• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Contra Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 527 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the rock band was produced by band member, Rostam Batmanglij.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Contra establishes that his band has chosen another path, celebrating the world's contradictions, contraindications, and contradistinctions with a new pop sound made up of old pop sounds that aren't the same old pop sounds.
  2. Contra is still a Vampire Weekend album and it's certainly one that past fans will presently like. It may be less vigorous, but only if you're searching the surface.
  3. Vampire Weekend's second album, Contra, finds the New York-based band pushing its eclectic, intellectual indie rock further using a mash-up of musical genres, clever wordplay and emotional heft.
  4. 80
    Contra is the sound of a band driving themselves to very satisfying extremes. [Feb 2010, p. 96]
  5. New York prepsters stick to their Paul Simon-goes-indie formula on successful second album.
  6. Contra may not propose much of a rebuttal to those who thumbed their nose up at the band's past work, but it's not difficult to see how it could strengthen their core audience while netting them some new fans at the same time.
  7. Contra isn't really that bad, yet it's also not nearly sturdy enough to maintain the puppy-love, Obama-esque crush many of us have had on them.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 100
  2. Negative: 7 out of 100
  1. AntonisZ.
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    This is the most entertaining album I have heard in a couple years! It's really surprising as the Vampire Weekend's previous This is the most entertaining album I have heard in a couple years! It's really surprising as the Vampire Weekend's previous releases weren't among my faves. It's such a wonderful album, I am addicted listening to it from beginning to the end non-stop. This album will be classic in the years to come. A real and hugely entertaining masterpiece! Expand
  2. ThorK
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Hmmmm... I'm kind of confused as to why this has such a low user rating. I find this to be an absolutely excellent album, better than Hmmmm... I'm kind of confused as to why this has such a low user rating. I find this to be an absolutely excellent album, better than their first if pretty much every aspect. Some standout tracks would be "Horchata," "White Sky," "California English," "Run," and "Diplomat's Son." I loved their first LP and am enjoying this one even more. Expand
  3. ChrisWojo
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    This is a great follow-up for Vampire weekends first CD. Their originality comes through on each song and they are as clever as they have This is a great follow-up for Vampire weekends first CD. Their originality comes through on each song and they are as clever as they have ever been. But, we need more songs next time guys! Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    Definitely more of a "grower" than their first. Songs like White Sky and Diplomat's Son make it well worth the invested time, though. All theDefinitely more of a "grower" than their first. Songs like White Sky and Diplomat's Son make it well worth the invested time, though. All the haters on here seem to be comparing them to other artists, but they're unique. They're not trying to be Paul Simon. That's what makes them so great and also apparently what bothers those who want a category to lump them in. Collapse
  5. Aug 11, 2010
    8
    It is not as fun as their first album, and some of the songs are downright frustrating. 'Contra' is, however, a creative and catchy album thatIt is not as fun as their first album, and some of the songs are downright frustrating. 'Contra' is, however, a creative and catchy album that serves as a worthy sophomore effort. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    Having despised their first album, I had no idea I would love Contra as much as I do. But Vampire Weekend has managed to take everything IHaving despised their first album, I had no idea I would love Contra as much as I do. But Vampire Weekend has managed to take everything I hated about their debut and turned it into a much more likable sound. Expand
  7. Mr.T
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    I don't actually think it deserves a 0, but it certainly doesn't deserve a 6. Overrated hipster dribble.

See all 100 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  2. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?