5
    This album feels like a b side album or the album they should of released pre Oracular Spectacular... to be honest i was excited about this album and hoping to see them at some festivals this year but now i'm not too bothered. the album contains good music but nothing special!
  24. ZacK
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    All the right decisions from this band. This is not a bullshit KIDS2 collection. These guys are the best thing around, forget all the negativity.
  25. DanO
    Apr 16, 2010
    9
    After a few listens I can say I enjoy it more than Oracular Spectacular. Overall the album is very solid. I found a whistle!!
  26. Keir
    Apr 16, 2010
    7
    It's a reasonable album, but anyone who raves about it is just going to go sit in a starbucks, read pitchfork, listen to music that "no one's ever heard of" and be ironic. So if you're an indie hipster that has to fit into every fad ever than this is the album for you. Download it illigally, buy the cd, the vinyl when it's out, and a t shirt. If anyone tells you the It's a reasonable album, but anyone who raves about it is just going to go sit in a starbucks, read pitchfork, listen to music that "no one's ever heard of" and be ironic. So if you're an indie hipster that has to fit into every fad ever than this is the album for you. Download it illigally, buy the cd, the vinyl when it's out, and a t shirt. If anyone tells you the album is sub-par, say MGMT did it to be ironic. Expand
  27. CraigtD.
    Apr 15, 2010
    10
    Wipes the floor with everything this year.
  28. BertBert`brett.w
    Apr 15, 2010
    2
    This album blows! Congratulations is the only good track.
  29. MattB.
    Apr 14, 2010
    5
    Practically a forever changes rip off in parts, fortunately this one won't age well.
  30. HunterL.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    Fantastic album, its not the exact same style as Oracular Spectacular, but that's not in any way a bad thing! It shows that MGMT is going to grow and advance rather than just stick to their one formula, the songs are varied yet very cohesive, there is certainly something in here for every listener.
  31. ChrisK.
    Apr 14, 2010
    3
    I can't think of a lousier sophomore album after an amazing debut since Fiona Apple. This follows in the footsteps of the latest releases by The Flaming Lips and Of Montreal. File under - "Too Many Drugs in the Studio" or "Drinking One's Own Kool-Aid".
  32. RickG
    Apr 14, 2010
    9
    Better than most music these days, in fact the more I listen to it...the better it gets. Loving every second.
  33. ChristianB
    Apr 14, 2010
    8
    Infinitely better than Oracular. There's not a single weak song on the entire tracklist, unlike the former which was mostly filler.
  34. DavidM.
    Apr 14, 2010
    10
    What a grower of an album. Soon it will be drilling itself into your subconscious.
  35. DocGonzo
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    Surprised at the tepid critical response thus far. To my ears, this is an incredibly cohesive psychedelic album absolutely brimming with excellent musical ideas. It's a great new direction for a talented young band.
  36. Gene
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    This is one of the most rewarding record to have come out in the past couple of year -- the right combination of strong melodies and intricate production, whimsy and discipline. It delays gratification in favor of revealing its charms gradually over repeated listens. If you are still on the fence about it, set aside 45 minutes, get away from your computer, put on your best headphones and This is one of the most rewarding record to have come out in the past couple of year -- the right combination of strong melodies and intricate production, whimsy and discipline. It delays gratification in favor of revealing its charms gradually over repeated listens. If you are still on the fence about it, set aside 45 minutes, get away from your computer, put on your best headphones and let it take you for a ride. I liked their first record, but Congratulation really made me believe in this band. Expand
  37. MattA
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    In my personal opinion... I went into this album knowing that it would be very different than their last. They have been known to say that they are trying to make an album that is, "Less Radio Friendly" than their last... This would generally give them an excuse to suck, and be able to release anything with an, "I told you so..." mentality... ... ... See MoreThat said... I actually really In my personal opinion... I went into this album knowing that it would be very different than their last. They have been known to say that they are trying to make an album that is, "Less Radio Friendly" than their last... This would generally give them an excuse to suck, and be able to release anything with an, "I told you so..." mentality... ... ... See MoreThat said... I actually really dig this new album. In fact, I'd go as far as to say that I like it better than their last. Now I wasn't the BIGGEST fan of their last... i liked it, but it left me wanting more in substance at times... that is where "Congratulations" differs from "Oracular Spectacular" and for several other reasons. The overall instrumentals i.e. drums, guitar, and synth are taken up a notch and build in each song. There are moments of what i like to call, "sonic brilliance" on this album. The songs on this album build to a climax, which displays a maturity in the song structure. They have grown out of simply starting and ending a song in a linear fashion, they grow with it. While there are no mega-hits, and I can't recommend this to anybody who isn't into electronic/alternative and isn't willing to just close their eyes and listen to the way the music is set up... then again... if most people did that... KISS FM and KROQ would be out of business... It's not a casual listen. But as a whole, it's more rewarding than their last album. No real catchy hit...but the sound makes up for it. 8.5/10 Expand
  38. JoshS.
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    I listened to this album from the beginning expecting an aimless, pretentious, precious attempt at trying too hard to be different from their acclaimed debut. But as much as the idea of an MGMT album without singles and with the electro-pop turned to zero and the psychadelia turned to eleven turned me off, I can't stop listening to this. With each listen I enjoy every track more, I listened to this album from the beginning expecting an aimless, pretentious, precious attempt at trying too hard to be different from their acclaimed debut. But as much as the idea of an MGMT album without singles and with the electro-pop turned to zero and the psychadelia turned to eleven turned me off, I can't stop listening to this. With each listen I enjoy every track more, with the possible exception of Lady Dada's Nightmare. Overall, it reminds me of a listenable version of the type of music Animal Collective or Yeasayer are making. I think this is a better overall record than their first, even if none of the tracks individually surpass Kids, Electric Feel, Time to Pretend, or The Youth. Expand
  39. gab
    Apr 13, 2010
    8
    At first I thought oracular specacular was way better, but after a few listens I learned to truly appreciate it. It doesnt have any singles like kids or electric feel, but it still is an excellent album.
  40. EricA
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    Still fantastic even without the mass market singles.
  41. PhadoV
    Apr 13, 2010
    9
    A great album. Very underrated.
  42. MackM.
    Apr 13, 2010
    8
    This is a very good follow up to Oracular Spectacular, but and i WOULD recommend it to people who liked kids as if its is not the MGMT you like, you will find something else in this album to love. Highlights- It's Working Flash Delirium Siberian Breaks Congratulations.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. This airy prog-psych self-indulgence is merely an elaboration of the back half of that debut--the half I tuned out then but appreciate some now, because, even as self-indulgent elaborations go, the follow-up's a doozy.
  2. Cowbells and organ chords set the frenetic pace for this crazed and eerie take on surf music that namechecks the godfather of ambient in its punkest track.
  3. MGMT's first long-player may have included catchier singles, but Congratulations is the better album, trading Oracular's deceptive superficiality for psychedelic grandeur. Of course, like all psychedelic things, that grandeur is pretty deceptive, too.