User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 3 out of 115

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelT.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely breathtaking. Consolers of the Lonely shows just how talented these guys are. From "Many Shades of Black" to "Rich Kid Blues" to "Carolina Drama", Jack White has created yet another amazing album.
  2. BlakeW.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Great...More polished than the first and more diverse.
  3. RobS.
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    The White Stripes are my favorite band, and Jack White is a personal hero of mine. The Raconteurs are more than a side project, I think that's been clear since their fantastic debut album. That critically-acclaimed album will go down in history for me as one of the best debut albums from any rock band. And this is surprisingly no sophomore slump. They've outdone themeselves The White Stripes are my favorite band, and Jack White is a personal hero of mine. The Raconteurs are more than a side project, I think that's been clear since their fantastic debut album. That critically-acclaimed album will go down in history for me as one of the best debut albums from any rock band. And this is surprisingly no sophomore slump. They've outdone themeselves lyrically and musically. The title track, Salute your Solutions, and Many Shades of Black are the highlights here for me, but there's very little filler on this album. A great album, almost perfect. Expand
  4. TomH.
    Apr 10, 2008
    8
    Almost as good as Elephant, but hands-down better than Broken Boy Soldiers.
  5. MichteffS.
    Apr 14, 2008
    10
    So much better than Broken Boy Soldiers, it's not even funny. Carolina Drama, Many Shades of Black, The Switch and the Spur are my favorite songs, but the whole album is great.
  6. Andrew
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    I find it sad that every review I read has some comparison to, or mention of the White Stripes. Is it not posible to just rate the album on its own merits instead of comparing it to another project that Jack White has going? I guess that's just the easiest way to fill the page and make a deadline...anyway, this album is fantastic. A real nod to ballsy, 1970's straight-up rock I find it sad that every review I read has some comparison to, or mention of the White Stripes. Is it not posible to just rate the album on its own merits instead of comparing it to another project that Jack White has going? I guess that's just the easiest way to fill the page and make a deadline...anyway, this album is fantastic. A real nod to ballsy, 1970's straight-up rock (and a little classic country here and there). There's nothing wrong with rehashing old school styles, just as long as you do it well. And these guys do it very well. Wasn't it Keith Richards who said it's better to stand on the shoulders of giants than...uh, I don't remember the rest. I wasn't a big fan of the first album because I didn't think they used Jack's considerable talents as well as they could have. There was no punch to it either. This album has all kinds of punch. It's almost like they said, "Hey, Jack, how about you stand in the front and let us follow you this time." And it totally works. Nearly-classic album. Expand
  7. YannG.
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    Very ambitious album, both in terms of songwriting and production. So ambitious actually that it is difficult to apprehend and appreciate at a first listen. Another reason being that this album is a such departure from their first effort. The tracks sung by Benson are the best in the collection (the sublime Many Shades of Black, the fiddle-fulled Old Enough, the gently psychedelic The Very ambitious album, both in terms of songwriting and production. So ambitious actually that it is difficult to apprehend and appreciate at a first listen. Another reason being that this album is a such departure from their first effort. The tracks sung by Benson are the best in the collection (the sublime Many Shades of Black, the fiddle-fulled Old Enough, the gently psychedelic The Switch and the Spur, The Nirvanesque Attention, the melhancolic You don't understand me, the squealing title track), but Jack White has pulled some winning songs off his sleeve as well. The closing dylanesque epic number, Carolina Drama, is by itself, worth the price of the album. Top Yourself, These stones will shout and Salute tour solution are great energy packed songs as well. The main problem with this album is it lengh and the presence of some lesser tracks. Hold Up, Five on the five are irritating. Pull this blanket off and Rich Kid Blues are unnoticeable. In Brief : keep only the good songs and you'll have a killer of an album. Inventive, innovative and somehow groundbreaking with its glossy, bold and in your face production. Expand
  8. ThijsD.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Briliant album, way better than BBS. Shame there isn't an anthem on it like Steady as she Goes, but great anyway! 10!
  9. MonkeyManCapossela
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album. With that being said its an ALBUM. Listen to the whole thing-to each song all the way through. Some songs change direction a bit and climax in an electronic geyser of sonic love. This album is also a grower. I find that many of the great ones take more than one listen. The great thing about this album it has something for everyone. Great work boys!
  10. TimM.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Best of the year so far. Even better than their first!
  11. BallzachM.
    Apr 1, 2008
    10
    Loved this album! It is F**king Amazing.
  12. BH
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Great diversity of styles. Great vocals and instrumentals. Great album muthaf**kas!
