Court Yard Hounds

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: May 4, 2010

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Robison and Maguire prove capable of crafting galloping, catchy choruses for such songs as "The Coast," "Ain't No Son," "It Didn't Make a Sound" and "I Miss You."
  2. Though neither boasts Maines’ forcefulness, they invest these tales of severed connections with an emotional intensity that elevates even weaker tracks like “Fairytale” and “Then Again.”
  3. Quiet cuts like ''Skyline'' emphasize their down-home vocals. But ''The Coast'' is sunny pop, while ''Ain't No Son'' rocks harder than ''Goodbye Earl.''
  4. That the songs are solidly constructed gives Court Yard Hounds ample opportunity to play around with structure and production.
  5. The songs and the sentiments ring of honest emotion, but not consistently of inspired lyric writing, and for all the well-considered inner reflection, you wish these Hounds had channeled a bit more of Maines' bark and bite.
  6. Uncut
    A deceptively sweet concoction. [Aug 2010, p.79]
  7. Q Magazine
    Essentially, it's another Dixie Chicks record with Robison's more expressive vocals replacing Maines's twang. [July 2010, p. 129]
  8. Perhaps the results are predictable, but they are satisfying, and it’s better to have new music from this duo than none at all.
  9. Robison's focus, on introspective ruminations and the vagaries of relationships, is relentlessly earnest. And as well-played as the music can be, lyrically it’s a very bumpy ride.
  10. Natalie Maines' feistiness is missed, but Robison, who wrote most of the songs, has a way with a hook--and those harmonies make even the weepiest weepers go down smooth.
  11. While Court Yard Hounds is a well-packaged and produced collection, its songs seem rather ordinary compared to Chicks material

There are no user reviews yet.