User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 8 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AndrewS.
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    This is not Queen, not Bad Company. It is something new and very cool. It is addictive rock and roll, and fresh but old school at the same time. Forget the critics. This band works.
  2. JesseS.
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    Roger and Brian continue to be great musicians and studio wizards.
  3. TG
    Oct 31, 2008
    7
    What is wrong with good old fashioned Rock? Its not like there is anything out there better. I swear people just can't let go and have a good time anymore. Its rock and roll enjoy!! and let the Cosmos Rock.
  4. GeorgeB.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    Ignore those elitist reviewers, this album is fantastic. I'm a die-hard Queen fan, and whilst this album was never going to live up to the likes of Sheer Heart Attack, Queen II and Night at the Opera, it is still a joy to listen to. Paul Rodgers isn't trying to replace Freddie, because I'm sure he knows more than anyone else that he could never be replaced. He's just Ignore those elitist reviewers, this album is fantastic. I'm a die-hard Queen fan, and whilst this album was never going to live up to the likes of Sheer Heart Attack, Queen II and Night at the Opera, it is still a joy to listen to. Paul Rodgers isn't trying to replace Freddie, because I'm sure he knows more than anyone else that he could never be replaced. He's just helping Queen, now Brian May and Rodger Taylor, continue the legacy left behind in Freddie's wake. Expand
  5. KeithA.
    Oct 31, 2008
    8
    People, Freddie is dead! I mourned as much as anybody out there, maybe more. But let these musicians move on with their careers! It's not a bad album. No, it's not the Queen of old, but you've got to get over it.
  6. JohnB.
    Nov 17, 2008
    8
    Once again people try to make something what its not. This is not a Queen album with Freddie Mercury! It is a good rock album with Paul Rodgers singing. The lyrics are a little lame at points but the musicisnship, vocals and songs are top notch. It kind of takes me back to earlier Queen, which for me is a breath of fresh air. Queen rocked prior to 1980. What this album needed was a couple Once again people try to make something what its not. This is not a Queen album with Freddie Mercury! It is a good rock album with Paul Rodgers singing. The lyrics are a little lame at points but the musicisnship, vocals and songs are top notch. It kind of takes me back to earlier Queen, which for me is a breath of fresh air. Queen rocked prior to 1980. What this album needed was a couple more "rocking" songs. It is a little slow (reminiscent of the Burning Sky era of Bad Company) but all in all its a very good album that I think is worth giving a couple listens. They're back and they sound great, lets not compare. Lets enjoy! Expand
  7. BelindaB
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    This would have gotten a 10 if it hadn't been for Warboys. I personally am not fond of that one. The rest, however, ROCKS!! I love this album and can't wait for them to tour state-side again!! I just saw the Ukraine concert, and they're even better now than they were in '06!!
  8. RobynD.
    Nov 22, 2008
    8
    Ok. Enough about this not being "Queen" enough or "Freddie" enough for you. If you hadn't noticed, dear Freddie is gone. We all miss him. We all love him. Some of us worship him. However, there are still living members of the band remaining on Earth and those gentlemen are musicians. What they do...as musicians...is PLAY MUSIC. Is it going to be Queen? No. They are missing two Ok. Enough about this not being "Queen" enough or "Freddie" enough for you. If you hadn't noticed, dear Freddie is gone. We all miss him. We all love him. Some of us worship him. However, there are still living members of the band remaining on Earth and those gentlemen are musicians. What they do...as musicians...is PLAY MUSIC. Is it going to be Queen? No. They are missing two integral members. Paul Rodgers is a rock icon on his own. He didn't need to join with Brian and Roger to find his fame. This album is a NEW band for all three guys. It isn't Queen, it isn't Bad Co, it isn't Free. This is Q+PR. Let's judge it as if we never heard of Brian, Roger or Paul...not based on their past. The rock songs, do just that "Rock". Cosmos Rocks and C-lebrity have great guitar riffs and driving drumbeats. The bluesier songs have Paul's strong vocals and show a side of Brian and Roger that we haven't had opportunity to see before. Voodoo is definitely worth a listen, as is Still Burning. The song "Call Me" is the next sing-a-long hit at a Q+PR concert. "Small" shows a softer side and the vocals/lyrics are so engaging you find yourself hard pressed to not sing-a-long. This isn't a perfect album.. Are some lyrics a bit tired? What album have you heard that doesn't have a few tired lyrics? This is a great debut album from a new band. It is definitely worth listening to. Expand
  9. TylerB
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This is NOT Queen. It's not supposed to be Queen. It's an entirely new band, and the Cosmos do indeed rock.
