Crunk Rock

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Crunk Rock Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It has been five years in the making, but Lil Jon finally releases his solo debut album featuring such guests as Ice Cube, the Ying Yang Twins, and Soulja Boy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. It's a scattershot set of tracks that just barely fit together, but take into consideration the label problems and legal issues the producer has faced since the album's conception, and it becomes a scruffy mess you just might cheer on.
  2. The seventh Lil Jon album, which has been delayed for several years because of contract squabbles and other distractions, feels warmly nostalgic.
  3. The set is worth a listen for its high-energy club bangers and colorful guest appearances, but it holds extra baggage. Gratuitous interludes and an overall lack of Lil Jon's rhymes hurt the would-be dance disc.
  4. It takes Jon's defining affectations and compresses them, creating a completely frenzied environment, all hoarse shouting and pimp chalices spilling over. It's through this constant level of noise that Crunk Rock drowns out all complaints, its overbearing silliness putting it almost beyond criticism.
  5. If you're looking for lyrical greatness, you'll be disappointed. If you want an album filled with nothing but trunk-rattling beats you'll be disappointed. However, those with tastes that shift from crunk to pop to rock and back to crunk should be rather satisfied with this release.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of