Contra

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Contra Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 552 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the rock band was produced by band member, Rostam Batmanglij.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Contra establishes that his band has chosen another path, celebrating the world's contradictions, contraindications, and contradistinctions with a new pop sound made up of old pop sounds that aren't the same old pop sounds.
  2. Contra is still a Vampire Weekend album and it's certainly one that past fans will presently like. It may be less vigorous, but only if you're searching the surface.
  3. Vampire Weekend's second album, Contra, finds the New York-based band pushing its eclectic, intellectual indie rock further using a mash-up of musical genres, clever wordplay and emotional heft.
  4. Mojo
    80
    Contra is the sound of a band driving themselves to very satisfying extremes. [Feb 2010, p. 96]
  5. New York prepsters stick to their Paul Simon-goes-indie formula on successful second album.
  6. Contra may not propose much of a rebuttal to those who thumbed their nose up at the band's past work, but it's not difficult to see how it could strengthen their core audience while netting them some new fans at the same time.
  7. Contra isn't really that bad, yet it's also not nearly sturdy enough to maintain the puppy-love, Obama-esque crush many of us have had on them.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 102
  2. Negative: 7 out of 102
  1. RobertC
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Beautiful, clever, and catch. This album has a certain heartfelt feeling that is missing from their first record, which makes up for the fact Beautiful, clever, and catch. This album has a certain heartfelt feeling that is missing from their first record, which makes up for the fact that Contra is less happy go lucky than their debut. Songs like "Giving Up the Gun," "Diplomats Son," and "White Sky" stand out. With their sophmore album they prove that they are still smarter than their indie peers, but they also show that they are more more endearing. Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    One of the few albums I can listen to without changing track. It's far better than their first LP. "near-perfection"? What kinda music are youOne of the few albums I can listen to without changing track. It's far better than their first LP. "near-perfection"? What kinda music are you listening to?, coz it must be terrible. Expand
  3. ThorK
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Hmmmm... I'm kind of confused as to why this has such a low user rating. I find this to be an absolutely excellent album, better than Hmmmm... I'm kind of confused as to why this has such a low user rating. I find this to be an absolutely excellent album, better than their first if pretty much every aspect. Some standout tracks would be "Horchata," "White Sky," "California English," "Run," and "Diplomat's Son." I loved their first LP and am enjoying this one even more. Expand
  4. MatthewG
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    A great album that improves from the already awesome debut album, with the only misstep being "Diplomat's Son."
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    8
    It isn't as consistently good as their first album, but this is still worth buying, it has a couple standout songs. I like that they didn'tIt isn't as consistently good as their first album, but this is still worth buying, it has a couple standout songs. I like that they didn't completely abandon what brought them initial success. Expand
  6. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    7
    The album Contra definitely builds off of it's predecessor (Vampire Weekend), but it is still kind of bland in some areas.
  7. Mr.T
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    I don't actually think it deserves a 0, but it certainly doesn't deserve a 6. Overrated hipster dribble.

See all 102 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  2. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?