Consolers Of The Lonely - The Raconteurs
Consolers Of The Lonely Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Raconteurs surprised much of the music industry by announcing the release of its sophomore album a week before it was released.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Not content to merely shake up the music industry by releasing Consolers with only one week's advance notice, the Raconteurs have also had the nerve to drop a near-classic album.
  2. The Raconteurs establish a firm, emotionally charged identity of their own when White finally takes a back seat to Brendan Benson.
  3. 80
    Twice as long as the band's debut, it's also more than doubly assured. [June 2008, p.99]
  4. Whether it was intended or not, White's personality sometimes overwhelms, and makes Consolers sound like a little sibling to Icky Thump--a little less unique, certainly, but another loose, comfortable affirmation of what they do well.
  5. Jack White’s bit on the side return with an accomplished and musically diverse second album.
  6. 60
    But too often, the Raconteurs' love of twisty, monolithic rock gives way to bombast that teeters between homage and parody.
  7. It’s a much more musically diverse album than the Raconteurs have done before, but there are many more misses than hits among these 14 tracks.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE this album (psh, I'm defiantly not trying to fill of the word requirement, what makes you thin that?) First of all anything with Jack white is tremendous, lets face it, its amazing. It is a diverse, interesting album that I can re-listen to ever and over again no matter what I'm doing Expand
  2. JordanB.
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    This is the record that lets you know music can still be awesome and it can be awesome just because it is. All the songs, save "Hold Up" are spectacular and give you something different in each one. I've listened to it way too many times in the past week...but that's ok because this stuff is never getting old. Expand
  3. FrankM.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    Much better than the first. I could listen to this album all day and not get tired. Best Track - Many Shades of Black
  4. BH
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Great diversity of styles. Great vocals and instrumentals. Great album muthaf**kas!
  5. DanielC.
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    A great departure from "Broken Boy Soldiers," but still a great record.
  6. Andrew
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    I find it sad that every review I read has some comparison to, or mention of the White Stripes. Is it not posible to just rate the album on its own merits instead of comparing it to another project that Jack White has going? I guess that's just the easiest way to fill the page and make a deadline...anyway, this album is fantastic. A real nod to ballsy, 1970's straight-up rock (and a little classic country here and there). There's nothing wrong with rehashing old school styles, just as long as you do it well. And these guys do it very well. Wasn't it Keith Richards who said it's better to stand on the shoulders of giants than...uh, I don't remember the rest. I wasn't a big fan of the first album because I didn't think they used Jack's considerable talents as well as they could have. There was no punch to it either. This album has all kinds of punch. It's almost like they said, "Hey, Jack, how about you stand in the front and let us follow you this time." And it totally works. Nearly-classic album. Expand
  7. MarkL.
    Mar 27, 2008
    0
    This is a crappy, Broken Boy Soldier is thousands better.

See all 48 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes)

    Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes) Image
    Published: May 11, 2010
    "Sea of Cowards," the latest album from Jack White's side project The Dead Weather, is out this week. How does it compare to White's other albums, including output from The White Stripes and The Raconteurs?