Contraband

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2004
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 109 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 109
  2. Negative: 12 out of 109

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BrockS
    Sep 8, 2004
    10
    This album is great!
  2. scottywhailand
    Jun 10, 2004
    8
    Great record
  3. DaveH
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    This album is a solid rock albumwith not one single bad track. Album of the year!
  4. roberth
    Jun 13, 2004
    9
    Great hard rocking return that beats the crap out of all the wimpy corporate rock junk being passed out like pablum for the lemmings. There's nothing original here - just ROCK. Ignore the whiners. Get it.
  5. MohdNohnoh
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    Velvet Revolver is so far the best merger of former GNR and S.T.P, it remind me of the good old days of Alice in chain, this combination is perfect and they sound better than audioslave, which i expected they play something heavier and im looking for VR next realease
  6. ClaireL
    Sep 6, 2004
    9
    I think all of us real rock fans have waited a good few years for an album likr this to come along. This has restored my faith in hard rock. Yay to the "old hands"
  7. mord
    Sep 8, 2004
    9
    Not a dull track on the album. Great songs from start to finish. 'nuff said
  8. JohnA
    Jan 14, 2005
    10
    Greatest album ive ever bought, Great guitar and lyrics, every song is brilliant after 2 listens
  9. ThaddyD
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    What sounds better then a lp standard, tone knobs down, tube amp at 11 and a good singer to boost?
  10. JC
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    This album rocks all the songs on the album are absolutely brilliant. Best Songs Sucker Train Blues, Slither, Dirty Little Thing and Do it For the Kids. It sounds much better than any of the GnR stuff.
  11. dominicl
    Jan 4, 2006
    10
    This album is amazing. Just like the Guns N Roses Days, this album also covers a range of tracks. Heavy songs: Slither, Do it for the kids! Ballads: Fall To Pieces and Loving The Alien. Velvet Revolver, i my opinon are the best (possibly second best) modern band around. My favourite tracks of contraband are: Slither, Fall To Pieces, Do It For The Kids, Dirty Little Thing, and Suckertrain This album is amazing. Just like the Guns N Roses Days, this album also covers a range of tracks. Heavy songs: Slither, Do it for the kids! Ballads: Fall To Pieces and Loving The Alien. Velvet Revolver, i my opinon are the best (possibly second best) modern band around. My favourite tracks of contraband are: Slither, Fall To Pieces, Do It For The Kids, Dirty Little Thing, and Suckertrain Blues! Brilliant album 10/10 Expand
  12. antsl
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    lets get slashing
  13. LachlanH
    Oct 5, 2004
    7
    Couple of good moments. Slash isn't loud enough. 'Nuff said.
  14. ARkelRod
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    This album represents a rebirth of the mainstream rock. Solid vocals from Scott and the amazing riffs of Slash...this is a rock band!!
  15. ErikH
    Jun 10, 2004
    8
    Kick Ass!!! An awesome return to the Sunset Strip! These guys just sound like they are having fun and the reviews/critics be damned. Keep it going fellas!!
  16. NateS
    Jun 10, 2004
    9
    Great 'in your face' rock album.
  17. JayT
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    Contraband is a breath of fresh air that rock music needs right about now. The perfect combination of Guns N' Roses without the maniacal ranting of Axl Rose; Stone Temple Pilots with a kick. Over the next few weeks, you'll hear more about the ballad "Fall To Pieces", and the similarity with G N' R's "Sweet Child O' Mine", but a few plays of the ballad "You Got No Contraband is a breath of fresh air that rock music needs right about now. The perfect combination of Guns N' Roses without the maniacal ranting of Axl Rose; Stone Temple Pilots with a kick. Over the next few weeks, you'll hear more about the ballad "Fall To Pieces", and the similarity with G N' R's "Sweet Child O' Mine", but a few plays of the ballad "You Got No Right" reveals a classic that has Velvet Revolver in a class that neither STP or G N' R would be able to reach. In fact, "You Got No Right" is what we all wished that "November Rain" really sounded like. Expand
  18. ciztarkman
    Jun 16, 2004
    9
    awesome real-kick ass modern rock demo. Slash and Scott make an excellent duo way better than fucking shaq- kobe or tom morello-chirs cornell b.s. axl rose should listen to contraband
  19. [Anonymous]
    Jun 8, 2004
    9
    A really good rock album on it's own, but fans expecting G'n'R or STP part two won't be happy.
  20. ErleK
    Jun 8, 2004
    9
    Best CD I've heard in YEARS... Not quite GN'R, not quite STP.... Velvet creates their own identity and ROCKS!!
