Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: May 1, 2007
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattD.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    I don't agree with her politics, but this is the country CD to beat in 2007. Makes Gretchen Wilson look like a poseur. There are non-cliched lyrics, and she's equally comfortable on rabble-rousers as she is on the gentle "Desperation."
  2. ZachP
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Simple, fun, exciting. One of the best country albums of the decade and one of the best I've ever heard. It works on all levels. Miranda Lambert has it all: an attitude and an intriguing soft side. Desperation will go down as one of the best lovelorn country songs since Crazy by Patsy Cline. I loved this album!
  3. ChrisA
    Jun 4, 2007
    7
    Er...what makes this ordinary voice and sound worth a 10? It's good but not great in my opinion.
  4. FoenixirF
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    this album deserves all the awards it received, i can't wait for miranda's next work!
  5. StrokerAce
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Miranda is a breath of fresh air in the world of country music. She is an artist with vision & career longevity. Craxy Ex Girlfriend is with no doubt the best release of 2007.
  6. TJW
    May 13, 2007
    10
    It's nice to see there's no immature people giving this a 1 without giving it a chance just because it's country. Fucking idiots.
  7. ChirsM
    May 16, 2007
    8
    True, TJW. Great record (if not a 10)!
  8. RebeccaL
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I love her fiery attitude. She's not afraid to speak her mind and be strong. I love it when young, pretty girls come off strong and independent. It lets the world know that they're not all damsels in distress and singing nothing but "poor me" lyrics. Miranda definitely stands out!
  9. JennyY
    May 22, 2007
    10
    Her first album was amazing, just as this one is. Her songwriting skills shine, and her voice is beautiful.
  10. TravisT.
    Jun 25, 2007
    8
    I liked the album and I'm a guy. There were alot of songs made for women, but over all it was pretty good
  11. RyanK
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Miranda Lambert's catalog is going to be outstanding if she continues her winning streak. This is a phenomenal record and is a great companion piece to her first album "Kerosene." I love her work, and I generally despise modern country.
  12. NickM
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    AWSOME cd! it has a lot of emotion, a ton of energy in some places, and some great slower songs as well....good country-rock, and occassionally dabbles in the more traditional spectrum of country, however is certainly a modern country album.....as far as today's country music goes, its a very good album.
  13. MorgaineH
    May 18, 2007
    10
    Go Miranda you rock my world and your my Idol. I love crazy Ex girl friend
  14. DebbieW
    May 26, 2007
    10
    CEG..has to be one of the best country albums of this year or any year....Miranda rocks, the songs rock, such a great variety of songs...Miranda is here to stay....
  15. BertE
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Lambert continues to grow by leaps and bounds as a songwriter and interpreter.
  16. Jan 24, 2011
    8
    Miranda Lambert captures some fine stuff on her second album; the culture and talks of locals in "Famous in a Small Town", the brokenhearted sadness of love in "Desperation" and the loaded powerhouse of "Dry Town". It's all fun, and it's all thrilling to listen to, and although it's polished sound is pretty much all over the place, it actually benefits to the album's strengths. One of theMiranda Lambert captures some fine stuff on her second album; the culture and talks of locals in "Famous in a Small Town", the brokenhearted sadness of love in "Desperation" and the loaded powerhouse of "Dry Town". It's all fun, and it's all thrilling to listen to, and although it's polished sound is pretty much all over the place, it actually benefits to the album's strengths. One of the best albums of 2007. Expand
  17. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This album is absolute perfection. It is one of the most amazing country albums I have ever heard. From the amazing opening track "Gunpowder & Lead" to the title track "Crazy-Ex Girlfriend", you will be singing along to these hits well after you have stopped listening to the songs (which in my case, I have yet to stop >
  18. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    I hate country music. Always have, always will. But Miranda Lambert is one of a small pack of women (Carrie Underwood, Kacey Musgraves, Brandi Clark) who I can not only tolerate, but have grown to love, and who give me hope for the modern country music industry. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend is the shining jewel in Lambert's glittering crown. Beautifully produced, sung, and written from start toI hate country music. Always have, always will. But Miranda Lambert is one of a small pack of women (Carrie Underwood, Kacey Musgraves, Brandi Clark) who I can not only tolerate, but have grown to love, and who give me hope for the modern country music industry. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend is the shining jewel in Lambert's glittering crown. Beautifully produced, sung, and written from start to finish, the album has no need for cliches and Miranda proves to be an excellent writer, something even more impressive when you combine the fact that almost no one in country writes their own music with the fact that she's from a television singing competition. "Desperation" is one of my favourite songs of all time, and the artistry Miranda exudes on the album are unmatched. One of the best of the 2000s, regardless of genre. Expand
  19. Nov 16, 2015
    9
    Crazy Ex-Girlfriend is an underrated show, and tragically, a show with sub-par ratings. The humor is seditious, and the cast and characters are very strong. Maybe women don't want to watch it due to the title. Maybe men don't watch it because of the musical interludes (which are always funny, and this comes from someone who hates every musical not from the creators of Monty Python orCrazy Ex-Girlfriend is an underrated show, and tragically, a show with sub-par ratings. The humor is seditious, and the cast and characters are very strong. Maybe women don't want to watch it due to the title. Maybe men don't watch it because of the musical interludes (which are always funny, and this comes from someone who hates every musical not from the creators of Monty Python or South Park). Expletive deleted the other shows you are thinking about watching, and see two episodes. Most TV is expletive deleted All network TV is expletive deleted. This show is worth saving. Expand
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Crazy Ex-Girlfriend would have been impressive if it was just a showcase of her strengths as a singer or as a songwriter, but since it is both, it's simply stunning, a breakthrough for Lambert and one of the best albums of 2007, regardless of genre.
  2. A knockout punch.
  3. Billboard
    70
    Best-known for her flame-throwing hit "Kerosene," Miranda Lambert delivers more of the same on her new album. [5 May 2007]