• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Contra Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 570 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the rock band was produced by band member, Rostam Batmanglij.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Contra establishes that his band has chosen another path, celebrating the world's contradictions, contraindications, and contradistinctions with a new pop sound made up of old pop sounds that aren't the same old pop sounds.
  2. Contra is still a Vampire Weekend album and it's certainly one that past fans will presently like. It may be less vigorous, but only if you're searching the surface.
  3. Vampire Weekend's second album, Contra, finds the New York-based band pushing its eclectic, intellectual indie rock further using a mash-up of musical genres, clever wordplay and emotional heft.
  4. Mojo
    80
    Contra is the sound of a band driving themselves to very satisfying extremes. [Feb 2010, p. 96]
  5. New York prepsters stick to their Paul Simon-goes-indie formula on successful second album.
  6. Contra may not propose much of a rebuttal to those who thumbed their nose up at the band's past work, but it's not difficult to see how it could strengthen their core audience while netting them some new fans at the same time.
  7. Contra isn't really that bad, yet it's also not nearly sturdy enough to maintain the puppy-love, Obama-esque crush many of us have had on them.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 103
  2. Negative: 7 out of 103
  1. AlexR.
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Amazing. I am a huge fan of their first album, and Contra expands on their style then while still keeping the same spirit. I would highly Amazing. I am a huge fan of their first album, and Contra expands on their style then while still keeping the same spirit. I would highly recommend lead singer Ezra Koenig's tongue-tying autotuned vocals in "California English", the upbeat "Holiday", and the M.I.A. sampling "Diplomat's Son". All great stuff on the album. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2011
    10
    I think that this album contains any magic effect on me, when i listen songs like diplomat's son (a relly fantastic song). Cousins, Horchata,I think that this album contains any magic effect on me, when i listen songs like diplomat's son (a relly fantastic song). Cousins, Horchata, Holiday and Giving up the gun offers diversity into his own style and interpretation of music. A beautiful continuation o his debut album. Expand
  3. ThorK
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Hmmmm... I'm kind of confused as to why this has such a low user rating. I find this to be an absolutely excellent album, better than Hmmmm... I'm kind of confused as to why this has such a low user rating. I find this to be an absolutely excellent album, better than their first if pretty much every aspect. Some standout tracks would be "Horchata," "White Sky," "California English," "Run," and "Diplomat's Son." I loved their first LP and am enjoying this one even more. Collapse
  4. KevinM.
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    This album is not as good as their first. However, it is very, very good. Holiday, California English, and Giving Up the Gun are personal This album is not as good as their first. However, it is very, very good. Holiday, California English, and Giving Up the Gun are personal favorites. Their sound is incredible. If you liked Wolfgang Amadeus by Phoenix, you'll like this. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2010
    8
    "Contra" features many interesting catchy tracks like "Cousins", "Giving Up the Gun", "Horchata" and "Holiday". Maybe your children below age"Contra" features many interesting catchy tracks like "Cousins", "Giving Up the Gun", "Horchata" and "Holiday". Maybe your children below age of ten may like this because it is so childlike, and maybe it'll be pass down to the next few generations too. Ezra Koenig & co. really know how to play funky music with their drums, guitars and keyboards. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    The first one was better. The amount of good songs to bland songs is kinda even. Nothing horrible either, idk, why there is so much hate toThe first one was better. The amount of good songs to bland songs is kinda even. Nothing horrible either, idk, why there is so much hate to this band, but oh well. Expand
  7. Mr.T
    Jan 18, 2010
    0
    I don't actually think it deserves a 0, but it certainly doesn't deserve a 6. Overrated hipster dribble.

See all 103 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.
  2. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?