  21. StephenS
    Jun 9, 2004
    8
    Interesting mix of STP's often harsh sound and G n' R's 80 racous
  22. JamesO
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    This album is so much better than it is given credit for. This is not 1987 or 1993 and we can't expect it to make the same kind of impact against what passes for popular music today. It is just the best hard rock album to come out in the past 8 years or so.
  23. rinaldoc
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    this album really rocks, it's even better than the guns n roses era that slash, matt and duff been through. slash is on the guitar even better, he did not lose the rhythm at all. matt's drumming is amazing. scott on the vocals is perfect. i could not pick an other singer out, better than axl rose.... people should think that these guys lost the inspiration because they have not this album really rocks, it's even better than the guns n roses era that slash, matt and duff been through. slash is on the guitar even better, he did not lose the rhythm at all. matt's drumming is amazing. scott on the vocals is perfect. i could not pick an other singer out, better than axl rose.... people should think that these guys lost the inspiration because they have not released a project for years...but they are contra of that.... full of esteam, power and rock n roll.........velvet revolver rocks !!!!!!!!!!!!!! my favorite number is do it for the kids...... Expand
  24. Avi
    Jun 17, 2005
    9
    The chemistry of Matt, Duff, and Slash is there. This band cannot be compared to GNR because it has nothing alike. This band is much more modern. I've been ashtonished by the solos of Slash. I think Weiland needs transformation into "Axl" - in his behaviour on stage.
  25. chadh
    Jul 19, 2005
    10
    great album
  26. SlashH.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Great Rock n Roll record!
  27. aveh
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    it sucks compared to guns n' roses but way better than the alternative crap rock with 4 power chords and blink 182 type bands that pass as music these days.
  28. JohnDoe
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    This album rocks!
  29. AlexJ
    Jun 10, 2004
    10
    Don't listen to the reviews just go down your local music store listen to the album for yourself and i bet you'll end up buying it.
  30. Mark
    Jun 10, 2004
    7
    The best hardnosed rock album to hit stores in quite sometime. If you're sick of this canned crap that they call "rock" on the radio, try this.
  31. RobbyDigital
    Jun 12, 2004
    8
    Audioslave still takes home the prize for best new rock super-group but Velvet Revolver hold their own. Weiland just doesn't seem very comfortable yet in the dirver's seat. But I think David Fricke (Rolling Stone) has a point in saying that Contraband is the closest fans are ever going to get to a new Guns N Roses album. I am eager to see what the future holds for VR.
  32. MarcD
    Jun 14, 2004
    9
    It rocks, give it a few listens. Standout Tracks: You Got No Right and Headspace.
  33. ZackM
    Jun 15, 2004
    9
    Scott Weiland is one of my all-time favorite singer/songwriters around, despite all his personal problems. "Contraband" is a finely-tuned G N' R/STP sound mixed together, and to me that makes for a great listen!
  34. DanielH
    Jun 25, 2004
    10
    Even better than I expected!!!
  35. TiffanyB
    Jun 8, 2004
    9
    An aurally interesting album, that lets you hear not only how these guys have come together as a stomping rock band, but also the influence they had on the sound of their previous bands. Scott's vocals show that the trials and tribulations of his personal life have not affected his range or power of voice, and the command that slash and duff have over their instruments is impressive. An aurally interesting album, that lets you hear not only how these guys have come together as a stomping rock band, but also the influence they had on the sound of their previous bands. Scott's vocals show that the trials and tribulations of his personal life have not affected his range or power of voice, and the command that slash and duff have over their instruments is impressive. The album rewards those fans like myself who have been waiting impatiently for the album since first hearing of the collaboration. Alongside Audioslave, these guys prove that super-bands are not the refuge of has-beens, but the future for great musicians whose growth leads them from their previous outfits. Expand
  36. LeoB
    Jun 9, 2004
    8
    Very Raw, if these guys spend some more time in the studio working on their sound, they can be great. Don't come into this album thinking to hear a strong influence of STP or Guns N Roses, more like early 90s alternative such as Jane's Addiction. It could have been better, but this album is only disappointing to people who expected the greatest album ever.
  37. billyd
    Jun 9, 2004
    10
    awesome
  38. BobSaget
    Jul 16, 2004
    9
    One of the years best. Doesn't sound like a GNR or STP album. Nice to see Slash back. Hope Weiland can stay alive to make another album.
  39. JOeJ
    Jul 2, 2004
    9
    i think this is great, although not as good as AFD i think its great that G n R got rid of slash and started afresh. Good job.
