Costello Music

Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Their punchy choruses and propulsive garage riffs are as addictive as those of 2006 sensations Arctic Monkeys. [16 Mar 2007, p.69]
  2. Mojo
    80
    The record comes on like a sweaty, amphetamine-fuelled rehearsal room bash that went extraordinarily well. [Oct 2006, p.102]
  3. Right now, their bouncing glamorama feels like the most important album you could own.
  4. Uncut
    80
    Their witty pop vignettes are about as much fun as you can have alone with a stereo. [Oct 2006, p.109]
  5. Costello Music crackles from top to bottom with nervous energy, confident songwriting, and hopeless confusion over girls, girls, girls.
  6. The Fratellis are beyond infectious.
  7. The numbers which populate Costello Music are a darn sight better than Carl Barat and Pete Doherty's solo exploits.
  8. Parochial pop somewhere between Supergrass and the Arctic Monkeys.
  9. Most of Costello is like a madcap Glasgow pub crawl: It makes you elated in the moment and sorry when it's over.
  10. It's pub rock, but smarter and more ambitious, with music as nimble as the lyrics are sharp.
  11. Fans might be better off putting "Flathead" on a homemade mix-tape than following the rest of Costello Music.
  12. The Fratellis won't change your life or any of your top-five lists. What the band will do, however, is give you a few good tunes to throw onto a Saturday night playlist while you wait for the real thing to come along.
  13. Q Magazine
    60
    Full of borrowed ideas put together in a not unpleasant or unoriginal way, their sound is still too close to the myriad other wannabes trailing in The Libertines' and Razorlight's wake. [Oct 2006, p.119]
  14. Billboard
    60
    There is a little too much tra-la-la-ing, but it's a pleasure to hear a new band having so much infectious fun. [24 Mar 2007]
  15. [The] Fratellis aren't so much the sound of young Britain as the sound of dad's old record collection.
  16. The songs are incredibly catchy but also tediously misogynistic.
  17. The effect diminishes with each spin.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. BobS
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    Absolutely excellent
  2. Oct 24, 2014
    7
    A solid debut album which optimised the UK indie music scene for the mid to late 2000's. Short, punchy, catchy, energetic songs. Still anA solid debut album which optimised the UK indie music scene for the mid to late 2000's. Short, punchy, catchy, energetic songs. Still an album I listen to regularly, with a number of very underrated tracks 'Ole Black N Blue Eyes' and 'Creepin' Up The Backstairs' to go alongside the infamous 'Chelsea Dagger' (indie disco classic) and 'Whistle For The Choir'. A few filler tracks aren't quite up to the standard, 'Doginabag' and 'Vince The Loveable Stoner' to name a few. But nevertheless a decent effort, definitely worth a listen.

    It's a shame they couldn't follow it up with the next album 'Here We Stand'; a rushed album for me with material far weaker than Costello Music
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    It may be my taste of music, but this band annoys me horribly, and as much as I'd like to enjoy their music, I can't bring myself to do it.It may be my taste of music, but this band annoys me horribly, and as much as I'd like to enjoy their music, I can't bring myself to do it. It's mainly the vocals that turn me off from this album, but it also seems like they don't care to perfect their music, and that they want put out an album of unrefined crap. Full Review »