  10. GrantL.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Great cd - nice guitar - great to hear new classic rock these days.
  11. JeffH.
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    Since I saw Queen opening for Mott the Hoople in Memphis, TN on April 20, 1974 I've been in love with the band. I've read some pretty crappy comments about this album but I loved Freddy and I really like this album. I haven't seen any classic rockers putting anything out close to this, think about it!!!!
  12. jimd.
    Dec 16, 2008
    8
    Been a long time coming...and even tho there is no freddie this band continues to rock ! don't think they have anything to prove to the public they play a blend of music to satisfy almost everyone a little blues a little lighthearted ditty and plenty of good guitar by brian....instead of a lot of noise that you see in some music we also get one with a message we need to BELIEVE in Been a long time coming...and even tho there is no freddie this band continues to rock ! don't think they have anything to prove to the public they play a blend of music to satisfy almost everyone a little blues a little lighthearted ditty and plenty of good guitar by brian....instead of a lot of noise that you see in some music we also get one with a message we need to BELIEVE in ourselves and make changes in that direction...we are indeed "small" in the global picture....react !!! Expand
  13. ClaudeS.
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Don't compare it with the old band... this new combo is definately worth a listen. They do make the Cosmos rock.
  14. RobertP.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Don't believe a review you get from someone who gets a paycheck writing reviews((( what moron put Fallout Boy on the map??? note: C-Lebrity)))... This Album ROCKS!!! It was long awaited, and it is a gem for anyone who loves Queen and Paul Rodgers trademark sounds. Together they have accomplished the very thing no one believed was possible. This collection is thoughtful in the Don't believe a review you get from someone who gets a paycheck writing reviews((( what moron put Fallout Boy on the map??? note: C-Lebrity)))... This Album ROCKS!!! It was long awaited, and it is a gem for anyone who loves Queen and Paul Rodgers trademark sounds. Together they have accomplished the very thing no one believed was possible. This collection is thoughtful in the songwriting to the past standards of an epic Queen Album..( Let's be honest.. there are a couple with Freddie that were pure formula hash until Innuendo....) This is crafted, and the Guitar and Drums parts are memorable, exciting and fun... Paul Has lent an excellent tone that should be radio friendly to American Audiences. The subject matter herein is eerily relevant to the News of the World for the November 08 edition...Give a listen...Enjoy.. Turn this up, and just drive. Expand
  15. JohnP.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    HI: It's just music for God's sake said Freddie Mercury. Just look at all the former great bands that don't have it anymore, should I list them? Compared to the Pretty People crap that is out there this is a masterpiece, Long live Tonal Harmony!
  16. IngieB.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    I can see having a bit more interesting and mature lyrics on some of the songs, but mostly this album does rock, and swing and even has a bluesy feel. I really love the voodoo song, mostly because it
  17. Joe
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    Paul Rodgers has long been a moving force (Free, Bad Company, The Firm, The Law, solo projects, etc.) that this is a surprisingly good fit for both Rodgers and Queen. No, he's not Freddie Mercury, nor is anyone quite as vocally unique as Paul Rodgers. Cosmos Rocks allows Rodgers to flourish and he's surrounded by a quality, creative and extremely talented group of musicians. Paul Rodgers has long been a moving force (Free, Bad Company, The Firm, The Law, solo projects, etc.) that this is a surprisingly good fit for both Rodgers and Queen. No, he's not Freddie Mercury, nor is anyone quite as vocally unique as Paul Rodgers. Cosmos Rocks allows Rodgers to flourish and he's surrounded by a quality, creative and extremely talented group of musicians. Stop dreaming of a Queen without Freddie. Instead, imagine a reborn Bad Company with rich guitars, powerful musical arrangements, and outstanding vocals by Rodgers. Any fan of his voice will not want to miss this disc. Expand
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. What an astronomically bad parallel universe. Queen's star is dead.
  2. As with a lot of The Cosmos Rocks, you listen to Warboys boggling that Queen--famously intelligent men--didn't at any point notice that the lyrics were stupid, trite, a bit offensive and bound to have an undermining effect on whatever musical efforts they put behind it.
  3. 60
    Occasionally they stumble, as on the clunky 'Warboys.' But with Rogers imperious, Queen's second coming is vindicated. [Oct 2008, p.100]