Cross - Justice
Cross Image

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The French dance duo known for remixing songs from the likes of Franz Ferdinand emerge with their debut album.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. At its core, Cross is loud, restless, and daring. A creative tour de force, Justice have unleashed an era-defining album for the children of acid house.
  2. Rough-edged and overdriven in the right places, super-slick as their Reagan-era new-wave touchstones elsewhere, this pomo-funk concoction from Xavier de Rosnay and Gaspard Augé is like a French kiss from Sonny Crockett.
  3. Cross is a big party record with a few exciting beats, as well as one of the few examples of desirable audio clipping.
  4. Layers of production can obscure the organic--or at least faux-organic--sounds of a ripping performance. That's not the case on the debut full-length album from French house duo Justice, whose complex, dark, and heavily pop-rock-influenced dance tracks span banging disco grooves to instrumental electro-funk space operas to minimalist hip-hop.
  5. The grooves are gnarly and congested, the synth riffs are distorted howls and the samples are torn from Devo and horror-soundtracking prog-rockers Goblin.
  6. Ultimately, Justice is another example of rearranging and reshuffling the devices of the past, but with complete understanding of their effectiveness to a point that sounds fresh.
  7. It's all very outsized and uppity, falling right in line with the current dictum in dance music that every song must be able to be mashed up with both Kanye West and this week's indie-rock star.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48
  1. AdamW
    Sep 17, 2007
    Greatest debut since Daft Punk's 'Homework'. Killer from top to bottom.
  2. AndrewP
    Oct 16, 2008
    One of the greatest Electronic albums in the last decade, Justice knows how make a dance album, and they do it well. Blaring hits such as "Waters of Nazareth" and "DVNO" are but a few among the truly epic songs on the album. My advice, "Go Buy This Album!" Expand
  3. GuillaumeF
    Apr 8, 2009
    I was nearly crying when listening to the rubbishy Daft Punk's Human After All. Two years later, Justice's Cross made me smile again. There are no highlight here that can come up with Around the World or Digital love (although DVNO and Let there be Light aren't that far), but it's overall better : there's not a single weak track ! It's maybe not quite innovative, of course, but what it does, it does it very, very well. That deserves a 10 in my opinion. Expand
  4. emanuela
    Jul 23, 2007
    Organic techno with pop-rock flavour! Surprisingly refreshing, ranks best electronic music album of the year, matching LCD SoundSystem's "Sound of Silver" Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    Very original tracks, one of the bests actual electronic albums, mix of dance, pop, rock and other alternative features makes this album unique and different, and that's very good. Expand
  6. Ace
    Sep 24, 2007
    The renaissance of dance is here! What better an album then Cross to put you in the mood to dance. And who better then this duo to put the romance back into of electronic. It's like finding a new boyfriend and he likes to d.a.n.c.e. to the b.e.a.t Expand
  7. ligvana.
    Aug 10, 2007
    Daft Punk wannabes. Absolute rubbish. I'd rather strum my pubes

See all 48 User Reviews