  13. DavisS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Carolina is a minor masterpiece, Jack White's imagination and storytelling surpasses anyone in this generation. The rest of the album is tight. The band has cohesiveness. The vocals are strong. A terrific album for fans of rock and roll.. This is the album bands like Jet tried to make but never could or did. Bravo
  14. Pat
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Damn cool... quite good. When I heard it first it faintly reminded of White Stripes until I realized that Jack White is the vocalist but they are totally original too. A must listen no matter what everyone else says...
  15. FrankM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Much better than the first. I could listen to this album all day and not get tired. Best Track - Many Shades of Black
  16. AlexV.
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    Great album overall. It has its fun songs (no surprise from Jack) and the mellow or dark songs like "You Don't Understand Me" and "Carolina Drama". Some songs are easier to listen to than others, but it all merges to this great album. The Blues rock band came back with a more efficient and fun sophomore album for the fans.
  17. Leslie
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    This album is unashamedly and unabashedly classic rock. I have to say, I love it. There are some amazing tunes on here. I have read some criticism that some of it sounds a bit White Stripe-ish (not a bad thing however!), isn't this to be expected though? Jack White is after all co-writing this material and writes all the Stripes material. Again, seems this is to expected. Fabulous This album is unashamedly and unabashedly classic rock. I have to say, I love it. There are some amazing tunes on here. I have read some criticism that some of it sounds a bit White Stripe-ish (not a bad thing however!), isn't this to be expected though? Jack White is after all co-writing this material and writes all the Stripes material. Again, seems this is to expected. Fabulous tunes, beautiful production, all executed by extremely talented musicians and songwriters. The more I listen to it, the more I love it. Word of advice to those yet to hear it, listen to it as a full album to fully appreciate the diversity and surprising cohesion. A perfect all American rock album. Expand
  18. NickB.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    This is such a great album. The Raconteurs come out of nowhere with a great sophomore release. So far best album of 2008 by miles.
  19. JosueB.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Seriously this album makes you want more and more from the band. Seems like there isn't enough songs to listen too.
  20. Mr.Pires
    Mar 29, 2008
    8
    I have to completely agree with YANN G. definately a sweet album. but I feel like sometimes you can tell they made it in a week. If it was reduced to 10 or 11 tracks it would be a 10 out of 10. and the vibe from Broken Boy Soldiers is a bit tougher, not as into the horns on this bad boy. Nevertheless a solid album from the amazing raconteurs.
  21. SarahZ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    8
    At this point, I've listened to the album about a dozen times. All in all, it's a good album, but there are a few tracks I've taken to skipping. Old Enough is one of them; it just seems so cheesy, with the lyrics and double tracked vocals. Some songs, like Salute Your Salution, You Don't Understand Me, Top Yourself, Attention, These Stones Will Shout, and Carolina At this point, I've listened to the album about a dozen times. All in all, it's a good album, but there are a few tracks I've taken to skipping. Old Enough is one of them; it just seems so cheesy, with the lyrics and double tracked vocals. Some songs, like Salute Your Salution, You Don't Understand Me, Top Yourself, Attention, These Stones Will Shout, and Carolina Drama, are instant classics. Expand
  22. GeoffL.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    Great album through and through. No song is the same but all are catchy and creative. Jack White's diversity is continually impressive.
  23. ShaneM.
    Apr 12, 2008
    9
    Top 5 of the year so far. Any reviewer that doesn't see it is only still hung up on comparing everything Jack White does to Elephant.
  24. JacobS.
    Apr 13, 2008
    8
    I feel like it was a rush-job and Jack was feeling kind of edgy and got his "angst" out through this album, whereas broken boy soldiers felt a little more passionate. Don't get me wrong, its a totally bitchin, rock your balls off album, but some songs sound a little JET (you know, COLD HARD BITCH). thats why it gets a 7 in my book.
  25. TuchoP.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Ridiculously, this could easily end up in a classic! Breathtaking...
  26. DanielC.
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    A great departure from "Broken Boy Soldiers," but still a great record.
  27. Jesse
    Mar 27, 2008
    7
    not bad, but still not what i've been hoping for from these guys.
  28. Jim
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    2008 album of the year.....brilliant beyond words!
  29. RyanT.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    This is a masterpiece. Its simply entertaining great blues-rock-pop. Very catchy but the highlight for me is the lyrics are a real step up from the prior ablum. Amazing album, what the Beatles would have done in 2008. Thanks Raconteurs.
