Cosmogramma - Flying Lotus
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 96
  2. Negative: 3 out of 96

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    The best electronic album since Untrue. FlyLo blends a number of different styles together very effectively to create a unique, immersive soundscape. This album seizes your brain and doesn't let go for 45 minutes of pure awesomeness, leaving you a more complete, enlightened person than you were before. There's so much to discover on this album, and it only continues to sound better every time I listen to it. Even if you're not really into electronic music, you should check this out. It's unique, progressive, and incredibly fun. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Only discovered Flying Lotus this year. What a discovery! He has a very unique style of music. Cosmogramma is one of the best albums I have ever heard. It is so complex, but oh-so beautiful. I can definitely pick up some Radiohead influences in this album (not just because Thom Yorke stars in one of the tracks). Drips//Aunties Harp is a much prettier version of Myxamatosis. Great album! Top 3 of the year for sure Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    9
    One of the few albums out there that could change a person's opinion on music completely. A cohesive blend of 4/4 dance, messy jazz and supreme production make this album as funky, as fun and as erratic as it could have been.
  4. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    A masterpiece of sound, blending four-on-the-floor drums with jazz, among a host of diverse influences. The album is cohesive as a whole, with each track blending into the other, but each track stands alone as well. A true step forward in electronica; the only reason I rated it a is because I believe FlyLo can do better. This is hard to describe, just listen to (youtube): Zodiac **** Do the Astral Plane, Recoiled (for a taste) Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Cosmogramma really brought Flying Lotus to the forefront of the IDM/downtempo scene, and for good reason. It really is a melting pot of genres, bringing together jazz, funk, hip-hop and garage to create one of the most diverse albums of recent years. Guest appearances from Thundercat and Thom Yorke add to the fun. Even if you don't enjoy the album as a whole, there's something here for just about everyone. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I've liked Flying Lotus for a while, but Cosmogramma is without question his best piece of work yet. 1983 and Los Angeles were great, but they didn't work as albums nearly as well as Cosmogramma does. There really isn't a better way to play this album than from front to back. Sure, certain tracks stand out and can easily be skipped to, but it takes away from the full effect of the album. This is an album's album... not for all you cornballs out there who judge albums by how good their "singles" are. The first three tracks are pretty sporadic and instantly suck you in to the album, but the album doesn't really pick up steam until Intro/Cosmic Drama. Considering it's called "Intro" it makes sense. This track sets the tone for the rest of the album, and if you aren't officially pulled in by the next track "Zodiac S***" than your eardrums are tainted. There are several influences that Flying Lotus uses, so it is impossible to put any of this album in to a one specific genre. The heaviest influence is jazz, as there are plenty of horns, but more importantly the song structures mimic jazz quite a bit. Jazz is all about the unexpected and switching gears at will. Cosmogramma consistently does this, so good luck trying to identify individual songs once the album hits the halfway mark. Other influences include hip-hop, dub step, electronic, and even classical music, so I guess you could call this an "experimental" album. This album is an intoxicating experience. The middle portion of "Arkesty", "Mmmm Hmm", and "Do the Astral Plane" is excellent and shows how well FlyLo can blend songs together so effortlessly. "Do the Astral Plane" is my personal favorite track and is without question the one track on the album that makes you want to dance your a$$ off. There are only three tracks with guest vocalists and they're all excellent. "And the World Laughs With You" features Thom Yorke, "Mmmm Hmmm" features Thundercat, and the 2nd to last track "Table Tennis" features, in my opinion, the best vocalist match in Laura Darlington. If that track doesn't lift you in to some sort of spiritual plane, than nothing will. It even uses a sample of a ping pong ball volley. The closing track "Galaxy in Janaki" is the perfect swan song, and even at 18 tracks, leaves you wanting more. This is as close to flawless as an album can get. Completely original and always surprising. One of my essential albums. Collapse
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    A brilliant work, takes you on a miniature journey. Excellent to listen to with headphones. Not a dull moment, completely engrossing all the way through.
  8. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    So effing dope, FlyLo delivers such delicious agressive beats, stomping on top of quivering synths... a euphoric sound- I could never get sick of this album.
  9. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    A great blend of sound, and an incredibly consistent album. Every song stands out in one way or another, and the sounds are varied and perfectly put together.
  10. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    While Los Angeles has its roots still sample based Hip-Hop, had dashes of Trip-Hop and Electronica, Cosmogramma goes beyond the far reaches of any boxed genre I can think of. The closest I can relate it to is avant garde jazz w/ some futuristic head nodding space grooves. A feeble attempt at classifying something that could very well be a considered a new genre. I know it's been said before about some of his work, but now so more than ever does FlyLo make that argument legit.

