Crazy Ex-Girlfriend - Miranda Lambert
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This sophomore effort finds the former "Nashville Star" contestant becoming a bona-fide star (albeit from Texas rather than Tennessee). It combines eight Lambert originals with three covers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Brash, insightful, wry, and, above all else, smart, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend confirms that Miranda Lambert is far more than just the latest in a long line of bad girls: She's a country music legend in the making, and the most vital artist Music Row has produced in a generation.
  2. Miranda Lambert is at a very rarified place right now, turning her songs into vehicles for a persona that transcends background narrative and personal history. This is Jagger, Bowie, Debbie Harry, and early MJ territory.
  3. Even if her fiery temper's not for everyone, she never stoops to teardrops-on-my-guitar banalities. [27 Apr 2007, p.139]
  4. Backed by ragged, loud guitar work and production that is full but not slick, Ms. Lambert sounds like a brash rabble-rouser, an emotionally insightful spark plug. [29 Apr 2007]
  5. [It] will likely remain the country album of the year. [14 Jun 2007, p.98]]
  6. While Lambert obviously sees herself as the headstrong country rock rebel that all the little girls will understand, the true joys of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend are to be found elsewhere.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This album is absolute perfection. It is one of the most amazing country albums I have ever heard. From the amazing opening track "Gunpowder & Lead" to the title track "Crazy-Ex Girlfriend", you will be singing along to these hits well after you have stopped listening to the songs (which in my case, I have yet to stop > Collapse
  2. RyanK
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Miranda Lambert's catalog is going to be outstanding if she continues her winning streak. This is a phenomenal record and is a great companion piece to her first album "Kerosene." I love her work, and I generally despise modern country. Expand
  3. TJW
    May 13, 2007
    10
    It's nice to see there's no immature people giving this a 1 without giving it a chance just because it's country. Fucking idiots.
  4. FoenixirF
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    this album deserves all the awards it received, i can't wait for miranda's next work!
  5. BertE
    May 31, 2007
    9
    Lambert continues to grow by leaps and bounds as a songwriter and interpreter.
  6. TravisT.
    Jun 25, 2007
    8
    I liked the album and I'm a guy. There were alot of songs made for women, but over all it was pretty good
  7. JohnnyS
    May 17, 2007
    1
    Oh ffs, it's country!!!

See all 20 User Reviews