Crossing The Rubicon Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the Swedish five-piece rock group.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. 80
    This is a well-rounded album that is as artistically rich as it is sonically pleasing. The Sounds are going to be around for awhile.
  2. Crossing the Rubicon is the sound of a band reaching their potential as artists and it's very satisfying to see and, more importantly, to hear.
  3. 60
    Front-loaded with buzzy riffs and cutting vocals, the third studio album from this Swedish band is bracingly ambitious, clearly designed to be heard in arenas and stadiums.
  4. Ultimately, The Sounds probably won't change your world, but they sure can be fun to dance to.
  5. A few choruses stick, and 'No One Sleeps When I'm Awake' sounds like a solid Heart cover. But the rest? What's Swedish for "meh"?
  6. The Sounds, sadly, are fatally pledged to sincerity in its most ponderous and uninspired form.
  7. This is a decently crafted, moderately hooky, fairly vacuous power-pop album, and under the right light, you could do a whole lot worse.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Aug 26, 2012
    UPDATED REVIEW!!! After originally listening to it, I didn't like it that much, but I re-listened to it and I really, really enjoyed it. In my opinion, this is The Sounds' best album and only has 1 dull songs, all the others are brilliant. Expand
  2. May 12, 2012
    Crossing The Rubicon is a impressive little rock album that contains some great songs, but the only problem I have with this album is that some of the songs seem a bit corny and cheesy. But besides that, it is a great album for fans of New Wave music and The Sounds. Expand