    What I'm not struggling with is the pure genius that bleeds through the speakers in many of the small moments. The first couple of tracks didn't leave a huge impression on me, but as with the last LP, helps set the stage for stronger cuts like "A Comic Drama" and "Zodiac S*!!". Both are your "typical" solid FlyLo tracks. At that point the album could have coasted and probably still have been a solid 3rd album effort... but all of a sudden we get the intense build of "Computer Face//Pure Being" kicking it up notches beyond dope. The Nintendo generation will have shades of "Mega Man" esq loops interlaced and woven all throughout the track. Never missing a beat from thereon out, the album is loaded with those "holy s$!!" moments of musical ecstasy and you find yourself lost. From the head jerking "Recoiled", the interlocking drums on "Arkestry" to the woozy groove and lush strings of "Do the Astral Plane"; I find myself torn: drawn to each song in its own right and yet never fully being able to commit to a strong favorite above the rest. The sublime "German Haircut" is another blessing w/ Ravi Coltrane providing smooth Tenor Sax to the mix. Heavy synths and keys on "Dance of the Pseudo Nymph" require as much deep concentration as it does a mandatory nod of the skull. All the way up until "Galaxy in Janaki" (which also stands out as an epic symphonic conclusion to the performance) this piece of music captivates your attention and commands your eardrum. I will say that the vocal performances to me are not as tight as on LA, but it's only due to the production simply overwhelming them here. I find myself clinging to the harps, strings; yes... the table tennis match becomes more consuming than the return collaboration of Laura Darlington and the agility of Thundercat's bass guitar as apposed to his vocal contributions. Even the welcome appearance of Yorke seems to serve its purpose as better exposure for FlyLo as apposed to actually adding the significant value you would think. Not to say that these players don't bring anything to the table. They are merely servants to FlyLo's bag of tricks, rightfully never able to wrestle the beat away from his control. He creates a beautiful canvas of sound that seamlessly moves from neck breaking to deeply satisfying grooves. Before you know it, you're constantly skipping back to pick out your favorite moments, only to vanish again in the overall flow of the album. Call it blasphemy, but Cosmogramma gives me the same feelings I got when I first heard Endtroducing... back in late '97; an album where I'm still trying to peel back all the layers even today.

    Years later there is plenty I need to digest here and I continue to love this album as they go by. Those wanting more of the same FlyLo might find their boundaries being pushed forward into unexpected realms of musical imagination. As a fresh purchase this deserves high praise, but experiencing its long term effects will produce the most enjoyment... every time i pick it up again it has me in strangle hold almost impossible to break from.
    Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    Flying Lotus's music is quite off the wall and many can only scratch their heads when they listen to his second album Cosmogramma. So why does flylo conduct this strange, experimental, mishmash of styles? What makes flylo so easy for me to appreciate is the fact that no matter what, he will stick to the type of music he wants to do. He could make an entertaining dubstep album, a ground breaking hip hop collaboration, or even an experimental hip hop album. Similar to most great musicians, the music he makes is the center of his life. He has said that his music is his escape and it is what makes him feel like a kid again. He is also a fan of cartoons growing up watching adult swim and that same cartoon-ish aesthetic is the backbone of Cosmogramma. The Flying Lotus project is abstract and strange and I have seen that this album is not for everybody. This album bounces around constantly and is unsettling, but the constant energy is what makes this album such undeniable beauty. I treat this album as a concept album at times and I do believe that it does have a concept to it. Cosmogramma can mean many things and the listener has to use their imagination to figure out what it means. The first few words are "i have this world but nobody would believe me if I said it exists." Later in the album in his song with Thom Yorke, Yorke sings, "I need to know you're out there just need to know you're out there somewhere...and the world laughs with you." To me, this represents the experience of being shut up by the world. Towards the end of the album there is a metaphor using table tennis to relate the feeling of being rebounded and powered by a certain force. Cosmogramma represents the experience of life with being an upbeat and joyful kid, marveling at life and beauty then growing up and losing all of the innocence and happiness then finding passion, sex, social interactions, and being overwhelmed by a higher figure. There is not much else I can say about this album. It is simply pure overwhelming beauty. Expand
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Part of its delight is how naturally the disparate parts fit together, but another part is how they add up to phantasmagoria if you let your attention wander (and don't be a tight-ass‑-you should).
  2. Because in constantly mutating just when you begin to pin it down, drawing everything around in before rearranging atoms before your very eyes, Cosmogramma proves itself time and time again as mind-meltingly boundless as a black hole.
  3. Dense and obtuse it may be but those who follow this most intense sonic explorer will be rewarded the greatest.