• Record Label: DFA
  • Release Date: Jun 22, 2004
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LaurenceH
    Jul 13, 2004
    2
    Psychedelic electronica era DOESN'T belong to Black Dice anymore. Garbage.
  2. GarrettS
    Sep 21, 2005
    0
    THIS IS NOT GOOD MUSIC. Pretending to like it does not make you intelligent or cutting-edge! Nobody cares except you and your pseudo-intellectual scenester friends. With that being said, I heard their new album actually has songs. I'm not exactly excited to hear it after listening to this mess.
  3. Sicnarf
    Aug 17, 2006
    9
    Such a good album for texture fiends. Bad album for retarded people (or maybe its the other way around...).
  4. KurtF
    Jul 31, 2004
    4
    I've seen them live, and I won't lie it was very confusing. I spent the first 20 minutes of their song talking and chatting away with friends while I presumed they were "warming up" when indeed the static cracks, synthetic strings, and seemingly unbalanced band members was their first song. I'm from Maine, as are two if not all of them, but I just can't get into this I've seen them live, and I won't lie it was very confusing. I spent the first 20 minutes of their song talking and chatting away with friends while I presumed they were "warming up" when indeed the static cracks, synthetic strings, and seemingly unbalanced band members was their first song. I'm from Maine, as are two if not all of them, but I just can't get into this stuff. I'm sure it has it's place, it's just not with me. Expand
  5. SchmittyL
    Jan 22, 2005
    8
    Sillies!
  6. JohnsonG
    Jul 14, 2004
    10
    It is a truly mesmerizing and cleansding experience to become enveloped in this cd.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. This can be thrilling, unnerving and just occasionally tiresome. [#245, p.53]
  2. 83
    This is the work of noise nerds bent on finding beauty where others see nothing but a tangled mess. [Jul 2004, p.110]
  3. I don't know if this is one of the bravest or boldest albums of the year, but its definitely one of the neatest.