  40. MarkL
    Jul 31, 2004
    10
    It's cool, the music and everything!
  41. Brian
    Aug 27, 2004
    9
    This album is great,just like I thought it would be!This even puts Audioslave's first LP to shame...
  42. ZaydeN
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    A rare ingenuity in the world of rock, a dying species. The best album by any band in years. An instant classic.
  43. KenB
    Nov 9, 2005
    9
    So they threw this good of an album together on their first attempt, I can't wait for the second album.
  44. julios
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    It is rock and roll of the 21th century!! Really amazing
  45. PhilL.
    Oct 30, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing. It has it! Great guitar solos and great singing. This has a hint of old rock nothing like todays rock its way better!!
  46. joasm
    Feb 10, 2005
    9
    absolutley blinding
  47. dp
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    Now..if only Weiland could sing other than that a great cd Slash is the man
  48. brianb
    Jul 3, 2005
    10
    this album rocks! the only reason i think somone would give it a bad review is if they where expecting the music to sound exactly like gnr.
  49. ConlanM
    Aug 2, 2005
    10
    This cd is a awesome new start for over half the band!
  50. hiphopsucks
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    This is even better than the old stuff from Guns N' Roses. I reccomend this album to any rock fan. I don't reccomend it to rap fans . Eh, Maybe. But overall, this is one of the best albums ever. Buy it if you don't already own it.
  51. SpencerC
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    the best slash album since appetite for destruction
  52. MyGUITAR
    Jun 13, 2007
    8
    I welcome the change of listening Slash play as well as he always has accompanied by a good singer. Scott might not be the best but I'll rank him ions above Axl any-day. Axl has his moments but only on radio. Seen him live and the guy just can't sing live. Otherwise, this record is a genuine throwback to the "good ol' simple dirty rock n roll". This type of raw hard rock is I welcome the change of listening Slash play as well as he always has accompanied by a good singer. Scott might not be the best but I'll rank him ions above Axl any-day. Axl has his moments but only on radio. Seen him live and the guy just can't sing live. Otherwise, this record is a genuine throwback to the "good ol' simple dirty rock n roll". This type of raw hard rock is definitely missing from the scene today. It's definitely much better than anything that the new GnR put out in the last ten years! Oh.. wait.. Expand
  53. ToddTruelove
    Nov 24, 2004
    8
    The return of the lead guitar. Great album after a couple of years of ho-hum, bubble gum crap. Buy it.
  54. JustinD
    Jun 13, 2004
    7
    The cd, every song from start to finish is a song you can listen to, alot of metal or hard rock bands have 2 or 3 good songs, this is good listening all the way through.
  55. JasonL
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Awesome! Rock is back!
  56. TreyB
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    Contraband is a great RnR album!
  57. cotty
    Jun 15, 2004
    8
    Thank God, Slash is back!
  58. james
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    Rocks... that's all i have to say that the album rocks!
  59. FrankJ
    Jun 23, 2004
    10
    Finally, rock music is back instead of little brats who pis and moan about heartbreaks
  60. ClintD
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    There could be nothing better than STP and Gun's N Roses without Axel Rose. This merge is even better than audioslave!
  61. GaryS
    Sep 17, 2004
    8
    Great album, I got it, I listened, I got a sore neck. It shouldn't even be compared the wimpfest that is Audioslave.
  62. BrianJ
    Feb 12, 2005
    9
    One of my favorite CD's of 2004!!! Every song I really like!! Very good CD!!
  63. hardrock67
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    There's a reason these guys are called a supergroup. This album is basically split into two sections with 5 or 6 songs that completely melt your face, then have a ballad to help it solidify again. One of the best rock albums ever!!!!!!!!!!
  64. rockfan
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    These guys (along with The Villains) will save real rock and roll from posers like those pop-punk babies.
  65. CaptainSuck
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    It's a good album, a lot of the songs remind me of the times way back when music dubbed "rock" was actually listenable. We can only hope for another Velvet Revolver album in the near-future; 21st century rock supergroup? Hell yeah!
  66. May 26, 2012
    8
    I really like this album simply because of how much energy it has, and how many memorable guitar riffs/solos there are on this album. This album is not as good as either the best GN'R album, nor the best STP album, but a lot of fun to listen to.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. 80
    A perpetual guilty pleasure. [Jun 2004, p.107]
  2. Even at its sharpest, Contraband feels secondhand, and much of it is also hobbled by a disconnect between singer and band. [4 June 2004, p.79]
  3. 42
    This is a troubling record. There are some stellar moments, but it's mostly just troubling. [Jul 2004, p.105]