  30. StitchG.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    I'm going out on a limb and giving it ten just to balance Mark L's crappy response to an extremely enjoyable and sophisticated record. I guess it's an 8.5 after about 10 consecutive listens. Jack outshines Brendon throughout just like with BBS but he's the man so why not? Some songs are too long and disguise their mediocrity with big bombastic horn sections and such. I'm going out on a limb and giving it ten just to balance Mark L's crappy response to an extremely enjoyable and sophisticated record. I guess it's an 8.5 after about 10 consecutive listens. Jack outshines Brendon throughout just like with BBS but he's the man so why not? Some songs are too long and disguise their mediocrity with big bombastic horn sections and such. It shits all over Icky Thump though. One of the best rhythm sections in rock tool I might add. And I'd rather hear this Jack than Get Behind Me Satan Jack any day. Expand
  31. MichaelC.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    This album is much more compact and focused than their debut. At this point in 2008 it is the best album of the year.
  32. DogBoneGiles
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    This album is SOLID. Broken Boy was crap IMO. This album is good all the way through much more refined.
  33. LayneM.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Probably the best album of the year so far.
  34. MegH.
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    I feel like I've been waiting for this band to put out this record as long as I've listened to music. 'Consolers' is the record of my dreams without the last track...
  35. JordanB.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    This is the record that lets you know music can still be awesome and it can be awesome just because it is. All the songs, save "Hold Up" are spectacular and give you something different in each one. I've listened to it way too many times in the past week...but that's ok because this stuff is never getting old.
  36. RileyS.
    Mar 29, 2008
    9
    A very good album. Hard to tell at this point if it's truly better then BBS. I really like the rythm section, there's a couple of cool base "solo's" that I like. That's something that really lacks with the Stripes. Overall it's really good, hardly any filler. Consolers, Salute your Salution, Hitch and the Spur and Many Shades of Black are my favs.
  37. BrookeA
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    This album is amazing.... let's just get that straight. And if you liked Broken Boy Soldiers better, then you never really understood that the Raconteurs were going in THIS direction all along. My dears, listen to White Stripes (And by that I mean, all albums, not just Icky and Elephant) and the Greenhornes. How crazy is it that a certain well known ROCK magazine gave BBS a 4.0 and This album is amazing.... let's just get that straight. And if you liked Broken Boy Soldiers better, then you never really understood that the Raconteurs were going in THIS direction all along. My dears, listen to White Stripes (And by that I mean, all albums, not just Icky and Elephant) and the Greenhornes. How crazy is it that a certain well known ROCK magazine gave BBS a 4.0 and COTL a 3.5????? Ah well.... actually I prefer when GREAT music is not understood by the public.... bec then I don't hear it blaring out from soccer mom's cars and all you who wouldn't understand amazing music unless someone tells you it is amazing. Expand
  38. WesM.
    Apr 17, 2008
    9
    While I liked BBS quite a bit, this second album is much better and holds up well to repeated listens.
  39. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    I wasn't a big fan of the first album, So I was hesitant about this one. But I listened to it and I must say it's a pretty damn good album. Jack White has made yet another great album and All In All, Consolers Of The Lonely has some very great tracks. I recommend this album. B+
  40. May 3, 2011
    9
    Fabulous album.
    'Consolers of the lonely', the song, is one of the best rock songs of the year.
    'Carolina drama', 'Rich Kid Blues', 'Hold on', are other great songs.
  41. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    The follow up to the part time group's strong debut - this record probably has a bit more ambition but not quite as much top-quality tunes on show. The fact that "Consolers" doesn't have as many radio friendly rock run-throughs on it while at the same time having some more interesting moments on it than "Broken Boy Soldiers" is sometimes a strength but this is also at times a weakness ofThe follow up to the part time group's strong debut - this record probably has a bit more ambition but not quite as much top-quality tunes on show. The fact that "Consolers" doesn't have as many radio friendly rock run-throughs on it while at the same time having some more interesting moments on it than "Broken Boy Soldiers" is sometimes a strength but this is also at times a weakness of the record. The band are to be commended for wanting to try out more things on this record but unfortunately they don't always work out. While Broken Boy Soldiers was a really good rock album full of anthems, this is definitely more of a blues rock record and is more reminisent of the White Stripes. Still - this band seem like a tribute to the history of rock Expand
  42. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    I don't normally buy a lot of rock albums but this is just one of those rare albums for me. Jack White is a true artist and now he is surrounded by three other talented people too! I can honestly say I like every song.
  43. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this album (psh, I'm defiantly not trying to fill of the word requirement, what makes you thin that?) First of all anything with Jack white is tremendous, lets face it, its amazing. It is a diverse, interesting album that I can re-listen to ever and over again no matter what I'm doing
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. The result is neither refined nor especially modern, but it still evokes the thrill of playing hooky on a Friday afternoon.
  2. A notable progression from the foursome, and plenty of huge riffs to enjoy at the summer festivals.
  3. while one can easily imagine smoke machines spurting during many of the album's 13 other tracks, there is no irony in the mix. Just fun.