Crystal Castles [2010] - Crystal Castles
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 72
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 72
  3. Negative: 3 out of 72

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Crystal Castles sophomore effort is far from a slump. They take what made their first album so great, and add a polished, refined sound, but still manage to have that lo-fi, edgy sonic noise that only they can make. Do I prefer this album over their first? No. Is it a good album? Absolutely. All In All, Crystal Castles have yet to make a bad album. B+
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    9
    Using their first album (I) as a gateway drug, Ethan Kath and Alice Glass shape up the digital chaos that they create to give a more defined and matured sound. If you ask anyone who listens to CC to define what their music is, typical words and adjectives are rare to be found. A new kind of beast is created by CC that will leave you curiously desperate for more.
  3. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    "Crystal Castles II" recorre una amplia gama de ritmos que van desde los ritmos sosegados y espaciales como "Violent Dreams" o "I Am Made of Chalk", tonalidades rítmicas y bailables ( "Celestica" , "Suffocation" o "Intimate") y llega hasta los extremos donde la distorción (Lo-fi) se remarcan y le añaden dramatismo al album ("Fainting Spells" o "Doe Deer"). Crystal Castles logra un álbum innovador de música electrónica con una temática muy oscura que puede volverse adicción en cualquier momento. Collapse
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    8
    The second, also self-titled album by Crystal Castles was recorded in such places as a closed church in Iceland or a cabin in Ontario so it is natural that coldness penetrated these tracks for good. Vietnam is the best example of the new sound of the duo: a spine-chilling tale of terror with some icy synths, frigid electronic backing and unintelligible vocals. The Game Boy noises so audibly present on the previous effort are hard to find. Crystal Castles (2010) is much darker than its predecessor and it is a quite depressive affair. On every level, Alice and Ethan step forwards. Year of Silence is what you would expect from Sigur Rósâ Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    They have their tricks and use them well. CC decided to make a prettier album than their debut and it shows. Standout track: I'm Made of Chalk, PapaSmear, Celestica.
  6. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    My favourite band of 2010. It's a brilliant come back, and it's full of new material. They have become a lot more accessible, but they're finally getting some kind of mainstream success which has been long awaited. I went to see them in Manchester in October 2010, and I was blown away (mainly by the bass speakers). I'll definitely be waiting around for their third album, which hopefully won't be called 'Crystal Castles' again. They go from dance/pop hits like 'Celestica' to aggressive songs like 'Doe Deer', all in a short space of album time. It's a fantastic album. There are no "howevers" in this album, because its brilliance gets in the way too much. I would give this 11 out of 10 if I was allowed. Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I love this album; i listen to this album all the time. I think this is the album of the year. This is number one on my list for best 2010 albums. I love the sound to this album, Crystal Castles is an outstanding band. One of the best Experimental band.
  8. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    This album is like the upgraded version of their last work and t even keeps the same name, which I think is cool, I love almost every song and never have to skip any song when I listen to it. Love Alice so much hope they keep releasing music and already can't wait for their next work.
  9. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    Crystal Castles's 2008 debut album established their sound as something most listeners either love or despise with few falling in between. This album follows up on a similar note while being more developed and richer then it's predecessor. This time around the songs feel fuller with regular use of distorted noise to back up their trademark 8 bit synth and generally stronger melodies. Tracks like Vietnam and Year of Silence continue their dance vibe while tracks like Doe Dear show they can still do quality layered noise pop. Basically if you loved their first album it's likely you'll love this one just as much if not more. On the other side though chances are if you hated their debut album this one won't win you over either. Expand
  10. Aug 27, 2010
    7
    I must say that I'm a little bit disappointed with the new album. They are breaking new ground sonically, but the overall result isn't nearly as good as their fantastic debut. The petite bourgeois in me is annoyed and confused by all the scratching and screaming and is missing the happy 8-bit melodies of Jet Set Willy.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. It’s a middling album that managed to get the best of collective consciousness.
  2. The follow-up repeats the trick, scattering dreamy pop between industrial soundscapes. [July 2010, p. 129]
  3. The second Crystal Castles may not be as immediately and consistently satisfying as their debut, but it shows that the band has more to offer than just an immediately distinctive--and confining--sound.